Book Avis hire cars in Norfolk

Norfolk, VA, United States
Dec 6 — Dec 13
Same drop-off
Norfolk, VA, United States
Tue 6/12
Noon
Tue 13/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Norfolk

Overall rating6.2 GoodBased on 42 reviews
Cleanliness
6.5
Comfort
6.8
Overall
6.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.5
Value for money
6.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
15
9
2
7
2
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Great experience. Only complaint is fragrance used in car was unpleasant . Loved that the car had a pass for toll road.Reviewed Oct 18 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
RAV 4: 54,000 miles.Dirty on pick-up, had to Clean windows in order to use side mirrors.Passenger and rear windows inoperable.Fob intermittent, had to use emergency key to lock doors.Obvious electrical problems including extremely dim headlights.Reviewed Oct 17 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The car was banged up and smelled like smoke when I picked it up and then as I was driving north to DC at night, had to turn back and drive about 20-30 miles to return the car for a new replacement because BOTH back tail lights were out. It would have never known except someone on the highway honked and flashed lights to get my attention to tell my my lights were out... which is very dangerous. When I went to replace the car, they were very kind and made it easy - which was appreciated since I had to backtrack to return the other car. However, the car the replaced it with ended up having some emergency warning signs about the automatic rear breaking system malfunctioning. I had to pull over to read the vehicle manual - but because I was in the middle of no where had to continue on until I got into DC and could return it. Not a good experience at all.Reviewed Oct 10 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The car was so old, it was also very rickety! Sometimes felt unsafe because the steering was so lose and acceleration so bad. Also, I arrived at my check in time but had to wait 40 minutes for a car! They also seemed to be handing them out in order of arrival not order of reservations. Very disappointed and I will not be using this againReviewed Sep 24 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Everything was just as expected. No hassles.Reviewed Jul 16 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Nothing, I reserved a car and was told when I picked it up that they weren’t honoring same day reservations and turned me away.Reviewed Jun 25 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Almost everything was terribleReviewed May 18 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
They took to much money off my cardReviewed Feb 12 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
That they would have told the truth. Tracy, was a professional and made my day. But I found out the charges she told me was supposed to be a temporary hold turns out with me bullshit fees/taxes. I was expecting to pay only 700-800$ instead they charged me nearly a 1000$. The car was detailed and clean. The person who I dropped it off with was professional and apologized for the confusion. I told him there was no confusion. I looked online and thinking I was going to back 700-800$, not nearly 1000$. The messed up part is that I can’t do anything about it. If I had known how much I was going to pay before booking that would have been better. They charged me $80 for a recovery fee, and other bullshit fees. Wtf are they recovering?Reviewed Feb 1 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
I loved the suv! Pick up was quick and the ride was great!Reviewed Jan 26 2022
review fromkayak
1.9
DO NOT rent from Avis. I was one of about thirty people who had to wait over three hours for a car to show up. They overbooked everyone and didn't have the cars to fill the reservations - and everyone waiting had a reservation. Terrible company, terrible practice, there was a crowd of us stranded at the airport because of their awful service. Steer clear. It's not worth the frustration.Reviewed Sep 20 2021
review fromkayak
7.9
There was confusion about the epass for toll payment. The clerk when we dropped off the car was not helpful.Reviewed Aug 23 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Norfolk?

2200 Norview Avenue, Avis car hires

Address

2200 Norview Avenue

Hours

Friday06:30 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:59
Wednesday06:30 - 23:59
Monday06:30 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:59
Tuesday06:30 - 23:59
Thursday06:30 - 23:59

Phone

+1 757 855 1945

Address

1700 Norview Avenue

Hours

Friday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Monday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:30 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 757 857 0106

Good to know

Most popular location

2200 Norview Avenue

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Norfolk

  • Mini car hire from Avis in Norfolk are around -30% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Norfolk