Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Washington, D.C.

Driver's age: 26-65
Wed 29/5
Wed 5/6
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 47%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Washington, D.C.

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Washington, D.C.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.5 OkayBased on 99 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
7.2
Overall
6.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.4
Value for money
6.9

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
9
2
0
0
2
0
16
2.0
You ran out of cars so I was strandedReviewed Mar 18 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
I reached there to find out that they didn’t have any cars left. Why would you book people when you know you won’t have cars. If you don’t have cars then atleast do the courtesy to call and notify ahead of time. It can ruin trips. Had to wait for almost half an hour for a customer to bring back the car and then they gave us the car with half the tank. On top of that they never have the kind of car available that was in the original booking. I booked a Sedan this time and I got a giant RAM truck with lot less fuel efficiency thereby costing me more for the trip. I think this should be fixed.Reviewed Feb 23 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
We got there at the scheduled time and they did not have any cars! over 20 people waiting in line for their reservations and no cars. They shouldn't take a reservation if they don't have a car to rent.Reviewed Oct 1 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:Great service! Friendly staff! Gave me a free upgrade since there was going to be a snow storm and they wanted me to stay safe!Reviewed Feb 2 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly and efficient staff both in Washington and Queens.Cons:Nothing.Reviewed Jan 8 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:I had to wait an hour outside after arriving on time for my pickup. Once I was inside the agent was awful: rude, unaccommodating, eager to stick me with a pickup truck. What is the point of reserving a particular kind of car if I'm just given what's available after the small car I needed and requested is nowhere to be found, nor, as I was told, is a particular kind of car even guaranteed? I drove the SUV I was given as little as possible while I had it because it was nearly impossible to park it in the city.Cons:Customer service, wait time, availability, respecting the reservation that i had made.Reviewed Dec 28 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Horrible service... additional charges for no obvious reasons. WTH!!!Cons:Charge what they saidReviewed Dec 4 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great staffReviewed Nov 2 2020
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:The staff was great, and the car ran well.Cons:The EZ-Pass fees were horrendous! Easier to pay cash.Reviewed Jul 31 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly staff, explained everything clearly, not rushed, car pick-up and drop-off went smoothly -- great rental experience!Reviewed Jul 24 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Weiney Tolessa with Avis at Georgetown location was extremely helpful with my check in process. I greatly appreciated her professionalism.Reviewed Jul 13 2020
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Dropoff was easyCons:Pickup could have been easier had the car been pulled out for meReviewed Jun 17 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Washington, D.C.?

Address

1908 L Street Northwest

Hours

Monday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday09:00 - 16:45
Wednesday09:00 - 16:45
Thursday09:00 - 16:45
Friday09:00 - 16:45
Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 887 4759

Address

99 H Street Ne

Hours

Monday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday09:00 - 16:45
Wednesday09:00 - 16:45
Thursday09:00 - 16:45
Friday09:00 - 16:45
Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 682 2983

Address

4400 Connecticut Avenue Nw

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 686 5149

Address

616 E Street Nw

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 499 1039

Address

5911 Blair Rd Nw

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 202 722 2680

Address

1072 Wisconsin Ave Nw

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 469 7179

Good to know

Most popular location

1908 L Street Northwest

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Washington, D.C.

  • Once you make the choice to book Avis car rentals in Washington, D.C., you'll need to figure out which type of vehicle is going to work well for your trip. Compact cars are a practical choice for navigating the city's streets, especially if you'll be primarily traveling within the city center. They are fuel-efficient and easy to park. Midsize cars provide more space and comfort than compact cars, making them suitable for small families or couples on city trips.
  • One reason that so many travelers choose to book Avis car rentals in Washington, D.C., is that Avis offers a loyalty program called Avis Preferred. Avis Preferred members often enjoy expedited rental check-in and check-out processes, reducing wait times at the rental counter. With Avis Preferred, members can earn rewards points for each qualifying rental. These points can be redeemed for free rental days with no blackout dates, allowing members to enjoy additional value from their rentals.
  • If you plan to book Avis car rentals in Washington, D.C., in the winter, check whether the rental car is equipped with appropriate winter tires or if you will need to rent snow chains separately. If you plan to travel in areas with snow or ice, consider renting a vehicle with 4WD or AWD, as these vehicles provide better stability and traction in winter conditions. In case of emergencies, it's advisable to have a winterization kit in the vehicle.
  • As you set out driving after you book Avis car rentals in Washington, D.C., it is important to know that the heart of the city can be challenging to navigate due to heavy traffic, one-way streets, and frequent road closures for events and security concerns. The Capital Beltway, which encircles the city, is notorious for its congestion, especially during rush hours. It's essential to plan your travels to avoid peak traffic times. Interstate 395 is a major route into the city that can experience significant traffic jams during the morning and evening commutes.
  • Mini car hire from Avis in Washington, D.C. are around 13% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Washington, D.C.

  • Where should I go to pick up an Avis rental in Washington, D.C.?

    For those renters right in the center of Washington, D.C., a good rental location choice would be the one at 1908 L St. NW. For those that are further to the west in the Georgetown neighborhood, a better choice might be the location at 1072 Wisconsin Ave. NW. If you happen to be a little bit further to the north in the Cleveland Park neighborhood, one of your best bets is going to be the location at 4400 Connecticut Ave. NW.

  • What are some reasons to choose Avis over other companies in Washington, D.C.?

    Avis offers competitive rental rates, making it a cost-effective choice for budget-conscious travelers. Avis is part of a global car rental network, which means you can enjoy Avis benefits in various destinations within the United States and abroad. Avis may offer additional services such as GPS rental, child safety seats, and roadside assistance for a more comfortable and secure travel experience. Avis staff can provide you with insights into local attractions and driving tips, helping you make the most of your visit to Washington, D.C., and the surrounding areas.

  • Where should I go to park my rental in Washington, D.C.?

    Street parking is available throughout the city, but it can be difficult to find and may have restrictions, including time limits and metered spaces. Pay close attention to parking signs and meters to avoid fines. The cost is usually about $2.30 to park for 1 hour. There are numerous parking garages and lots in the city, especially in downtown and popular areas. While they can be convenient, parking fees can add up, and rates may vary. Costs can run anywhere from about $15 up to $30 to park for 2 hours.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Washington, D.C.?

    Mini (Chrysler Pacifica or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Washington, D.C..

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Washington, D.C.?

    Avis has 6 hire locations in Washington, D.C.. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Dulles Intl airport (IAD)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Dulles Intl airport (IAD)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Baltimore/Washington airport (BWI)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Baltimore/Washington airport (BWI)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Reagan-National airport (DCA)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Reagan-National airport (DCA)?

    Yes