Book Avis hire cars in Kailua-Kona

Driver's age: 26-65
Sun 21/4
Sun 28/4
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 42%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Kailua-Kona

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Kailua-Kona

Overall rating6.8 OkayBased on 28 reviews
Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
2
1
0
0
2
0
5
2.0
They didn't have the vehicle promised. Not okReviewed Feb 19 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Terrible customer service!!!!will never choose Avis again and I’m a preferred Avis customer that was treated poorlyReviewed Jan 14 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
We were downgraded to a car we didn’t want. We reserved a Kia Soul but were given a Kia forte. The batteries in the key fob were drained and the key fob didn’t work. I had to manually lock and unlock doors. When we asked for a receipt when we returned the rental the representative at Avis was rude and unhelpful. I still don’t have a receipt for the rental.Reviewed Sep 27 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Fast car checkout and genuinely friendly staffReviewed May 10 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy to pick up and returnCons:All was goodReviewed Apr 7 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
I felt cheatedPros:Easy and efficient drop offCons:I paid for insurance when booking through KAYAK and was then told there was no insurance on the car. This was an unpleasant surprise after a flight. Travelling with a baby (after a flight) I didn’t have the luxury of time to go through emails and booking details to find out where the confusion (or dishonesty) was. Turned out I bought separate insurance not linked to Avis and the car through KAYAK. So I ended up paying twice and the overall deal was a lot more expensive than it should have been. The Avis attendant also wouldn’t stop chatting unnecessarily so I couldn’t concentrate on the business of getting the car asap and my family to our accommodation. The car was OK but not clean enough but I guess acceptable for a rental.Reviewed Oct 21 2018
review fromkayak
2.8
Rates when booked does not match rates when picked upCons:Rates when booked does not match rates when picked upReviewed Oct 16 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Be sure to conduct walk aroundPros:The agent was pleasant and we were assigned the correct car. Cost was what we expected.Cons:The agent expected us to do our own car walkaround and record the results on a form attached to the key. There were several marks on the car - we took photos of the car in the rental parking lot to be safe. Be sure you do a walkaround before leaving with the car.Reviewed Aug 21 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Disaster!Cons:April 2018: The absolute WORST rental car experience I have experienced. Worst of any retail/service experience, for that matter. Over 1 hour in line to get to the counter, only to be given my paperwork and then told to wait outside for another 45 minutes for the car! Management has created a culture of not caring about the customer, and it shows. Staff are surly, slow and uncaring. Exception: Phillip who took pity and went to get our car despite it not being his job. Do not subsidize this failed business and it’s incompetent management.Reviewed Apr 21 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Worst customer service, disgusting carPros:Nothing, this was one of the least value for $ I’ve ever experienced. The car was dirty crashed and old and the customer service woman at the counter was unbelievably rude upon check in, don’t start your vacation off with this terrible branch in HawaiiCons:Nothing, this was one of the least value for $ I’ve ever experienced. The car was dirty crashed and old and the customer service woman at the counter was unbelievably rude upon check in, don’t start your vacation off with this terrible branch in HawaiiReviewed Apr 9 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:In and out great customer service, will be back next year and do it againReviewed Apr 23 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
RatesCons:I had a flight delay in Seattle on 1/29 and contacted Avis to advise that I would not arrive until the 30th. They would not extend my pick up date and I had to create a new reservation at a higher rate. What had been an ok rate, I now had to pay more. The rental process, the car, etc. was very good. I'm just disappointed in the rate change due to an airline snafu.Reviewed Mar 3 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Kailua-Kona?

Address

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One

Hours

Monday05:00 - 22:30
Tuesday05:00 - 22:30
Wednesday05:00 - 22:30
Thursday05:00 - 22:30
Friday05:00 - 22:30
Saturday05:00 - 22:30
Sunday05:00 - 22:30

Phone

+1 808 327 3000

Good to know

Most popular location

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Kailua-Kona

  • Kailua-Kona is the second-largest town on Hawaii’s Big Island. It has turned into a place that people visit early and often because it's filled with so much history. It’s home to Hulihee Palace, which is a former royal vacation house, and Mokuaikaua Church, which is the oldest Christian church in Hawaii. You can drive around and see all the town's historical sites when you book Avis car rentals in Kailua-Kona.
  • Kailua-Kona has more than just history on its side. It’s also a place that has its fair share of beautiful beaches. If you plan to visit the beaches, renting a car from Avis will make it easy for you to get back and forth. If you are traveling with family, renting a large minivan or SUV might be the right move to make. Otherwise, you may want to explore the idea of renting a luxury car or even a convertible so that you can drive around in Kailua-Kona in style. Avis has other options available, too, including compact cars and pickup trucks.
  • Hawaii’s Big Island is more than 4,000 square miles big, so you'll need to prepare to get around in an Avis rental car accordingly. You may want to equip this rental car with a GPS navigation system so that you always know where you're headed when you get behind the wheel to cruise. Avis can set you up with a GPS system for a small fee. They also offer other extra add-ons, such as car seats for families and even additional insurance coverage for those who want the peace of mind it’ll bring.
  • If you're still trying to figure out whether you'll need to rent a car when visiting Hawaii, booking Avis car rentals in Kailua-Kona in advance will be good. You can always cancel an Avis rental car reservation later if you don't need it. You will need to avoid pre-paying for it with a credit card to take advantage of this perk of renting a cat through Avis.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Kailua-Kona

  • Where can I pick up an Avis rental car in Kailua-Kona?

    When you visit Kailua-Kona, you’ll most likely fly into Kona International Airport (KOA). This is where you’ll be able to pick up a rental car from Avis. It’s located at 73-361 Kupipi Street, Suite One, and is currently the only pickup location for those who book Avis car rentals in Kailua-Kona.

  • Does Avis offer a customer loyalty program in Kailua-Kona?

    If you don’t want to have to worry about waiting to get your hands on a rental car in Kailua-Kona, you’ll be happy to hear that Avis offers a great customer loyalty program. It’s called Avis Preferred, and it’ll provide you with an opportunity to receive priority service at all Avis locations. You won’t need to wait in line for long at all when you’re an Avis Preferred member. Joining Avis Preferred also offers other perks like discounted car rentals, free add-ons, and the ability to add a second driver to a rental car for no additional charge.

  • How challenging will it be to find parking for an Avis rental car in Kailua-Kona?

    There is little on-street parking available in Kailua-Kona these days, which can sometimes make it hard to find parking spots for an Avis rental car. But you should still be able to track down lots to park in, enabling you to take your rental car off the street. There are a variety of paid parking lots, like the County Park-n-Ride that is situated on Loloku St. Parking your rental car in a lot like this will keep it protected while it's in your possession.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Kailua-Kona?

    Intermediate (Toyota RAV4 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Kailua-Kona.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Kailua-Kona?

    Avis has 1 hire location in Kailua-Kona. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Kona Intl airport (KOA)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Kona Intl airport (KOA)?

    Yes