Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Saint Thomas Island

Driver's age: 26-65
mié. 1/5
mié. 8/5
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 42%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Saint Thomas Island

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Saint Thomas Island

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating5.0 FairBased on 51 reviews
Cleanliness
6.2
Comfort
6.1
Overall
5.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.8
Value for money
5.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
1
3
3
0
0
15
4.0
This is not an Avis- after waiting 1 hour and 5 minutes for the desk agent to help 2 parties in front of us, she was very clear they are an independent contractor. It took another 30 minutes to do the paperwork- nothing comes off the web except a reservation name- and to call around looking for a car. Then another 20 minutes for it to finally get there. Wasn’t what we reserved and we had to walk 10 minutes to find it. Had small damage all around but nobody was there, so we took video and left. So 2 hours of irritation to start our vacationReviewed Mar 29 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Super convenient. The rental counter was right by baggage claim and the cars were across the street.Cons:No one was at the lot when I checked in. I don't know if that is unusual. My car had a lot of exterior damage that wasn't marked on the paperwork when I checked out so I was concerned that they know it was pre-existing. I took a video of the car before I left the lot and I haven't had any issues.Reviewed May 30 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was awesome. Car was brand new. Washed, clean inside. Easy pick up and drop off!Reviewed May 23 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:NoneCons:Have the car ready when I arrive and have some staff you are not rudeReviewed Apr 25 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy pickup and drop off.Cons:Price?Reviewed Apr 25 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Arrived at 3pm. Received my car at 9pm. Absolutely ridiculous.Cons:Severely disorganized. Worst rental experience I’ve ever had.Reviewed Mar 24 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:No pre inspection of the vehicle. Very unclear instructions on what do to with the car when finished and dropping off. No receipt.Reviewed Mar 2 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Had to wait over 1 hour to receive my carReviewed Feb 4 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:They overbooked the cars and didn’t have a vehicle for us until the next day. Terrible experience and will never boom with Avis again. Made my reservation 8 months in advance and the took more reservations to increase their bottom dollarCons:They should have vehicles available when people get to the airport.Reviewed Jan 24 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Had to wait 80 minutes for car to be ready. Car had cracked tail light, several scrapes, and needed a brake job.Reviewed Jan 11 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Rental desk was easily accessible after entering airport.Cons:Staff was rude, car was in rough shape and had front tires that were bald. The drop off process was confusing. No attendant went over the car during pick up or drop offReviewed Mar 18 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:The car was not available when I arrived. I never rented itReviewed Dec 16 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Saint Thomas Island?

Address

Cyril E. King Apo

Hours

Monday08:00 - 19:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:00
Wednesday08:00 - 19:00
Thursday08:00 - 19:00
Friday08:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:00
Sunday08:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 340 774 1468

Address

6B-F Estate Thomas

Hours

Monday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Thursday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00
Friday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Sunday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 340 774 6660

Address

3400 Veterans Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Wednesday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00
Thursday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Friday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 19:0013:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 340 690 4935

Good to know

Most popular location

Cyril E. King Apo

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Saint Thomas Island

  • Travelers who decide to book Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands, will have access to everything this beautiful tropical island has to offer. The island is chock-full of incredible beaches on all sides, so you will need a rental car to get from one to the next to experience it all. Most people have to get to the island by plane, so you can conveniently pick up your rental car from Avis right when you land on Saint Thomas Island.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, you have plenty of makes and models of vehicles to choose from, so you can find something to fit both your needs and your budget. A minivan or SUV might do the trick if you are traveling with family. For budget travelers, a compact, or economy vehicle will suffice. Those looking to travel in style and elegance can consider renting a luxury vehicle.
  • Located between the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, this tropical paradise is situated a short ferry ride away from other islands like Saint John. If you plan to take your Avis rental car on the ferry across the bay to Saint John, you will need to let the agency know in advance. Taking your vehicle on the ferry may not be allowed for some categories; if it is allowed, you may need to fill out extra paperwork or pay extra fees.
  • The Avis team in Saint Thomas Island is known for their friendly and helpful approach to customer service. When you book Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, you will enjoy support at any time of day or night in case you need it. The Avis staff can also help by giving you local driving tips and recommendations for things to do and see during your stay in Saint Thomas Island.
  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in Saint Thomas Island are around 1% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Saint Thomas Island

  • Where is the best place to pick up Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands?

    Avis's only pick-up location in Saint Thomas Island is at the Cyril E. King Airport (STT), the only airport in Saint Thomas. You will be traveling to Saint Thomas Island by plane anyway, so this is a great location to pick up your rental car immediately and get to your final destination. The rental car counters at this airport are located directly on-site in the arrivals area near the baggage claim.

  • Why should I book Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands?

    Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island has been rated the 5th best rental car pick-up/drop-off location in the world, so you can be sure that you will enjoy quick and professional service. The entire fleet is modern, so you can be sure that you will be secure and comfortable in your rental car. Avis in Saint Thomas Island also participates in the Avis Preferred program, so if you are a member of this rewards program, you can earn points towards free rental days.

  • Where are some good places I can park my Avis car rental in Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands?

    As the population of Saint Thomas Island is small, you will almost always be able to find parking for your rental car. The Fort Christian paid lot is near the waterfront and is quite popular. You can also utilize the USVIParking lot, the Popular Parking Garage, or the Student Residential Parking Lot. Most resorts and hotels also offer free parking to guests on the premises, so you don’t have to worry about paying for overnight parking, so check with your chosen accommodation in advance. 

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Saint Thomas Island?

    Intermediate (Nissan Kicks or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Saint Thomas Island.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Saint Thomas Island?

    Avis has 3 hire locations in Saint Thomas Island. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Cyril E King airport (STT)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Cyril E King airport (STT)?

    Yes