Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Phoenix

Driver's age: 26-65
Sat 20/7
Sat 27/7
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Phoenix

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Phoenix

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating7.3 GoodBased on 130 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
8.0
Overall
7.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.4
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
20
10
1
5
1
0
18
8.0
Drop off the as great, pick up took a long time, car wasn’t ready and the desk was understaffed, had to wait over an hour to get the car.Reviewed Jun 27 2024
review fromkayak
6.0
Car was in poor technical condition. Broken vents, loosing tire pressure, steering wheel vibrations while in freeway speeds.Reviewed May 4 2024
review fromkayak
6.0
My experience with Avis was fine. But my experience with Kayak was not. When I searched for a car rental, I found a number of cars available for roughly $150 a day. Then there was the "manager's choice" car at Avis, which was listed at $155.54 -- total. I naturally booked that, and received an email that appeared to confirm that the total price was $155.54. As it turned out, that was false, and I wound up paying $518.42. I am not happy about that. My only gripe with Avis is that I wound up renting an electric car, but received no advice about where to charge it. I ultimately tried two charging stations, one of which was going to take 12 hours to charge, and was nowhere near where I was staying, and the other one of which was a "fast charge" station that could only charge one car at a time, and it was in use. So I was never able to charge the car.Reviewed Mar 11 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Pickup took over 1.5 hours Seemed very disorganized going downstairs to pick up the carReviewed Jan 27 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
Everything was super good, except at the pick up counter, there was very long lines, the wait time was around one hour, and 45 minutes, people in the line were complaining about the long wait, you definitely should get more staff to help with the long lines to get the wait time downReviewed Jan 1 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
tReviewed Oct 31 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
The reception at the airport front desk was exceptionally good. She helped to clarify some problems with the reservation and assisted me with getting my car very very promptly.Reviewed Oct 16 2023
review fromkayak
4.0
They offered me an “upgrade” for a way bigger car than I need. I told them we were only two people and didn’t need anything big. They kept misting on the upgrade. It was past midnight and I was very tired and just wanted to get to the hotel, otherwise I would have returned the car. Ended up spending too much money on gas too.Reviewed Oct 1 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Everything could have been better! Avis was a total disappointment from the moment I picked up the car in Phoenix. I got charged more than I was quoted, I was given a smaller car. I had a death before driving back to El Paso. I needed to return the car in Tucson instead of El Paso and I was told I would be charged more. I was returning it on the right day, I offered to provide a death certificate and/or any other paperwork to help with the return at a different drop off. NOBODY was willing to help me!!!!!!!!! It was an unexpected death and I needed someone to help me. I was charged over $300 for one day. So sad that a company takes advantage of people in their time of need. NEVER WILL I RENT A CAR FROM AVIS!!!! WILL TELL ANYONE TO NEVER RENT ONE WITH THEM EITHER!!!! I HAVE NEVER ENCOUNTERED SO MANY RUDE, UNUSEFUL PEOPLE IN A COURSE OF 24 HOURS.Reviewed Sep 14 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Car was due back by 9:00 am on Sunday. I dropped keys in the drop box before the place opened at 8am. And yet you charge me a late fee? Seriously BSReviewed Oct 10 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Great Service!Reviewed Oct 6 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Pick up was fine--don't typically use Avis so I had to wait in line and they put the hard sale on to accept all the add ons.Cons:The car they gave me had a smell of someone who smoked in it prior to me. Although fine, it was not super clean inside. The warning light for service of the rear park aid stayed on during the rental. The rental did the job as I had a hard time finding one but wouldn't use them again unless in a bind.Reviewed May 31 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Phoenix?

Address

1805 E Sky Harbor Circle South

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 602 261 5900

Address

245 East Bell Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 602 866 0032

Address

18631 N 19th Ave, Ste 128

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 623 869 0010

Address

5102 W Latham St

Hours

Monday07:00 - 16:00
Tuesday07:00 - 16:00
Wednesday07:00 - 16:00
Thursday07:00 - 16:00
Friday07:00 - 16:00
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 480 536 6672

Address

2640 East Indian School Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 602 957 0531

Good to know

Most popular location

1805 E Sky Harbor Circle South

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Phoenix

  • Avis car rentals in Phoenix can help you get the most out of your visit to this bustling metropolis in Arizona because you can choose from a large election of vehicles. If you want to travel around this renowned city in style, you can opt for a premium sedan. If, on the other hand, you would like to keep your trip to Phoenix more economical and save on fuel costs, you can opt for a compact car or an economy car. SUVs and minivans are available in different sizes, and may be a good choice if you are traveling with colleagues, friends, our family members.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Phoenix through KAYAK on-line, you can find reservation deals that allow you to cancel your reservation for free. Some reservations with this option will not charge you anything, even if you don't arrive to pick up your vehicle. Other free cancellation policies require that you notify the agency of your cancellation at least two full days before you are meant to pick up your rental car according to the time stated on your reservation.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Phoenix on-line through KAYAK, and you choose the general kind of car that you want, you will be offered a number of selections of particular vehicles. You can choose the specific brand of vehicle and model of vehicle that you would like to rent. If, when you arrive at Avis car rentals in Phoenix to collect your vehicle, they do not have the precise car you chose, Avis team members at Phoenix agencies will do their utmost to find you as similar a rental car as possible. It is important to Avis that you enjoy your time in Phoenix, and that Avis car rentals in Phoenix are a big part of that.
  • Aside from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), you can find a number of Avis car rental agencies within the city of Phoenix itself. Just east of the airport, you can find an agency at 1412 North Scottsdale Road, and west of the airport, you can find an agency at 5102 West Latham Street. North of the airport, you can find an agency at 2640 East Indian School Road and northeast of the airport, you can find an agency at 8969 Talking Stick Way. In the north of the city, you can find agencies at 245 East Phelps Road, 18631 North 19th Avenue, and 6666 West Bell Road.
  • Compact car hire from Avis in Phoenix are around 63% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Phoenix

  • Can I choose an electric car when I book Avis car rentals in Phoenix?

    Avis car rentals in Phoenix comprise agencies that care about the environment and about the carbon footprint they make. Therefore, Avis car rentals in Phoenix have fully electric vehicles available. Many of the fully electric options available are luxury cars, so you will be traveling in environmentally aware elegance. If sustainability is important to you, consider Avis car rentals in Phoenix.

  • Can I arrange a one-way rental from Avis car rentals in Phoenix?

    Yes. When you book your Avis car rentals in Phoenix on-line through KAYAK, you can choose to drop off your rental car at a different location. This location could be elsewhere in Phoenix, elsewhere in Arizona, or elsewhere within the continental United States. Since one-way car rentals are a bit more complicated to arrange, make sure that you make your reservation as early as possible to allow yourself the biggest selection of vehicles to choose from.

  • What speed limits will I encounter in Avis car rentals in Phoenix?

    Within the city limits of Phoenix, residential roads and built up urban areas tend to have a speed limit of 25 mph. If you are driving on an interstate through Phoenix, the speed limit is 65 mph. As you leave the Phoenix Metropolitan area and drive into more rural parts of Arizona, the speed limit on interstates increases to 75 mph. Make sure to keep an eye out for posted speed limit signs so that you don't inadvertently speed and get a ticket.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Phoenix?

    Compact (Nissan Leaf or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Phoenix.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Phoenix?

    Avis has 5 hire locations in Phoenix. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Sky Harbor Intl airport (PHX)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Sky Harbor Intl airport (PHX)?

    Yes