Book Avis hire cars in Grand Rapids

Grand Rapids, MI, United States
Aug 5 — Aug 12
Grand Rapids, MI, United States
Thu 5/8
Noon
Thu 12/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Grand Rapids

Overall rating6.2 GoodBased on 23 reviews
Cleanliness
6.2
Comfort
6.2
Overall
6.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.2
Value for money
6.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
9
4
3
7
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Easy drop-off at 3amPros:I just parked the car, noted the mileage and fuel, and dropped the keys in the slot. What could be easier?Reviewed Aug 2 2018
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:I reserved a premium vehicle and when I got to the counter they were out of premium vehicle and gave me a vehicle that was below standards So to be better had the vehicle reserved for the customersReviewed Feb 5 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:I didn’t like anything about Avis they over charged me acting like they didn’t want to give me money back then got mad and hung up the phone on meCons:EverythingReviewed Dec 31 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:A complete joke, I was unable to get my vehicle because I was LIED TO over the phone. I verified over the phone that I would be able to pick up the bricks despite being under 25, where I was reassured I could still get it due to waived rules because of covid. Because of this I did not get my vehicle and was late for the next bout of traveling for my vacation. Absolutely no remorse from employees at store as well. Will NEVER recommend.Cons:Don’t LIE OVER THE PHONE TO DRAW CUSTOMERS IN.Reviewed Jul 25 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:RateReviewed Sep 5 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Car was clean, drop off was normalCons:I got upsold into a GMC Terrain by the guy at the desk... and it’s got a ridiculous gear shift. I should have stuck with what I ordered.Reviewed Jul 27 2019
review fromkayak
9.6
Beautiful carPros:Easy pick up and drop off. Beautiful car for intermediate... a Chevy Malibu. Ran great, very clean and in great shape.Reviewed Dec 24 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
HORRIBLE experienceCons:My reservation had been cancelled twice and I had to rent a car on the spot for higher price. Then after i left someone called me to tell me the car is no longer available. It was a horrible experience because your system clearly is broken. Never renting from Avis again.Reviewed Mar 28 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:SUV + heated up in 3 minutes:)Cons:No N E W S directions on carReviewed Jan 18 2016
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:Staff was not very helpful in getting me taken care of for the inconvenienceCons:Gave me a clean car or accommodated me for not having the size car I reserved cause you guys were out of cars except the dirty one I received with animal hair all in it and I’m allergic to animals so they charged me for a upgrade which wasn’t my faultReviewed Jul 20 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:I arrived before the rental center opened to pick up my vehicle, which was reserved several days ahead of time. I was to pick up at the 9 am opening. I was told by the counter person my vehicle was not there yet, and I would need to wait. She was very nice, to be clear. Then, after waiting for 20 minutes, I was told by the same woman that my car (a special 12-passenger van needed that day for a family trip) could not be found, and no one at any Avis ops center could help, and/or did not return her calls or texts. I continued to wait while she made calls as line volume permitted. She finally learned that the previous renter had not returned the vehicle and I would have to wait until at least 11. I asked for a substitution and got little help, so I walked down the street to Enterprise and they had the vehicle I was looking for, with a price match. After a 90 minute wait that meant missing other pickup appointments and delaying my family’s trip for nearly two hours, I was on my way - with a van from a competitor. Thanks for nothing, Avis. I will be going down the street to Enterprise from now on.Cons:Pretty much everything.Reviewed Aug 7 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:They had no cars ready when we arrived .Even though we reserved a car for an earlier pick-up time.There were 8 other customers with the same problem waiting ahead of us.Reviewed Aug 18 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Grand Rapids?

5500 44th Street Southeast - Unit 9, Avis car hires

Address

5500 44th Street Southeast - Unit 9

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 616 233 6330

Address

2640 Alpine Avenue Northwest

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday09:00 - 17:00
Thursday09:00 - 17:00
Friday09:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 616 447 7739

Address

2740 28th Street Southeast

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday09:00 - 17:00
Thursday09:00 - 17:00
Friday09:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 616 940 4593

Good to know

Most popular location

5500 44th Street Southeast - Unit 9

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Grand Rapids

  • Avis has 3 car hire locations in Grand Rapids. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes