Book Avis hire cars in Palm Springs

Palm Springs, CA, United States
Dec 7 — Dec 14
Same drop-off
Palm Springs, CA, United States
Tue 7/12
Noon
Tue 14/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Palm Springs

Overall rating7.0 GoodBased on 134 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
7.4
Overall
7.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.8
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
33
4
10
22
0
Find reviews that mention:
9.2
Cons:The VW Atlas was a rattle trap. It took a bit to realize the backup camera didn’t go off after reversing the car, you have to manually touch the screen’s X to make it go away. I thought the V-6 was unresponsive. We figured out how to delete prior users smart phones that were constantly trying to pair with the car. Little things yes, but something that Avis could take care of when the last few people turned the car in. It did allow me to give the Atlas a thorough test drive as I had been considering it in a field of SUV’s to purchase.Reviewed Nov 6 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:YesCons:Difficult to call the pick up office.Reviewed Mar 3 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Loss LeaderCons:Reserved vehicle several weeks ago. Arrived at airport Avis counter and was told that they didn't have a reservation for me. After some digging was told that my reservation was at an off-sire location and they closed at 5:00 PM. It was 4:45 at the time. When i made my reservations it wasn't clear from the site of the reservation that mine was for an off site location. I had to reserve a car at the airport at almost twice the costs of my reservation. It should have checked, but Avis could have made it clearer.Reviewed Mar 27 2017
review fromkayak
3.2
Very poor to startPros:When I took the first car back, I was very happy with the replacementCons:I stood in a long line at the airport terminal only to be told 40 minutes later when I reached the counter that I had to pick up the car at another location about a mile away and needed to the a cab there. I left my wife and friends at the terminal and took a cab. Took forever to get a car. Didn't have size car I had reserved so my wife and another road with a suitcase in their lap. Old computer system kept crashing and they had to start over several times. Smaller car they gave me was dirty. Still had trash in it plus not cleaned inside or out. I could go on, but this should suffice.Reviewed Mar 23 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Scam artists with nice carsPros:The car itself (shiny new convertible mustang was great.Cons:They couldn't find the reservation I booked through Kayak, so I had to reserve at the desk. This led to an estimated price of $100 more than my $430 online booking - not cool at all, but nothing compared to the scam they pulled when I returned the car - $720 was the final charge. I returned the car on time with a full tank of gas, and was running late for my plane, and they spend twenty minutes trying to get their printer to work and figure out the price difference, concoct literally six different prices ("well actually it should be X") as they fumble through their archaic reservation system, at various points circling around to how it was ultimately my fault because I signed the contract which gives them the right to ignore the initial estimate, while still never coming up with the real numbers that could have led to either the initial estimate or the final price. Incompetent bullshit artists.Reviewed Mar 6 2016
review fromkayak
3.2
Pros:NothingCons:1 - there were no cars. there were many travelers that rented from Avis that where told to move away from the counter as there car was not available. After 45 minutes out car was available. 2 - The car was just out of the washer and all wet . 3 - the cars gas tank was only 3/4 full when we picked it up. over all there is no need to rent from Avis again.Reviewed Jan 3 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Home safePros:I was able to reserve a vehicle quicklyCons:Could not tell me hours of operation of the rental company I was returning it to, so that I could deliver it sooner than estimated.Reviewed May 16 2017
review fromkayak
2.4
Cons:Car tire had a bubble on side wall , when I went exchange in Bakersfield ca was lied about having any cars available ,was not until I called cust service that they kept saying that bakerfield Avis had cars. After two hours going back and forth they called Bakersfield I got a car. Bad experience I missed scheduled meeting I had. No more Avis for me will try another car rental coReviewed Nov 20 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Half the price than renting from the airport!Pros:Convenience and customer service.Cons:The neighborhoodReviewed Oct 31 2015
review fromkayak
10.0
Happy AttendantPros:Happy and helpful attendant in the return lotReviewed Nov 21 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Was charged much more than I was told.Reviewed Apr 19 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:ease and speed of dropoff Very nice Avis counter help when picking up.Cons:Only one key, no fob or remote to unlock door of camry. Line waits when picking up, tho our rental agent was speedy.Reviewed Nov 5 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Palm Springs?

3400 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Avis car hires

Address

3400 East Tahquitz Canyon Way

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:59
Tuesday07:00 - 23:59
Wednesday07:00 - 23:59
Thursday07:00 - 23:59
Friday07:00 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 760 778 6300

Address

650 South Eugene Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 760 778 6090

Good to know

Most popular location

650 South Eugene Road

Most popular car type

Luxury

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Palm Springs