Book Avis hire cars in Sanford

Sanford, FL, United States
Sep 27 — Oct 4
Sanford, FL, United States
Mon 27/9
Noon
Mon 4/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Sanford

Overall rating7.1 GoodBased on 33 reviews
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.6
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
1
0
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:They did not have the SUV I had Booked . they only had one car on the lot and it would not fit my needs. The office was very unpleasant looking. dirty .Reviewed Apr 20 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:Well I would like a receipt which I have not received yetReviewed Jan 26 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
really quick through pick-up and drop offPros:The hassle free experieinceReviewed Jun 17 2018
review fromkayak
2.8
Cons:The Rogue we had smelled like smoke and was very beat up. Big dent passenger door, rust knicks, scratches On interiors, parts broken off of seatbelt. Cheap but gross.Reviewed Jun 28 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Pros:Car was new and clean. The local AVIS reprepsentative at 340 FL-16 St Augustine, FL 32084 gets a major kudos on this one - see below for what he helped us avoid.Cons:We had to change the driver on our reservation at the last minute bc my sister-in-law suffered an eye injury at work and wasn't able to see to drive (she's a nurse). Instead of allowing us to change the driver on our original reservation, they made us cancel it - with penalty - and make an entirely new reservation for double the original cost. Very very disappointing, especially treating a front line worker like that during the time of COVID! Then, at the end of the reservation, we needed to return the car to a different location than where we picked it up due to a change in our flight. The local AVIS reprepsentative at 340 FL-16 St Augustine, FL 32084 gets a major kudos on this one. I called his location which was only 4 miles from where we were staying and he said he could accept our return. I called back because I forgot to ask him if there was any fee for returning to a different location than the pick-up location, but he was busy so I got AVIS national. They told me I could return the car there for the low low price of a little over $700!!! WTF .... unbelievable. And the representative tried to convince me that paying over $1000 for a 4-day car rental was somehow a "good deal." Absolutely ridiculous. I called the local rep back and he told me he would waive that fee. Thankfully, he was true to his word and we were only charged the original fee we were quoted. However, still double our original reservation. So I have to say AVIS, I don't see renting from you again in the future.Reviewed May 26 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:staff was nice and helpful.Cons:Drop off was confusing. There were no spots empty to return car to Avis markingsReviewed Sep 22 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:We picked up our rental late in the evening. The following day we went to use the car and found it was infested with small spiders that were coming out of every crevice and all over the seats. The customer service to get the issue corrected was poor. I could either wait around for however much time it would take to get a tow truck and ride with them to get a new vehicle. All the while I was missing the conference I flew in to attend. I decided to drive the infested car myself to save time and get a new one. It was replaced, but I had to wait for the new car to be cleaned. Again all the while missing my conference. I was not compensated for the hassle or time I was not able to utilize the original car that was given.Reviewed Oct 14 2019
review fromkayak
9.2
problem with drop offPros:Pickup onsite was very easy, staff were professional and pleasant.Cons:We arrived very early at the aiport otday ot return our vehicle (Sanford Fl airport) the signage was good to direct us to garage area but signage was very poor in garage. I realize this was very early before 6am so staff may not have been on. I then walked back to the rental car counters to leave my keys and paperwork. No one was at any of the ocutners, I did finally find the drop box but it was on a side wall next ot the offices. A sign in the drop off area with directions and a sign on the counter as to what to do would have been very helpful. Thank you Andre Cushing andre@andrecushing.comReviewed Sep 12 2016
review fromkayak
9.2
Customer Service suckedPros:The van was excellent. Clean and perfect for our needsCons:I called the Customer Service number to inform them that my flight had been delayed. I told them we would be arriving after they closed. The Cust Serv rep told me I had to call the airport location directly. I informed him i did and got you. He had a hard time grasping that concept. I asked him for a number to the Avis desk directly. The number he gave me when i called, rang and rang. No one answered. I called back again. Explained everything again. This agent said that she could put a note on my reservation and that note will alert the Sanford Avis rep to stay until I got there. I was skeptical but took her word for it. You need to do an inventory of the phone numbers you have out there. Also, when i got to the airport Avis counter, the agent wasn't expecting me until the next day. He was actually waiting for another customer. Overall a pretty poor experience with your customer service. I got lucky, everything worked out this time.Reviewed Jan 4 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Staff was helpful and very efficient.Cons:The price was really excessive, specially when there was available inventory.Reviewed May 11 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:It was honestly like jumping through hoops in a circus during the check in process. They wouldn’t accept my credit card. Yes… credit card. Not debit card. And being out of town fresh off a plane with a large group, it was frustrating. I will never use a major car rental company again. I will use Turo because the service I received was much much better and it didn’t matter what payment method you used.Reviewed Jul 8 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Check out was easy and fast.Cons:I waited one hour at the counter and had my mother in a wheelchair. The counter had only one agent. The car I reserved was a Chrysler 300. They gave me an upgrade which was a Jeep but the problem was it was difficult for me to get my mother into it. There were no other cars available.Reviewed Jul 3 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Sanford?

1178 Red Cleveland Boulevard, Avis car hires

Address

1178 Red Cleveland Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday08:00 - 23:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:00
Friday08:00 - 23:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:00
Sunday08:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 407 585 4421

Address

3098 South Orlando Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday08:00 - 23:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:00
Friday08:00 - 23:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 407 302 1399

Good to know

Most popular location

1178 Red Cleveland Boulevard

Most popular car type

Luxury

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Sanford

  • Luxury (Audi A4 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Sanford.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Sanford. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes