Book Avis hire cars in Tampa

Driver's age: 26-65
Mon 4/3
Mon 11/3
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 34%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Tampa

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Tampa

Overall rating5.8 FairBased on 103 reviews
Cleanliness
6.6
Comfort
6.9
Overall
5.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.8
Value for money
5.9

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
14
6
0
6
0
0
31
2.0
many hidden fees plus an insane charge for gas which unfortunately I had to pay because I was late to the airport due to traffic and couldn't refuel. I won't be using Avis ever againReviewed Nov 26 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Horrible check in .long wait / system not working properly will not use againReviewed Oct 17 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
First reservation never happened, could have been a Kayak issue, but showed up and had no car. Had to book another car. After turning in the car, I have not been invoiced and I am having to chase Avis to "Close out the rental"Reviewed Oct 16 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Friendly staff, very clean carCons:Hidden expenses when you book are ridiculous. Was originally to pay 500 when I booked online. Card was charged over 1000 when I picked up.Reviewed Jun 1 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NoCons:Tried to add one day to the itinerary, they wanted to charge me an extra $300. For just one 3xtra dayReviewed May 12 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Pick-up was a nightmare. Location: 4664 West Gandy Blvd. Suite 2, Tampa, FL 33611 This is a privately owned location and the proprietor IS running a racket. I was dropped off by a relative to pick up my vehicle. I observed the attendant telling the customers ahead of me that he was out of stock on the car they had booked and so they would have to upgrade to a different model vehicle. When it came to be my time, he tried the same thing, claiming he was out of the economy car that I had reserved online through the booking system. I told him I could not afford to upgrade, nor is it the customer's fault that he was out of the proper vehicles as he "claimed." I also saw a car outside that was the make and model which I was supposed to get, so he was obviously withholding. I called AVIS. They said I could try elsewhere and they'd reimburse me if the charge was less. I booked through Enterprise just in case. Little did I know Enterprise was a quarter of the mile down the road. The attendant at AVIS should have had the courtesy to tell me. Stranded, I waited. The attendant took his time with other customers. I WAITED 2.5 HOURS for him to give me the vehicle that was sitting in the front parking lot! I HAD TO ASK HIM WHO IT WAS FOR -- he said someone had prepaid and was supposed to pick it up before he closed at 2:00 p.m. It was a Saturday so he closed early. First of all, the customer who is present is always served, not some person who "might" show up. Also, I saw him scam a young couple who came in to pick up their reservation. He told them he was out of the car they had booked and they needed to upgrade! I nice additional 200 dollars or more. He should have comped the upgrade. The customer is NEVER penalized because the company runs out of cars (which was a lie). This service is terrible. Again, I witnessed the owner pull this scam on four different customers. He didn't want to give me the car because he knew I'd gotten a good deal and I was holding my ground. At one point he became condescending when I told him that I'd been waiting 2.5 hours and to wait on me instead of taking another customer. He ignored me! I then asked, "Why are you ignoring me?!" He then said, "You're the one who wouldn't upgrade!" I told him I shouldn't have to; that it wasn't ethical. I insisted I get the car that was waiting outside. He was not happy. He gave it to me completely dirty. It hadn't been vacuumed or sanitized. I took pictures. Send in a secret shopper to see what he is pulling. FYI: He loves to talk and comes across as friendly--it's an act! He needs to be reported because it is not fair to customers or AVIS/BUDGET.Cons:An honest owner.Reviewed May 6 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:yes and yesReviewed May 3 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly serviceCons:Car had slight maintenance issuesReviewed Apr 21 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing, no customer service AT ALL!!!!!!!! It was wrong location pick up instead at the Tampa airport, the airport AVIS rep offer me the same car for the DOUBLE PRICE!!!! When I went to the pick up location, spend $40.00 on Uber, who is going to compensate my inconvenience?, the location was closed. When I called the next day, the service rep told me that car was not available and hang up the phone. Will NEVER use your service in the future and posted the same response on all the social media. Your service is horrible and the worth it could be.Cons:Provide the customer service and about customers.Reviewed Apr 18 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Yes, but charged 150 extra for additional 2.5 hours. I was stuck in traffic..Cons:Never rent from Budget.Reviewed Apr 18 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very friendly staff at drop off and pick upCons:The car had dents in it that no one discussed and I was afraid I would be blamed.Reviewed Apr 18 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Staff was good the wait was very longCons:Price way too high!Reviewed Apr 17 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Tampa?

Address

5409 Airport Service Rd

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 813 396 3500

Address

10902 N Florida Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 813 910 4127

Address

4644 W Gandy Blvd

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 813 831 7219

Address

6903 North Dale Mabry Highway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 813 933 5606

Address

8021 Citrus Park Town Ctr Mall

Hours

Monday10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday10:00 - 17:00
Thursday10:00 - 17:00
Friday10:00 - 17:00
Saturday10:00 - 17:00
Sunday12:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 813 920 7921

Address

10220 Palm River Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday10:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 813 651 1415

Address

513 South Florida Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 813 221 5895

Good to know

Most popular location

5409 Airport Service Rd

Most popular car type

Mini

Average price

R1 106/day

Good deal

R1 073/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Tampa

  • One of the reasons that so many people choose to book Avis car rentals in Tampa is because this company offers a wide selection of vehicles to choose from. Quite often, those that are looking to save money on their rental car will choose one of the economy models that Avis offers. Families making a trip to Tampa for a fantastic family vacation will often choose from one of the SUVs that Avis offers.
  • A really great advantage of choosing to book Avis car rentals in Tampa is that Avis has quite a few locations in Tampa. What that means is that if you choose to rent your car at a location like the Tampa International Airport (TPA), you could always return it to a different location in Tampa. Avis is a company that has been in the business of renting cars to customers for years, and their friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready on your schedule to meet all of your rental car needs.
  • One of the things that people soon realize after they book Avis car rentals in Tampa is that driving around the south Florida city is actually fairly easy. An example of this is the fact that Interstate 275 merges with Interstate 75 and does a complete circle around the outskirts of the Tampa area, including driving through the sister city of Saint Petersburg on the western side of Tampa Bay. What this means for travelers is it getting to practically any point in this area it's a quick and easy affair because of easy freeway access.
  • Like so many major cities in the United States, drivers who book Avis car rentals in Tampa will often find difficult driving conditions, especially during the morning and during the evening when locals here are making their way to and from work. It is also quite possible you will find difficult driving conditions during weekend and holiday periods when people are making their way to some of the many theme and amusement parks you'll find in this wonderful Florida city.
  • 25% of our users found car hire from Avis in Tampa for R1 073 or less.
  • Mini car hire from Avis in Tampa are around -31% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Tampa

  • Where is the best place to pick up my vehicle after I book Avis car rentals in Tampa?

    It should come as no surprise that one of the most convenient options for picking up your vehicle will be at the Tampa international airport. The reason for this is that Avis has a location at the remote car rental center at the airport that passengers at the airport can access by the SkyConnect train. For travelers already in the Tampa area that don't want to head back to the airport to pick up a car, there is an Avis location right in the center of Tampa on S. Florida Ave. that makes a great pick-up choice.

  • What are some of the perks of choosing to book Avis car rentals in Tampa?

    One of the real benefits of choosing to book Avis car rentals in Tampa is that this company has a huge fleet of cars spread across locations throughout not only Florida but the globe. When you combine that with their Avis Preferred program, this means that travelers that use this company have the ability to get precisely the car they want, plus they can earn points on their rentals for valuable discounts on future dates.

  • Where is a good place to park my rental in Tampa?

    A really nice thing about driving in this southern Florida town is that there are so many great free places to park on streets in the areas surrounding central Tampa. As you get into the heart of Tampa, you will find metered parking in most areas. The cost for metered parking is generally around $1.50 to $2.50 per hour, depending on your location. Most metered parking in the downtown area operates seven days per week from early in the morning until around midnight. Because most meters have a time limit on how long you can park, for longer trips in the downtown area, select one of the many parking lots you will find in this area that offer the ability to park for up to a full day in the downtown area.

  • How much does it cost to hire a car from Avis in Tampa?

    On average a car hire from Avis in Tampa costs R1 106 per day.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Tampa?

    Mini (Chrysler Pacifica or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Tampa.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Tampa?

    Avis has 7 hire locations in Tampa. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Tampa airport (TPA)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Tampa airport (TPA)?

    Yes