Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Durham

Driver's age: 26-65
Mon 22/7
Mon 29/7
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Durham

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Durham

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating7.9 GoodBased on 16 reviews
Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
8.3
Overall
7.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
8.1
Value for money
7.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
1
2
0
0
0
0
2
8.0
Drop off in Charlotte Airport was awful. Attendants openly hostile and refusing to answer questions. Durham attendant was great.Reviewed Oct 12 2022
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:It was easy.Cons:Being able to get Satellite Radio.Reviewed Apr 8 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy pick up and drop offCons:NothingReviewed Jan 1 2021
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Staff was friendly.Cons:Staff should have considered the delays I incurred in returning the car because of multiple protests in Virginia and NYC, as well as a curfew, all of which were out of my control.Reviewed Jun 8 2020
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:The staff were excellent and did a fine job. Avis was wonderful. The Nissan Versa I rented ran great. The only issue was that the seat was uncomfortable (6-hour drive).Cons:The vehicle (Nissan Versa) was scratched in several places with minor dents apparent. It didn't bother me and was well documented. I am very pleased with Avis and plan on using them again.Reviewed Sep 12 2019
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Everything about the car was great.Cons:Customer service was rude. When they saw we had kids they said, "Be sure you clean the car before you return the car.".Reviewed Sep 14 2017
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Great rental price- comfortable vehicle.Cons:I made reservation online for a SUV that was accepted and available but when I got to the location the manager stated that they didn't have any SUV available on site, yet when I check the parking lot their were several. I was truly upset and told him that it was poor business practice and very deceptive. I also stated that I had called the reservation office before I came to verify and they said one was available. He stated to come back in later and he would have one. (mind you my meeting had to be delayed because of this/and I was out of town) after coming back he did have one but the day was (that I had paid for was half way over (after 3:00) before one was given. I paid for 2 days and really only enjoyed 1 day of usage. He didn't apologize or offer a discount of any sort (Poor Management INDEED)!!!! This location /staff needs "customer service" training.Reviewed Sep 11 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Time to use a better companyCons:This was also the second and at a different location that the employee was taking a personal call and made customers wait 30 min. It is time to use a different company.Reviewed Oct 13 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Durham?

Address

1720 Guess Rd Ste 60

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 919 286 0173

Good to know

Most popular location

1720 Guess Rd Ste 60

Most popular car type

Full-size

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Durham

  • Something to think carefully about when you book Avis car rentals in Durham is the type of car you will want based on your trip needs. Standard or full-size cars offer more space and comfort for passengers. They are a good choice for small families or groups of friends. For larger families or groups, minivans provide ample space and seating for everyone. They are comfortable for longer journeys and can accommodate plenty of luggage. If you're eco-conscious or want to save on fuel costs, look for hybrid or electric car rental options in Durham.
  • Avis Preferred, the loyalty program offered by Avis, provides a range of benefits for those who book Avis car rentals in Durham. Members gain access to an exclusive service counter, leading to shorter wait times and priority service, making it particularly advantageous during busy travel seasons. Avis Preferred members accrue points for each qualifying rental, which can be exchanged for free rental days. The more you rent with Avis, the more points you can accumulate, leading to even more rewards.
  • For those considering the option to book Avis car rentals in Durham, it's important to be aware of the company's cancellation policy. In the case of a cancellation, the refund will be processed within approximately seven business days and credited to the same card used for the prepayment. It's worth noting that a processing fee is applicable if you choose to cancel a prepaid reservation before the scheduled rental date. If you return the vehicle ahead of schedule, there won't be a refund provided for the unused portion of the payment.
  • When planning to book Avis car rentals in Durham, it's good to know that Avis offers a range of additional services for your rental. Avis provides GPS navigation devices to assist with navigation in unfamiliar areas. Child car seats suitable for different age groups are also available to ensure the safety and comfort of your young passengers. Avis typically provides various fuel service options, including the choice to prepay for a full tank or return the car without refueling.
  • Full-size car hire from Avis in Durham are around 18% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Durham

  • Where can I find Avis locations in Durham?

    Avis has a very convenient location just to the north of the center of Durham at 1720 Guess Rd Ste 60. This location is quite close to both Interstate 85 and Interstate 885, so it is very easy to get here from practically anywhere in the Durham area. Of course, if you are arriving on an airline flight to this area, you will probably be landing at the Raleigh-Durham Airport (RDU), and Avis offers the convenience of having a rental location at this airport.

  • What are some reasons to choose Avis in Durham?

    Avis maintains its vehicles to a high standard, ensuring a safe and reliable rental experience. Avis provides competitive rates in the Durham market and special offers, helping you find affordable rental options for your trip. Avis staff at Durham locations are knowledgeable about the area and can provide information and recommendations for your stay. This is a great way to enhance your time in the Durham area.

  • Where can I go to park my rental car in Durham?

    Parking options for your rental car include on-street parking, city-operated parking garages, private parking lots, and accommodations such as hotels. On-street parking is available in downtown areas, typically costing around $2.50 per hour. City parking garages offer competitive rates, generally in the same hourly range. Private lots around popular destinations often charge around $1 to $3 per hour. Some hotels provide complimentary parking for guests. Special event parking lots may have flat rates, especially near venues like the Durham Bulls Athletic Park or Duke University. The Durham Performing Arts Center (DPAC) offers event-specific parking, typically ranging from $6 to $15.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Durham?

    Full-size (Ford Mustang Convertible or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Durham.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Durham?

    Avis has 1 hire location in Durham. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Raleigh-Durham airport (RDU)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Raleigh-Durham airport (RDU)?

    No (according to our data)