Book Avis hire cars in Santo Domingo

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Jun 20 — Jun 27
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Sun 20/6
Noon
Sun 27/6
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Santo Domingo

Overall rating5,0 OkayBased on 21 reviews
Cleanliness
5,5
Comfort
5,6
Overall
4,8
Pick-up/Drop-off
4,8
Value for money
4,6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
2
7
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.4
Sub-par car and extortionate insurance policiesPros:Functional SUV in a country where even the main roads can be sketchy, friendly and reasonably professional service.Cons:SUV felt poorly maintained, with sloppy steering, a glitchy transmission and numerous dings and small broken parts that we didn’t discover until on the road (a broken windshield wiper for example). The worst part was that my online quoted $360 weekly rate ballooned to over $1300 when all the local BS nickel & dime fees were factored in (including mandatory insurance when I was told on arrival that my third party Allianz policy which I’d already paid for was not valid in the Dominican Republic, even though I’ve used that company everywhere from Tanzania to Thailand). It’s very hard to maintain a rental fleet on a Caribbean island with limited resources - I get that. However, I felt like I was hustled/extorted, and should’ve been informed in advance that I had to buy ‘local’ insurance in order to drive my car away. Shame on Avis.Reviewed Jan 6 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
they gave away our car because our flight was 20 mPros:nothingCons:i had provided our flight information in order to make sure they knew if we were a bit late in picking up our car. Our flight was supposed to get in at 2:08 pm. We were about 20 minutes late, and had to go through customs and arrived at Avis desk at 2:42 and they said they had given away our car and only had a more expensive car for us. No other car rental place had any cars available so we were forced to go with Avis more expensive car. No one at the Avis desk was understanding of how this was completely unfair and refused to charge us the original price quoted. We will NOT be using Avis again unless they reimburse us for our original car!Reviewed Jan 4 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
ExcellentPros:EverythingCons:Nothing not to like about itReviewed Oct 5 2016
review fromkayak
5.6
Not like a TahoeCons:I was given a Nissan X-trail. Not similar to a Tahoe at all.Reviewed Jun 12 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:They didn’t charge me for cleaning because they handed me the car three and a half hours late.Cons:If my car would of been given to me on time at 9am.Reviewed Jan 26 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
hassle freePros:good communication in English (I had a different experience with different agency on previous trip) no argument over little dents and scratches the car received during previous rentals (different agency was trying to blame me for everything on a previous visit)Cons:they didn't accept my Allianz insurence I purchased with KAYAK for this trip car was "too clean" inside which caused sometimes "oily" fingers due to an "oily" film on all plastic partsReviewed Jun 17 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Borderline Illegal business practices in Avis DRPros:nothingCons:arrived at the counter, and was told by the staff that they had run out of cars 3 days ago, so unfortunately even though they could see that I had made my reservation since June, I was going to have to leave without a car! After arguing for a while, they finally gave me a smaller car, but they charged me an outrageous rate, and on top of that forced me to accept all the optional insurance option, otherwise I was going to have to leave walking.Reviewed Jan 6 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:No car!Reviewed Mar 13 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Staff was friendly...and our reservation was there.Cons:2 out of 5 seat belts in the car didn't work. furthermore, the checkin process took 50 minutes. there was only 2 people in front of us. terrible time management.Reviewed Dec 31 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing!Cons:I ended up with no vehicle and had to cancel the reservation. This is very typical (and chronic) of the Dominican Republic; I show up late a night with my family to find that they want to squeeze us into a car that barely fits 5 people (we are 6). This is not the car I had selected and was willing to pay for (my reservation indicated that it was for a vehicle that can sit 7 people + 3 pieces of luggage). Understanding that this happens all the time, I proactively started calling AVIS in DR a week in advance to avoid surprises. I was suggested to call the date of (again) in order to confirm that we were indeed traveling that date, and to guarantee that the correct vehicle would be there for us. I called the date of the flight, assured the care was already there, and still got a compact car with the excuse that there was no availability. I ended up taking a taxi at 2 AM out of the airport with my whole family (we just don't fit in a compact car!). I was not offer a discounted rate for the crappy/inferior piece of junk they were offering us. In addition, the staff is never helpful, and become rude and belligerent when one tries to indicate that they dropped the ball and all they offer you is to cancel the reservation (obviously for one to deal with the mess of being stuck at the airport). They are so incompetent! By the way, please note 1- I am Dominican, and 2- It happens with all major multinational car rental companies (not just AVIS) in DR, 3- They do try to coerce you into accepting bogus additional services and fee, threatening you that it is mandatory in DR, and holding you and your family hostage. So goddamn frustrating to start one's vacation (repeatedly) on a bad note because, notwithstanding one's best efforts and willingness to pay, one cannot get the vehicle that one needs and reserves, and have to waste one's vacation dates dealing with these type of issues. Such an unpleasant experience (again and again!). Thank you for your time and help.Reviewed Feb 26 2018
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:I reserved 2 months in advance via Kayak and called to confirm the reservation 3 days prior to my arrival, yet at the time I arrived they did not have my vehicle available. I reserved an SUV and they were offering me a compact car instead. In the end, I had to take another SUV for more that twice the price in my reservation. The pickup process took extremely long. In my case 1 hour and 20 minutes.Reviewed Jan 4 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Good service as usual.Cons:Tank was half full when I started, but Avis employee noted that the tank was 2/3 full and I did not pay attention to what he wrote down. When I returned the car half full I had to pay $20 extra for fuel. Given the already very high car rental price in Dominican Republic compared to Europe due to high insurance charges, this was quite annoying.Reviewed Feb 5 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Santo Domingo?

Ruta 66, Boca Chica, Avis car hires

Address

Ruta 66, Boca Chica

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 809 549 0469

Address

George Washington Avenue 517

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 535 7191

Address

Avenida Romulo Betancourt

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 287 8049

Address

J.F. Kennedy Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 544 1573

Address

Francisco A Caamano D Avenue

Hours

Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 535 7191

Good to know

Most popular location

Ruta 66, Boca Chica

Most popular car type

Full-size

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Santo Domingo

  • Full-size (Ford Explorer or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Santo Domingo.

  • Avis has 5 car hire locations in Santo Domingo. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes