Book Avis hire cars in Rochester

Rochester, NY, United States
Sep 27 — Oct 4
Rochester, NY, United States
Mon 27/9
Noon
Mon 4/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Rochester

Overall rating6.6 GoodBased on 19 reviews
Cleanliness
7.2
Comfort
6.6
Overall
6.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.5
Value for money
6.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
2
2
1
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.4
Avis Bait and SwitchCons:Avis did not have the car class that was confirmed in the reservation available -- in fact, they had no cars, only SUVs and a van. We had confirmed the reservation for a premium and without an upcharge only an SUV was available which was unsuitable for the event we were attending. We had no other choice but to upgrade to a van for an extra $100 or leave without a large enough vehicle. We should have walked away instead of agreeing to the extra expense. Avis will not consider any sort of refund for the extra charge which is very disappointing. Obvious bait and switch tactic and very unprofessional. In the future there are many other rental agencies to consider other than Avis.Reviewed May 4 2018
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:The car got a flat tire half way through the journey and it was supposed to have a spare tire under the car but it was missing.Reviewed Aug 16 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The staff exceeded my expectations...we were late to the mall location and he calmed me down reopened the mall gate for me to enter...and had nothing but kind words to share with me as he obtained a rental car for me...Bravo!Cons:Nothing...thank you sir...your customer service is second to none...Reviewed Dec 27 2020
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:The car was a very nice car, clean and new, drove well. Dropoff at the Pittsburgh airport was very easy.Cons:The pickup location at Jefferson in Rochester was hard to find, and I couldn't figure out how to get through the phone system to talk to the person at the office to get more detailed directions. Representative could have been more informative about terms and where the car actually was.Reviewed Jul 29 2019
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:Did not have the mini van I ordered. Offered me a 12 passenger! Someone dropped off a Ford Explorer at Budget just after I started to switch to Hertz. Got that for the same price as original reservation. Guy at the desk was really good with angry me!. Windshield wipers we're poor. Rochester airport pickup. Website needs to make it clear you have to go into the airport bagge area to pick up the car.. I was looking for o log desk on Brooks ave to pick up the car.Reviewed Mar 18 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Cons:Drop had issues and couldn’t use their handheld devices. I had to go in and get checked back in myself.Reviewed Feb 3 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Great DealPros:The price was excellent. The car was practically brand new. It’s a nice model with a lot of technological features that made the trip nice.Cons:I don’t have anything to complain about.Reviewed Oct 24 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:my keys were taken immediately upon arrival, which made me nervous since i had some cleaning up/packing to do inside the car and was anxious about locking myself out. Leaving the doors opened was not a good option since they were in the way of other customers.Reviewed Aug 31 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:accommodating and good valueCons:Gas mileage and appearance of car were excellent. Very tight and cumbersome getting in and out of the car.Reviewed Jul 22 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Excellent customer servicePros:All the staff that were very attentive at the beginning of the rental and also at the moment of returning the car.Reviewed Dec 27 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Car had no windshield wiper fluid and was dangerous to drive in the snowReviewed Dec 31 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
unorganizedPros:Car was clean, at least.Cons:Ridiculously long line with one employee apparently working the counter for three different car rental companies. Stood in line for 20 minutes before getting served (in part because all of the super-special priority people get to cut in line), and by then it was after midnight. Employee tells us: the computer says you were renting the car yesterday, not today. Us: "when we got in line, it was yesterday." Had he never worked the late shift? Pro tip: people on planes arriving at 11:30 pm are sometimes still standing in your line at midnight. It took 10 minutes for the employee to wrap his head around the fact that we'd hoped to be on our way before midnight and get the rental finished. Drop-off was also a mess, with all the parking spaces full and no one to direct people where to go. And the car was just uncomfortable. I'm on the short side, and there was no way to adjust the seat comfortably so that I had back support without the headrest shoving my head uncomfortable forward--even with a jacket rolled up behind me to compensate.Reviewed Aug 29 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Rochester?

1200 Brooks Avenue, Avis car hires

Address

1200 Brooks Avenue

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday07:00 - 23:00
Thursday07:00 - 23:00
Friday07:00 - 23:00
Saturday07:00 - 23:00
Sunday07:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 585 328 6600

Address

1225 Jefferson Rd F

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 585 427 8170

Address

360k Greece Ridge Center Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday10:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 585 720 5370

Good to know

Most popular location

1200 Brooks Avenue

Most popular car type

Supplier choice

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Rochester

  • Supplier choice car hires from Avis in Rochester are around 49% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Rochester

  • Supplier choice (Class Special Car or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Rochester.

  • Avis has 3 car hire locations in Rochester. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes