Book Avis hire cars in Saint Thomas Island

Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands
Oct 14 — Oct 21
Same drop-off
Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands
Fri 14/10
Noon
Fri 21/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Saint Thomas Island

Overall rating5.6 OkayBased on 67 reviews
Cleanliness
6.5
Comfort
6.6
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.1
Value for money
5.9

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
11
8
10
21
1
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
My car’s flat tire light was on, they told me it was just a sensor and not to worry about it. The car only had 17,000 miles on it but it was all beat up, scratched and dented and the molding was falling off the doors and trunk. On day 2 the battery died and I was stuck trying to find jumper cables for a few hours because the Avis help number was useless and the number for the local rental on the contract was never answered after about 200 tries. I was also given at least 2 other non working numbers and was on the phone with no resolution for hours that day because they could not get me in touch with the “right” people. I was unable to reach them and afraid to use the car so I did not use it for the rest of the week. Terrible car, terrible customer service.Reviewed Jul 31 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
The representative at the airport checking us in. Super helpful and cheerful attitude. I wish I could recall his name.Reviewed Jul 2 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Our pickup was a disaster. We had a 1pm pickup and didn’t get our car until after 5. We checked in and were told they would call when the car is ready and someone would bring it around curbside. We waited 45 minutes and no call. We watched others check in and get their car before us. We asked the Avis representative and they said we had three in front of us. We waited 30 minutes and went back up. They said maybe another 20 minutes. We went back up after 30 minutes and she said to go talk to the manager at Budget next door. We were one of the last people in the airport waiting in our car. Finally they gave us keys and told us to walk up the hill and get our own car. We pulled all of our luggage up the hill and the stairs and got our car. Worst pickup experience I have ever had. Never again.Reviewed Apr 9 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Don’t rent from here. Had to wait 5 hours at the airport for car to be ready. Finally got one that was dirty and had engine warning lights on.Reviewed Mar 27 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
We waited 2 1/2 hours for a car. There were none. It was a fiasco at the airport. This rental was arranged long ago. The car was not cleaned well when we finally received it. We arrived in daylight and got the car at dusk and it was not easy to drive to our destination. A voucher for future use is respectfully requested. This is not the Avis standard that we are accustomed to. Frank Lofaro Reston VAReviewed Mar 21 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
No car was available when we arrived. So rental did NOThappen. TerribleReviewed Feb 25 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Worst experience ever!!! Had a reservation for over 4 months. When we got to the counter the line was not moving and the couple up front were pissed. After standing there with everyone else for 30 mins I finally walked up to the counter to find out why the line hadn’t moved. THEY HAD NO CARS!! At first they acted like they would in about an hour. Finally someone else at the counter informed the line that when cars came available in the next 48 hours they would call. We left and booked a car somewhere else. It’s now been 11 days and still no call from Avis. Will never rent from Avis again because apparently you can’tReviewed Feb 21 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
ONE OF TIRES HAD SLOW LEAK, HAD TO PUT AIR IN TIRE EVERY OTHER DAY, ANOTHER VEHICLE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. VERY INCONVENIENT.Reviewed Feb 2 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Booked our vehicle one month out. At pickup was told it would be one hour wait! Someone else waiting asked us what we were told. He said they were told 45 minutes (45 minutes ago). We cancelled because we would have missed the last car ferry to St John. So stressful… never again!!!!Reviewed Jan 23 2022
review fromkayak
8.0
Renting at St.Thomas airport can always be a problem, regardless of the rental agency. Seems like cars available is always an issue. Though we had made our reservations more than 3 months ago, we still had to wait more than an hour because there were not enough cars available when we arrived. When the car came, it had only 1/8 tank of gas, which caused problems later when the bill was settled as the note about the gas being only 1/8 did not get entered. However, other than that the rental went well, and the agents at the desk were helpful and courteous. When I checked in the car, the agent was very helpful in resolving the gas issue, and the bill was settled properly. We would rent with Avis there again.Reviewed Jan 7 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Filthy windows in the inside made for dangerous driving. Instructions at the counter for pickup were not clear nor was pre inspection of vehicleReviewed Dec 29 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Had to wait over four hours for the car. The rented vehicle was never available, so had to accept a substitute. Entirely awful experience.Reviewed Dec 26 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Saint Thomas Island?

Cyril E. King Apo, Avis car hires

Address

Cyril E. King Apo

Hours

Sunday08:00 - 19:00
Monday08:00 - 19:00
Friday08:00 - 19:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:00
Thursday08:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:00
Wednesday08:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 340 774 1468

Address

6B-F Estate Thomas

Hours

Sunday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00
Monday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Thursday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 340 774 6660

Address

3400 Veterans Drive

Hours

Sunday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Monday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00
Friday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Saturday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00
Wednesday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 340 690 4935

Good to know

Most popular location

Cyril E. King Apo

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Saint Thomas Island

  • Economy car hire from Avis in Saint Thomas Island are around 63% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Saint Thomas Island