Book Avis hire cars in Washington, D.C.

Washington, D.C., DC, United States
Oct 6 — Oct 13
Same drop-off
Washington, D.C., DC, United States
Thu 6/10
Noon
Thu 13/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Washington, D.C.

Overall rating6.9 GoodBased on 156 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
7.5
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
43
11
16
23
3
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Didn’t have my reservation although you confirmed. It would be nice if you reimbursed me for the $190 Urber charges incurred.Reviewed Aug 21 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
This reservation was canceled because they overbooked. When I arrived at the location, around 20 people were in line and had been there for over an hour waiting for cars. The answer I received was, “we will have all cars by the end of the day.” I canceled this reservation and quickly headed to the train station. When I got to my destination, I booked through National. They are just way more reliable. I will not pick Avis again.Reviewed Aug 8 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Pick up at Washington Union was horrible. Took 90 minutes in line for the staff to check in less than 10 people. No sense of urgency. Manual paperwork felt like the dark ages compared to other car rental companies. Would not use again unless they had the only available cars in town!Reviewed Aug 8 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Pickup was terrible, took an hour only one person in front of me. Made us wait in the rain outside because they had a rule of only one customer in the office at a time.Reviewed Jun 26 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Actually have my car available for me and not charge me a fee when they messed up.Reviewed Jun 15 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
I reserved an SUV and was offered a Corolla or a mini van. Additionally the rate did not change. This is completely unacceptable.Reviewed May 30 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
There were no cars available to pick up when I went for my reservation. They didn’t call to let anyone know. They called me hours later to say that I could take an Uber to the airport and pick up a car then. I canceled my reservation because it was too much of a hassle. Also the representatives working on site couldn’t do anything - they just kept saying to call customer service. It was a messReviewed May 23 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Waited 25 minutes. Gate agent gave me wrong fuel optionsReviewed May 21 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
The car was very beat up and had scratches all over it when I received it. We marked everything down, so I wouldn't get blamed for any of it, but still, the car was not in a good condition. Also, when I dropped the car off, I never received a receipt or anything to my email, so I don't have any record that my car was dropped at BWI Airport. It was a strange overall rental car experience.Reviewed Mar 28 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
It was the absolute worst. I rented a compact car for one day to run errands. When I got there around 9am they didn't have any cars available and said the wait would be about an hour.They asked for my phone number and said they would call when the car is ready. I walked around Union Station for 45 minutes and then went home. By the time I got home they finally called and so I trekked back. Then they said the only vehicle available is a full-size Toyota Tacoma pickup truck. More than half day was lost and so I could accomplish what I needed to and I had to drive this huge inefficient truck in the city. Avis is the dumps, avoid if possible.Reviewed Jan 18 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Great price. Easy pickup and drop offReviewed Jan 11 2022
review fromkayak
8.0
Better signage for where to drop off carReviewed Dec 22 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Washington, D.C.?

1908 L Street Northwest, Avis car hires

Address

1908 L Street Northwest

Hours

Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday09:00 - 16:45
Monday09:00 - 16:45
Friday09:00 - 16:45
Thursday09:00 - 16:45
Wednesday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 887 4759

Address

99 H Street Ne

Hours

Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday09:00 - 16:45
Monday09:00 - 16:45
Friday09:00 - 16:45
Thursday09:00 - 16:45
Wednesday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 682 2983

Address

4400 Connecticut Avenue Nw

Hours

Saturday07:00 - 19:00
Sunday07:00 - 19:00
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Monday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 202 686 5149

Address

5911 Blair Rd Nw

Hours

Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Monday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 202 722 2680

Address

1072 Wisconsin Ave Nw

Hours

Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Monday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 202 469 7179

Good to know

Most popular location

1908 L Street Northwest

Average price

R2 484/day

Good deal

R2 482/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Washington, D.C.

  • 25% of our users found car hire from Avis in Washington, D.C. for R2 482 or less.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Washington, D.C.