Book Avis hire cars in Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Jun 22 — Jun 29
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Tue 22/6
Noon
Tue 29/6
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Philadelphia

Overall rating6,0 GoodBased on 60 reviews
Cleanliness
6,2
Comfort
6,7
Overall
5,9
Pick-up/Drop-off
5,6
Value for money
5,7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
23
9
13
15
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:My expectations for the car rental experience are always pretty low, but Avis definitely fell well below. After waiting in line behind only 3 other customers for 40 minutes (there was only 1 counter person), we received the keys to our Ford Escape. After loading all of our suitcases in the car, we discovered that the entire inside of the main car was FILTHY. I am unsure how someone could trash a rental car like this, but they did. After AGAIN waiting in line we were given another car (no apologies upgrades or rebates offered). This car we discovered after exiting the rental lot only had a third of a tank of gas (and later found that it had issues with "reverse"). Over an hour behind schedule, we called Avis and were told to take a picture of our gas gauge! This of course was met with skepticism upon return, and again there was no apology or offer of compensation. I'll book elsewhere next time.Reviewed Aug 14 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
They wouldn't rent to me!!!Cons:I have good credit and was able to put down a large deposit, but they were unwilling to rent to me because I was paying with a Debit card. It's like someone willing to pay with Cash and them turning you away. I even offered to put down a really large deposit and they still turned me away. I ended up going to their competitor who was great and had no problem renting me a car (for what ended up being less money). Never AVIS again.Reviewed Jul 24 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The car was modern and clean and the price for the week that I rented was top notch. I would use this company again.Reviewed Mar 2 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The agent I met with when picking up the car was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. She was very nice! Kudos!Reviewed Dec 16 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
There was no car to rentPros:The woman behind the counter had been berated by the man in front of me in line but she maintained professional behavior.Cons:I was dismayed when I was told that while I was able to make a reservation through Kayak there was actually no car available. The woman helping tried to call another location, didn't get through, and told me to "Go to the airport, they might have a car". I only tried to rent a car because of an unforeseeable event with my own car. I can certainly understand that getting a rental on the day of is unusual but I was forced to miss an important event because I stopped planning alternatives when I was granted a reservation through the site. Also, I was charged for the insurance at the time I made the reservation which is frustrating since there was never a car to insure.Reviewed Sep 11 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Absolutely.Cons:Nothing could be better. I had a major problem with scheduled time drop off because I had booked online with other agency. Avis made it perfect with no problem at all. Can't say enough good about themReviewed Jul 1 2019
review fromkayak
7.2
Gross negligencePros:The comfortCons:Was pulled over in Delaware shortly after dusk due to the taillights not working. Yes, the headlights worked fine, but due to some solid investigating with Delaware's finest, the taillights went out as soon as the car was put in drive. The officer let me off with a warning and also informed me that the registration was expired. It expired in January! This was on Thursday the 6th of April! Thanks, Avis! It pays to be a Prefferd Member. RodReviewed Apr 8 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:The toll policyReviewed Apr 25 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Wait time at pick up. Inefficient process.Reviewed Sep 5 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:Nothing.Cons:Arrived at Avis at the PHL airport and the line was out the door into the parking lot. Avis was running out of cars because they clearly were OVER overbooked. After 30 minutes of waiting in the parking lot, a worker came out to tell anyone who booked a reservation after 12 noon on 6/27 would not get a vehicle and their reservation would not be honored (even if you already pre-paid). Thankfully, I booked my vehicle prior to 12noon. Despite customers leaving after hearing the news, I waited in line for over an hour to get my rental. There were five (5) employees working, only 1 and sometimes 2 of them who actually took care of any customers. I’ll never return to Avis again.Reviewed Jun 29 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Check in took forever lost my wizard check in had to stand in line no ac and only one person working and they wanted to sell every customer anything they could again taking foreverReviewed Aug 10 2020
review fromkayak
6.8
Cons:The store opens at 7 and my reservation was for 7 but no one showed up to even open the store until 7:05. They didn't go over the mileage or check for any damages before I left so the before miles were documented incorrectly. They don’t give you any instructions on what to do upon return.Reviewed Apr 9 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Philadelphia?

1 Arrivals Road, Avis car hires

Address

1 Arrivals Road

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 215 492 0900

Address

2951 Market Street (30th St & Market)

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday09:00 - 17:00
Thursday09:00 - 17:00
Friday09:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 386 2332

Address

201 South Columbus Boulevard (Olde City)

Hours

Monday08:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 13:00
Thursday08:00 - 13:00
Friday08:00 - 13:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 629 1333

Address

10600 Roosevelt Boulevard

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 969 7470

Address

1324 Arch Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 751 2737

Address

201 N 17th Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 13:00
Thursday08:00 - 13:00
Friday08:00 - 13:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 814 9078

Address

200 South Broad Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 735 7193

Address

1200 Market Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:30
Tuesday07:30 - 18:30
Wednesday07:30 - 18:30
Thursday07:30 - 18:30
Friday07:30 - 18:30
Saturday08:30 - 12:30
Sunday08:30 - 12:30

Phone

+1 215 751 2737

Good to know

Most popular location

1 Arrivals Road

Most popular car type

Intermediate

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Philadelphia

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Philadelphia.

  • Avis has 8 car hire locations in Philadelphia. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes