Book Avis hire cars in San Diego

San Diego, CA, United States
Sep 28 — Oct 5
San Diego, CA, United States
Tue 28/9
Noon
Tue 5/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Diego

Overall rating6.7 GoodBased on 201 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
7.1
Overall
6.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.3
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
21
9
11
17
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Pros:Great staff both in San Diego and San Jose, very helpful.Reviewed Feb 21 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Staff was friendly and as helpful as possible.Cons:However the first place we had our rental for was a nightmare. We called the national line and they said they had our car ready, but the local place didn't have it so I had to scramble for a few hours. They told me I needed to go to a different Avis but that Avis never picked up the phone as I called for 2 hours straight. eventually I had to use a backup reservation I made for 2 days, but I only needed the car for 1 day, so I ended up paying $150 more than I needed to. One of the local staff people said that Priceline does not have accurate counts of cars that are available so my suggestion is that Avis and Priceline stop working together because it causes problems for the consumer, where they fix the issue.Reviewed Jan 9 2021
review fromkayak
2.8
Cons:I wasn’t able to rent the car. Customer service agent was horribly rude.Reviewed Feb 28 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:always very helpful.Reviewed Aug 4 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:The clerk was awesome. My issue is that my original rate was not honored! I reserved a vehicle for San Diego Airport online at an affordable rate. When we arrived (after a long day of travel) we were told the address for the reservation wasn’t for SAN, but a location nearly an hour away!!Cons:Our quoted rate should be honored and the website should be MUCH clearer on locations. In fact I would appreciate a refund of the difference in the higher price I ended up paying!Reviewed Jul 19 2020
review fromkayak
2.8
Cons:Pickup Location was not correct for what I requestedReviewed Jul 27 2020
review fromkayak
3.2
Wrong vehicleCons:I booked a van for 7 people and 2 bags. But when I went there to collect the vehicle their representative incorrectly told me that I booked a 12 people van and not the 7 people van. I showed then the confirmation email from Kayak that clearly said that the 7-people van has been booked. They said that the picture of the vehicle is that of the 12 people. Avis might have overbooked their 7-people vans and they should find another way of cheating its customers at the 11th hour, especially when they have the confirmation email that says the 7-people van has been booked.Reviewed Jan 27 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Location was convenient!Cons:Never Never Never Never again will I rent from this place! I was assigned a car that was dirty/had stains and smelled of human stench (after the car was left in the hot sun). the company hid stench with/ 4 pine scented hanging on the mirror to distract the stench). It was so disgusting when i got home i had to disinfected all the items i had in the car. Prior to returning the car I had plastic bag on the driver seat. This location scared me for life by renting me a FILTHTY Car............Reviewed Feb 27 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Bait and switchCons:I had requested a car rental near the San DIego airport and when I got to Avis, was told that the pickup for the car was about 20 minutes away and it was suggested that I Uber there. I didn't have time for that, so they referred me to a private car rental service that provides transportation primarily for missionaries heading for Mexico. The private agency owners were very accommodating, but I paid twice the price quoted, got a car that didn't have a functioning speedometer, a brake light that wouldn't turn off, and another dial on the dash that was out of control. Overall, it was a big disappointment and delayed arrival at my destination by about an hour or so.Reviewed Aug 13 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The staff at the airport was friendly and helpful and drop off was very easy. When they found out that my reservation was at a different location they were very helpful in fixing the situation!Reviewed Oct 10 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:Offer wasn’t clear location did not include transportation from to airport, so had to eat that cost separately obliterating any savings discount. Also access to parking garage failed and office did not open at posted start time so had no help to drop off after sneaking into garage on piggyback of a condo resident, then had to park in avis shuttle slot since avis section of garage was locked closed by a chained gate.Reviewed Nov 9 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Despite specifically asking for rentals at San Diego airport, kayak populates the list with every franchise in San Diego County. I selected the first one on the list and when I landed at the airport, I was told by the Avis there that my car was reserved at a different Avid 45 minutes away. However, the airport Avis kindly offered to rent me a car at triple my kayak price. Lame programming by Kayak to not at least warn people that the entries in the list are nowhere near the airport lame service by Avis to not honor the reservation I had at one of their sister locations.Reviewed Oct 15 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San Diego?

1110 Torrey Pines Road Suite H, Avis car hires

Address

1110 Torrey Pines Road Suite H

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 454 4621

Address

3355 Admiral Boland Way

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 688 5000

Address

4550 La Jolla Village Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday10:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 450 6553

Address

500 Hotel Circle North

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 574 5377

Address

1670 Kettner Boulevard Suite 1

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 231 7137

Address

3890 Valley Centre Dr Ste 103

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 755 0400

Address

7815 Balboa Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 974 8630

Address

640 Broadway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 619 544 0438

Address

2745 Otay Pacific Dr

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 588 1309

Address

2790 Kurtz St Ste 1

Hours

Monday07:00 - 16:00
Tuesday07:00 - 16:00
Wednesday07:00 - 16:00
Thursday07:00 - 16:00
Friday07:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 220 4920

Address

8720 Miramar Road

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 858 271 0018

Good to know

Most popular location

2745 Otay Pacific Dr

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San Diego

  • Economy car hires from Avis in San Diego are around 23% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San Diego

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in San Diego.

  • Avis has 11 car hire locations in San Diego. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes