Book Avis hire cars in San José del Cabo

San José del Cabo, BS, Mexico
Oct 3 — Oct 10
San José del Cabo, BS, Mexico
Sun 3/10
Noon
Sun 10/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San José del Cabo

Overall rating6.6 GoodBased on 8 reviews
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.0
Overall
6.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.5
Value for money
6.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
0
1
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Pros:Price was good, staff was helpful. Car was clean. Mexico 3rd Party insurance was included. Able to decline CDW with credit card coverage as long as a hold was placed on credit card.Cons:Make sure you fill out the paper to mark all dings, dents and scrapes on the car before taking the car.Reviewed Jan 19 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was friendly and helpful.Reviewed Mar 9 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing to likeCons:They made me wait 45minutes to tell me that they didn't have the card I booked in advanceReviewed May 10 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
Perfectly good rental, but agents are too aggressive selling insuranceCons:They really try hard to push you on buying the insurance. In fact, they mislead you to the point of pushing outright fabrication (lying) that you are legally obligated to purchase insurance from them (which is not true.) This caused picking up the car to take far longer than it should, as when I got the contract, they had added insurance that I had not asked for, and I had to have them correct it, and go through the whole process again.Reviewed Oct 19 2018
review fromkayak
4.4
Not the greatest experience.Pros:The car itself was clean and functioned as expected.Cons:I show up to Pueblo Bonito Rose on the date I scheduled my rental pick-up (the date and location had already been pre-selected) and the hotel concierge tells me that Avis is closed on Sundays. Why did the website allow me to schedule the pickup on this date? Pueblo Bonito was nice enough to call Avis' other location nearby and I spoke with Avis on the phone, they sent a guy with my rental. He said he'd be there in 10 minutes, that was a lie, I waited at least half an hour. They provide a wifi box which is kinda neat, but the guy gave it to me without a charging cable and I wasn't able to charge it, so this was only useful on the first drive, after the first day of using it, it died and was useless. He told me upfront that there was no charging cable, so I was aware of this and said ok. When I returned the car at SJD Airport, Avis asks me where the cable is. I said you guys gave me the wifi box without one. They said that because there weren't any notations of the missing cable that they would have to charge me, at this point I was pretty upset. I'm just trying to drop of my car so we can catch our flight back home and now this nonsense. Long story short I spoke with the manager and flat out told them, "no, I'm not paying for a cable that we were never provided with which made this wifi box useful for only one trip" I didn't end up having to pay for the cable but then I got screwed on having to pay for a full tank of gas when I only used 1/4 of the tank, so I might as well have paid for the stupid cable. Avis never once told me anything about extra charges for gas, I guess this can be assumed but being that this was in Mexico and the first time I rent a car there, I didn't assume the rules were the same. I would've put a few bucks worth of gas to replenish the tank had i known I was going to have to pay the full price of a tank. Terrible experience!Reviewed Oct 29 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Upon return, they refused to release the hold on the credit card, saying that one of the headrests was missing. Also, there was a missing plastic cover in the passengers foot well that they want to charge me for. At check-in, they seemed very relaxed about the condition of the vehicle. Document!Reviewed Feb 25 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:Take advantage of foreign travelers.Cons:There are many hidden fees and bait and switch activities. Would not recommend - beware.Reviewed Jan 1 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was helpful and efficient.Cons:Not such a big price jump to a bigger more comfortable vehicle.Reviewed Nov 21 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San José del Cabo?

Carr Transpeninsular Km 43.5, Avis car hires

Address

Carr Transpeninsular Km 43.5

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:30
Tuesday07:00 - 23:30
Wednesday07:00 - 23:30
Thursday07:00 - 23:30
Friday07:00 - 23:30
Saturday07:00 - 23:30
Sunday07:00 - 23:30

Phone

+52 624 146 0046

Address

Blvd M. Castro#4650 Lte1 Mza5

Hours

Monday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00

Phone

+52 624 130 7298

Address

Av Paseo De Los Pescadores

Hours

Monday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00

Phone

+52 624 105 6539

Address

Km18.5 Carr Transpeninsular

Hours

Monday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00

Phone

+52 624 144 1052

Address

Paseo Malecon SN Lote 5

Hours

Monday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:0015:00 - 18:00

Phone

+52 624 247 1343

Good to know

Most popular location

Carr Transpeninsular Km 43.5

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San José del Cabo

  • Economy car hires from Avis in San José del Cabo are around 57% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San José del Cabo

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in San José del Cabo.

  • Avis has 5 car hire locations in San José del Cabo. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes