Book Avis hire cars in Detroit

Detroit, MI, United States
Oct 7 — Oct 14
Same drop-off
Detroit, MI, United States
Fri 7/10
Noon
Fri 14/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Detroit

Overall rating6.8 GoodBased on 66 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
8
2
6
10
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
2 hours to pick up the rental.... and the people that work at AVIS at the DET airport DO NOT care that they made 30 plus people wait for their cars.... and neither does their coperate customer serviceReviewed Sep 26 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
I would have liked to have a newer car. It was a 2021 KIA and it was pretty run down. Rear passenger turn signal didn’t work.Reviewed Aug 29 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
In the office three times to get the correct vehicle before someone finally got up from behind the counter to helpReviewed May 1 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The customer service representative was extremely unpleasant and combative. From the moment we walked in, there was an attitude of hostility. Simple questions were answered with abrupt and unhelpful responses. I was not expecting for the red carpet to be rolled out for me and I understand that the night shift may come with a bit less of a cheerful attitude but her abrasive attitude was completely unnecessary. What was particularly disheartening was the fact the woman behind us in line was greeted warmly and helped promptly. It was clear the service representative decided she did not like us from the moment we walked up. We nearly cancelled our reservation and left for another rental car company but luckily the manager Zachariah came to the rescue to assist with our reservation when the woman “helping” us decided to disappear while we waited. If this Russian roulette of service representatives is what I can expect from Avis, I don’t plan on using their service in the future.Reviewed Mar 7 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
I booked through Kayak and the price was $70, including taxes. When I dropped off, multiple charges I never agreed to were added and the total became $140, including $32.99 for waiving the extra insurance and $16.99 for a fuel surcharge when I didn’t use any of their fuel. So a good price became a bad price.Reviewed Feb 13 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience Excellent customer serviceReviewed Jan 1 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
We were overcharged and almost missed our flight because they took so long to correct the error.Reviewed Oct 25 2021
review fromkayak
5.9
Staff was incredibly kind and patient but Avis corporate is failing their people. The line was out the door when I arrived from my flight because Avis has not employed enough people to work the desk. This location shares a facility with Avis's other labels (Payless and Budget). The layout for which line reached which label was unclear but the shuttle drivers were able to help direct confused customers. Once it was your turn to work with the staff, they were kind, helpful, and positive (despite being overworked themselves). The car was also not very clean. It was clear that someone had smoked in the car at some point recently (presumably an earlier customer). Hard to stomach paying the daily rate with this company, despite the great in-person staff.Reviewed Aug 16 2021
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off was easyCons:Waited almost 2 hrs in line to get car.. only one person working behind the desk.. with no sense of urgency to move people along.. the mist unorganized ever experienced!Reviewed Aug 30 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Staff i detroit pickup was not very helpful, the man did not explain anything, and didnt know why I was getting charged 50 dollars over the original quote. I fueled up before returning and the person at the drop of said i did t need to since the gas was included in the deal.. sooooo i spend 40 bucks to fuel something i didnt have to. Going back to enterprise with my crewCons:CommunicationReviewed Oct 25 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Buses were easy to find, rental desk was fast, car was fine.Reviewed Apr 30 2019
review fromkayak
3.2
Cons:2 hrs to pick up reserved vehicle Same as flight timeReviewed Apr 29 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Detroit?

Building 295 Lucas Drive, Avis car hires

Address

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Hours

Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Monday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 734 942 3450

Good to know

Most popular location

Building 295 Lucas Drive

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Detroit