Book Avis hire cars in Providence

Providence, RI, United States
Sep 30 — Oct 7
Providence, RI, United States
Thu 30/9
Noon
Thu 7/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Providence

Overall rating3.1 MediocreBased on 9 reviews
Cleanliness
3.7
Comfort
3.5
Overall
2.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
2.6
Value for money
2.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
0
0
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Inconvenient and UnclearPros:The car itself was fine, although the back seat needed cleaning. And it was ready at the arranged time.Cons:The agency did not provide any kind of map, and this was the first time I've experienced that in many years with many car rentals from other companies. The local person was not familiar with local roads to help me get started on the trip. He was not as helpful or polite as I'd expect. Another issue is that I was headed to Massachusetts and planned to take the toll road, and the agent in Rhode Island did not know - or at least did not tell me - of the major change in toll collection there. Since it is not possible to pay cash on I 90, I will be receiving a bill for those tolls, plus additions from Avis and possibly fines. When I dropped the car off in Chicago, the office desk had handouts explaining their e-toll fees. But nothing of the sort was offered in RI where it would have actually helped. I will not rent from Avis again, or Budget, which seems to have merged with it.Reviewed Aug 12 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing the lady at the counter would not rent the car to me and would not give me a reason why I will never try to use this company againCons:Get better employeesReviewed Apr 6 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Avoid this companyCons:They have canceled my reservation without my concent.Reviewed Jun 4 2017
review fromkayak
2.8
Cons:Scott, the man at the desk, overcharged me and when I pointed out that it was a 2 day rental, not 3, he absolutely refused to fix the problem. He was horrible, very rude, making me wrong. I had my service dog with me & he yelled at me about her. The man should not be around customers.Reviewed Apr 26 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Staff was slightly apologetic about not having my requested vehicle.Cons:I showed up on the day of pickup, and they didn't have my car?! All they had was mini-vans, when I had reserved a compact/mid-size. I ended up having to get a last minute rental from another company.Reviewed May 21 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
Didn't get Car Reserved but......Pros:Honored rental price/cost from Kayak.....got me in Auto that was satisfactory.Cons:Reservation was cancelled without my notification......Avis couldn't honor Kayak price for SUV/large rental. I was quite upset!Reviewed Aug 22 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:That the place I went to was able to accommodate me with a standard car. When I returned the car to the airport the lady at the desk was able to help me with my issues at no extra charge.Cons:When I arrived I was told that my rental was downtown and so took an hour long bus ride there. When the office opened I was told that my reservation had been cancelled and that they did not have the vehicle type (SUV) that I had rented. The person accommodated me, but then called me on the final day and was telling me if I didn't get the car back I would be charged extra. He then told me he was not going to be able to honor me returning the vehicle to airport as I was originally told I could.Reviewed Jul 11 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I went to pick up the car and was told that I needed a major credit card. I didn’t have one and they said I would need to leave a deposit (which was fine) and they would run my credit. My credit score wasn’t good enough apparently and that was basically the end of the transaction. Stranded.Reviewed Sep 21 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
AVIS OWES ME MONEYCons:I returned the car one full day earlier than expected and I was still charged for the full three days (even though I had only had the car rented for two). I was told I'd get a call about my refund and, to date, haven't heard from Avis -- despite calling them countless times. Never again.Reviewed Sep 8 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Providence?

1 Dorrance Street, Avis car hires

Address

1 Dorrance Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 401 521 7900

Good to know

Most popular location

1 Dorrance Street

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Providence

  • Intermediate car hires from Avis in Providence are around 13% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Providence

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Providence.

  • Avis has 1 car hire location in Providence. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes