Book Avis hire cars in Tampa

Tampa, FL, United States
Dec 15 — Dec 22
Same drop-off
Tampa, FL, United States
Wed 15/12
Noon
Wed 22/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Tampa

Overall rating7.3 GoodBased on 107 reviews
Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
7.7
Overall
7.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.2
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
19
8
10
12
0
Find reviews that mention:
5.2
Over chargedPros:Quick service, which other car rentals also provide. So the answer is nothing. Nothing stood outCons:It was my mistake for not noticing the final Bill. As We have all been there arriving to an Airport it can be a little stressful. I picked up my rental at 1PM and booked a return for 3:30PM in which the Reservation automatically scheduled me for a 1030AM drop off, I explained this to the agent when I was picking up the vehicle, his reply was not to worry any and all fees can be waived, he was more interested in convincing me for an upgrade. Results, I returned the vehicle at 5PM and was charged a late fee and a extra day. Never again should of stayed with EnterpriseReviewed Apr 20 2018
review fromkayak
4.8
WORST PICKUP EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFECons:Upon landing at Tampa int airport at 515am, I went directly across to the rental building. With 4 people in front of me, I knew I'd be waiting a few minutes. 2 AND A HALF HOURS LATER I was finally helped by the sole employee working. Not only was this woman working with no help, she was the slowest moving human I've ever seen. My check in experience was almost 30 minutes long. Most of this time was watching her try to find the keys to my car in a box of probably 50 car keys. When she couldn't find it, she gave me a car I specifically told her I didn't want. Then continued on with the process. At 755am I finally got up to the car only to discover my internal fear was correct, our child's stroller didn't fit in the trunk, which was why I didn't want a corolla. There was no apology for any inconvenience of my time AT ALL. This woman needs to find anot her job immediately where it is appropriate to work so slowly. I WILL NEVER rent with avis/budget again.Reviewed Sep 26 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing, no customer service AT ALL!!!!!!!! It was wrong location pick up instead at the Tampa airport, the airport AVIS rep offer me the same car for the DOUBLE PRICE!!!! When I went to the pick up location, spend $40.00 on Uber, who is going to compensate my inconvenience?, the location was closed. When I called the next day, the service rep told me that car was not available and hang up the phone. Will NEVER use your service in the future and posted the same response on all the social media. Your service is horrible and the worth it could be.Cons:Provide the customer service and about customers.Reviewed Apr 18 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Pick-up was a nightmare. Location: 4664 West Gandy Blvd. Suite 2, Tampa, FL 33611 This is a privately owned location and the proprietor IS running a racket. I was dropped off by a relative to pick up my vehicle. I observed the attendant telling the customers ahead of me that he was out of stock on the car they had booked and so they would have to upgrade to a different model vehicle. When it came to be my time, he tried the same thing, claiming he was out of the economy car that I had reserved online through the booking system. I told him I could not afford to upgrade, nor is it the customer's fault that he was out of the proper vehicles as he "claimed." I also saw a car outside that was the make and model which I was supposed to get, so he was obviously withholding. I called AVIS. They said I could try elsewhere and they'd reimburse me if the charge was less. I booked through Enterprise just in case. Little did I know Enterprise was a quarter of the mile down the road. The attendant at AVIS should have had the courtesy to tell me. Stranded, I waited. The attendant took his time with other customers. I WAITED 2.5 HOURS for him to give me the vehicle that was sitting in the front parking lot! I HAD TO ASK HIM WHO IT WAS FOR -- he said someone had prepaid and was supposed to pick it up before he closed at 2:00 p.m. It was a Saturday so he closed early. First of all, the customer who is present is always served, not some person who "might" show up. Also, I saw him scam a young couple who came in to pick up their reservation. He told them he was out of the car they had booked and they needed to upgrade! I nice additional 200 dollars or more. He should have comped the upgrade. The customer is NEVER penalized because the company runs out of cars (which was a lie). This service is terrible. Again, I witnessed the owner pull this scam on four different customers. He didn't want to give me the car because he knew I'd gotten a good deal and I was holding my ground. At one point he became condescending when I told him that I'd been waiting 2.5 hours and to wait on me instead of taking another customer. He ignored me! I then asked, "Why are you ignoring me?!" He then said, "You're the one who wouldn't upgrade!" I told him I shouldn't have to; that it wasn't ethical. I insisted I get the car that was waiting outside. He was not happy. He gave it to me completely dirty. It hadn't been vacuumed or sanitized. I took pictures. Send in a secret shopper to see what he is pulling. FYI: He loves to talk and comes across as friendly--it's an act! He needs to be reported because it is not fair to customers or AVIS/BUDGET.Cons:An honest owner.Reviewed May 6 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NoCons:Tried to add one day to the itinerary, they wanted to charge me an extra $300. For just one 3xtra dayReviewed May 12 2021
review fromkayak
6.8
Kayak is misleadingPros:All my previous car rentals off the airport had a shuttle to the lot. This did not. Beware of Kayak listings.Reviewed Jun 24 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
Location SwitcherooCons:I wanted to rent a car at the Tampa Airport. Kayak switched the location to an off-site location, which I didn't realize until I went to pick up the car. Since I didn't want to have to take a cab to the off-site location, I ended up getting a car from the Avis Tampa Airport location at substantially more money. I am extremely disappointed in Kayak.Reviewed May 11 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The service and the car was great!Reviewed Feb 1 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Good price, great car,Reviewed Jan 7 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Car was were it should be.Pros:No lines, no hassle.Reviewed Nov 24 2018
review fromkayak
7.6
Cons:seats looked stained. Expensive for the length of time even though it was near holidaysReviewed Jan 9 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Drop off in St. Augustine was great. Easy & friendly!Cons:Pick up... BAD experience! I called to tell them I was running late, and the manager told me he could only give me an hour. I told him I needed more time, but he said he could only hold it for ONE hour. I don't understand WHY - if I have a reservation, and I call to confirm it and explain my delay it can't be held longer?! He was very rude, and it appeared that he didn't want to hold the car because it was the only one holding him in the office (at 2:00 PM).Reviewed Mar 22 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Tampa?

5409 Airport Service Rd, Avis car hires

Address

5409 Airport Service Rd

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 813 396 3500

Address

10902 N Florida Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 813 910 4127

Address

4644 W Gandy Blvd

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 813 831 7219

Address

6903 North Dale Mabry Highway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 813 933 5606

Address

8021 Citrus Park Town Ctr Mall

Hours

Monday10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday10:00 - 17:00
Thursday10:00 - 17:00
Friday10:00 - 17:00
Saturday10:00 - 17:00
Sunday12:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 813 920 7921

Address

10220 Palm River Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday10:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 813 651 1415

Address

513 South Florida Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 813 221 5895

Good to know

Most popular location

5409 Airport Service Rd

Most popular car type

Compact

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Tampa