Book Avis hire cars in Calgary

Calgary, AB, Canada
Oct 4 — Oct 11
Calgary, AB, Canada
Mon 4/10
Noon
Mon 11/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Calgary

Overall rating7.9 GoodBased on 119 reviews
Cleanliness
8.4
Comfort
8.2
Overall
7.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.2
Value for money
7.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
13
8
1
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
No issuesPros:Painless transaction Helpful desk staff Decent upgradeReviewed Sep 1 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
A great experience overall....Pros:£25 cheaper than on Avis direct or any other website for the same car for the 8 days at Calgary Airport. Efficient staff and on airport location made it easy. Clean new car - and offered an upgrade - managed to haggle and get a real good price - 1/3rd of the starting price... Treated the same via Kayak as if I had booked directly. Simple and good value - would use Kayak again....Cons:I selected excess protection via Kayak on the original booking form through Allianz - however they did not confirm separately and I had no cover.... Allianz didn't take the money separately and I didn't notice or follow it up - Kayak did try to help but to no avail... If I had had an accident then the $500 excess would have been charged to my card through a simple admin error - always check is the morale of the story!Reviewed Feb 20 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:Zero customer service from the drop off location at YYC Rude, unhelpful and disrespectful Never againReviewed Jul 29 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Poor experience due to CarRentals.comPros:I was able to salvage the situation by working with the Avis representative, but the reservation I originally made was not honored. The car was nice. Drop off was smoother than pick up.Cons:I thought I was paying approximately $200 CAD, but was shocked when they almost had me sign for $900 CAD. That's what they had me in their system for. When I showed the Avis rep my confirmation (email and online), and that I wasn't going anywhere, he understood that he had to make it work. He gave a good car, with good terms, however the price was still about $100 CAD more than I had reserved for. But the shock of arriving and being told that the reservation I made was bogus was an extremely unpleasant experience. I believe that CarRentals.com is a scam and I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau. I'm surprised Kayak deals with them.Reviewed Dec 21 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:Car was decently clean, but lacked a wash.Cons:There was zero communication as to where the car should be dropped off. I picked the car up at the Calgary Airport in Alberta and drove it to Banff, about an hour and a half away. I drove around for nearly an hour attempting to find the drop off garage. I called Avis to ask for help, but yet again the directions I received were severely convoluted. The parking garage which the attendant said to park at was named something else and was closed. Fortunately I was able to drop my passenger off at the quite hidden Avis sign to see if there were any directions. Thankfully, there was an attendant there who said the parking garage was motion sensored and if we drove right up to it it would open. This finally worked. This was an overall very frustrating experience. I would suggest to anyone who makes these route to just take the Banff Airporter.Reviewed Jul 20 2016
review fromkayak
4.4
Poor downtown servicePros:The car ran and was fairly clean. It was equipped with winter tires which are not appropriate for mid July usage and were loud.Cons:Pick up service was terrible-upon entering the non airport location, we waited for twenty minutes while the middle aged attendant, Rezaul, argued over his personal cell phone and did not even acknowledge us. We were waiting and the actual business phone was ringing and he ignored both. He then pushed the sale of insurance aggressively and with an attititude. Our actual rental was not available, so we were, "upgraded" to a larger vehicle with worse fuel economy. I would avoid the 1616 14th AVE NW Avis in Calgary if at all possible.Reviewed Jul 24 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Overall Excellent Service / QualityPros:We were expecting a Chrysler 200 or equivalent and got a Charger instead. What a great surprise that made our vacation so much more enjoyable. Additionally, the entire process couldn't have been more simple from checking in to checking out. We had forgotten to fill up our tank with gas prior to returning, and the check out personnel informed us about this prior to charging us the car rental gas fill-up fee. It was much appreciated, and for that reason alone, we are very likely to use & recommend Avis to others. Customer service at its finest.Cons:At check in, the personnel had many up-sells / tried to "guilt" us in to purchasing additional features that we had already declined upon purchasing online. I understand the need for a company to up-sell the features/add-ons, however, it did not seem necessary to do so in such an aggressive manner.Reviewed Jul 5 2016
review fromkayak
3.6
The car was beat upPros:Tires were relatively new.Cons:I have taken a vacation with my family and we have chosen to rent a good vehicle since we were going to drive a lot. We chose the GMC Yukon XL premium which is a full size SUV fully loaded. The car was very very dirty in and out and it was beat up. The windshield had many cracks and the paint was scratched/damage all around the car. It did not feel right. Specially because we were paying for a luxury ride. Before driving away with the car, I complained that the car was dirty. Their response was " That is the only one we have available".Reviewed Sep 30 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:staff was friendly, pick-up was easy but drop off was a bit difficult as I didn't realize that the drop-off was in a mall downtown but figured it out.Cons:some instructions on the drop-off, as it was in a parkade and the office was in a mallReviewed May 3 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:The second agent was able to switch out the car for what I actually rentedCons:Did not receive the type of vehicle I paid for The one I received was dirty inside and out Took one full hour to get a new car Ended up driving 40 mins to a different location to pick up a car in the category I reservedReviewed Jul 6 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast, fast, fast!!!Pros:This was the fastest rental experience, ever. In and out, in less than 10 minutes. The two cars we rented, Caravan and Santa Fe were brand new. Return process was even faster. Quick visual inspection and a receipt.Cons:Avis rep told me that it was just 6 miles away from the airport, but it was a twenty minute taxi ride from the airport.Reviewed Aug 7 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very affordable.Cons:Car was smaller than what I thought I had booked.Reviewed Jul 7 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Calgary?

1525 16 Ave Nw, Avis car hires

Address

1525 16 Ave Nw

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 403 503 8540

Address

2828 23 Street Northeast

Hours

Monday09:00 - 16:00
Tuesday09:00 - 16:00
Wednesday09:00 - 16:00
Thursday09:00 - 16:00
Friday09:00 - 16:00
Saturday10:00 - 16:00
Sunday12:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 403 571 3236

Address

115 9th Ave Se

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 403 269 6166

Address

2000 Airport Road

Hours

Monday07:30 - 23:59
Tuesday07:30 - 23:59
Wednesday07:30 - 23:59
Thursday07:30 - 23:59
Friday07:30 - 23:59
Saturday07:30 - 23:59
Sunday07:30 - 23:59

Phone

+1 403 221 1700

Address

400 Midpark Way Southeast

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 16:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 403 873 2580

Address

5707 A Macleod Trail

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 16:00
Sunday10:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 403 287 2113

Good to know

Most popular location

2000 Airport Road

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Calgary

  • Intermediate car hires from Avis in Calgary are around 29% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Calgary

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Calgary.

  • Avis has 6 car hire locations in Calgary. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes