Book Avis hire cars in New York

New York, NY, United States
Sep 26 — Oct 3
New York, NY, United States
Sun 26/9
Noon
Sun 3/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in New York

Overall rating6.2 GoodBased on 234 reviews
Cleanliness
6.7
Comfort
6.8
Overall
6.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.9
Value for money
5.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
35
13
22
25
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Pros:I liked the agent who helped me when I returned the vehicle.Cons:The car was filthy when I picked it up. I asked to have it cleaned and I was told not to expect a good job. It had bird poop all over and the inside was not clean. They washed it but it was not really clean. While driving the car I noticed that it was pulling to the right and left. I checked the tires and they were completely bald. I did the penny test and have pictures to prove that they were bald. I called roadside repair and they took the case and told me to go to my nearest Avis dealer who was more than 2 plus hours from where I was. I drive back to LGA very scared and slow. I was given a 50 dollar credit. I expected to have more of a credit than that seeing that I put my life and the life of my family and friends in jeaporady. I would like a full credit and will give it 2 weeks before filing a case in NYS small claims court.Reviewed Feb 7 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
DisasterPros:NothingCons:Avis called the night before I was scheduled to pick up to tell me I didn't have a car the next day. Since my reservation was for Christmas day, this meant I didn't have a way to get my family to my mother's house to see her on the holiday. The crazy part about it was that they did have a car at another location, but couldn't work out on their own how to make that car available to me. I eventually got a vehicle from them, but it took me hours of talking to various Avis employees on the phone to do it.Reviewed Jan 3 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The car was very clean and smoke free. The return was seamless.Reviewed Jan 11 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Need to be reimbursed Avis wouldn’t give me a car because I had only a debut card the same one I prepaid withReviewed May 27 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:They tried to charge me for hair in the car that was there when I picked it up, and charged me a fuel fee (since I didn’t provide a receipt for the gas I bought) despite returning the car with more gas in it than when I picked it up and the only thing telling me I might need to do this being very small, vague print on the form I signed at pickup.Reviewed Sep 30 2020
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Quick, helpful, friendly at counter, in garage, and at dropoffCons:EZ Pass didn't seem to work.Reviewed Sep 7 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:Charged late return fee without noticeReviewed Sep 8 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Everyone I encountered was awfulCons:Renting from anyone elseReviewed Sep 10 2020
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:The vehicle was clean and the pick up was fastCons:They provided the wrong type of vehicle. I got a premium vehicle and was given a standard SUV with no refundReviewed Oct 2 2020
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:Nice car, free upgrade for price paid.Cons:Still too expensive, difficult to get clarity on billing over the phone.Reviewed Jun 23 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The car was comfortable, clean, and the staff at both Queens and Birmingham were incredibly professional and helpful! My experience exceeded all expectations!Cons:Honestly nothingReviewed Dec 7 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:The car was clean and comfortable.Cons:More openness as to fuel charges. When I asked if I needed to bring the car back with a full tank I was told if I drive more than 75 miles I would be charged $19.95. I used 1/4 tank and was charged over $40.00. NO BARGAIN THIS RENTAL.Reviewed Oct 18 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in New York?

225 East 43rd Street, Avis car hires

Address

225 East 43rd Street

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 212 682 1860

Address

310 East 64th Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 15:00
Tuesday07:00 - 15:00
Wednesday07:00 - 15:00
Thursday07:00 - 15:00
Friday07:00 - 15:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00
Sunday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 212 593 8363

Address

515 West 43rd Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 15:00
Tuesday07:00 - 15:00
Wednesday07:00 - 15:00
Thursday07:00 - 15:00
Friday07:00 - 15:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00
Sunday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 646 473 0088

Address

Building #305 Federal Circle

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 718 244 5400

Address

25 Bowery Bay Boulevard

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 718 507 3608

Address

153 West 54th Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 15:00
Tuesday07:00 - 15:00
Wednesday07:00 - 15:00
Thursday07:00 - 15:00
Friday07:00 - 15:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00
Sunday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 212 593 8470

Address

220 West 31st Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 15:00
Tuesday07:00 - 15:00
Wednesday07:00 - 15:00
Thursday07:00 - 15:00
Friday07:00 - 15:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00
Sunday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 646 733 5995

Address

68 East 11th Street

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:00
Thursday06:30 - 23:00
Friday06:30 - 23:00
Saturday06:30 - 23:00
Sunday06:30 - 23:00

Phone

+1 212 593 8397

Address

420 East 90th Street

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:00
Thursday06:30 - 23:00
Friday06:30 - 23:00
Saturday06:30 - 23:00
Sunday06:30 - 23:00

Phone

+1 212 593 8368

Address

216 West 76th Street

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:00
Thursday06:30 - 23:00
Friday06:30 - 23:00
Saturday06:30 - 23:00
Sunday06:30 - 23:00

Phone

+1 212 595 0358

Address

808 Columbus Ave

Hours

Monday07:00 - 15:00
Tuesday07:00 - 15:00
Wednesday07:00 - 15:00
Thursday07:00 - 15:00
Friday07:00 - 15:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00
Sunday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 212 666 3593

Address

4545 Center Boulevard

Hours

Monday07:00 - 15:00
Tuesday07:00 - 15:00
Wednesday07:00 - 15:00
Thursday07:00 - 15:00
Friday07:00 - 15:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00
Sunday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 347 448 8670

Address

540 Park Avenue

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:30
Tuesday07:30 - 18:30
Wednesday07:30 - 18:30
Thursday07:30 - 18:30
Friday07:30 - 18:30
Saturday08:30 - 14:30
Sunday08:30 - 14:30

Phone

+1 212 593 8363

Address

240 East 92nd Street

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:00
Thursday06:30 - 23:00
Friday06:30 - 23:00
Saturday06:30 - 23:00
Sunday06:30 - 23:00

Phone

+1 212 444 7276

Good to know

Most popular location

25 Bowery Bay Boulevard

Most popular car type

Luxury

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in New York

  • Luxury (Audi A4 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in New York.

  • Avis has 14 car hire locations in New York. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes