Nauru Travel Restrictions

70,01% of citizens have been vaccinated No change since last week
Most visitors from South Africa will not be allowed to enter Nauru.

Nauru entry details and exceptions

Only travelers who have spent at least the previous 14 days in the following countries will be considered eligible to enter Nauru:

Australia (not including Victoria), Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Taiwan, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Travelers wishing to enter Nauru from a country not listed above must apply for an exemption from the Nauru Government. Travelers who have transited through, or have been in mainland China, Hong Kong, Macao, Iran, Italy, Korea, Europe, US or Asia (except Taiwan) in the past 21 days, will not be allowed to enter Nauru.

Outgoing travel to NauruTravelling from South Africa to Nauru

COVID-19 testing requirements
Test type

Visitors from South Africa must present a negative RT-PCR (NAAT) test taken 72 hours before departing to Nauru.

Quarantine requirements

Visitors from South Africa will need to quarantine for 14 days upon entering Nauru.

Details and exceptions
Travelers are subject to a 14-day quarantine in a “Government Transition Accommodation” upon arrival

Return travelReturning to South Africa from Nauru

COVID-19 testing requirements
Test type

Travellers returning from Nauru must present a negative RT-PCR (NAAT) test taken 72 hours before departure to South Africa.

Details and exceptions
traveler with no proof of a negative COVID-19 test result will be required to do an antigen test on arrival at his or her own cost and if positive for COVID-19, he or she will be required to isolate at their own cost, for a period of 10 days.
Children under the age of 5 are exempt from presenting a COVID-19 test.
Quarantine requirements

Visitors returning from Nauru are not required to quarantine upon entering South Africa.

Details and exceptions
Travelers who display any COVID-19–related symptoms must be tested on arrival. In the event that the result of the COVID-19 test is positive, they will be required to quarantine for 10 days. The cost of testing and quarantine will be on the travelers' expense.
Health Declaration Form

Must be completed in 48 hours prior to arrival in South Africa.

Other COVID-19 restrictions for Nauru

Masks:Required in public spaces.


Know when to go

Sign up for email alerts as countries begin to open - choose the destinations you're interested in so you're in the know.