Book Avis hire cars in Des Moines

Des Moines, IA, United States
Oct 14 — Oct 21
Same drop-off
Des Moines, IA, United States
Fri 14/10
Noon
Fri 21/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Des Moines

Overall rating7.2 GoodBased on 19 reviews
Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
7.7
Overall
7.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.1
Value for money
7.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
7
0
1
3
1
Find reviews that mention:
8.0
The pick up and drop off was simple. The car looked like it had been rear ended at some point. The windows were pretty dirty, However the interior was clean. I got a larger car than I reserved so I was happy overall.Reviewed Sep 27 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The customer service was not good. Was given a hard time and was not helpful. Wasn’t able to pick up car and had to rent a car with another company.Reviewed Mar 15 2022
review fromkayak
1.9
They did not rent us a car. We booked three months in advance. The lady at the desk was extremely rude and unhelpful. All of our plans depended on having a one way rental. They did not honor it. It ruined our trip. I am writing to their corporate office and the BBB. I’m furious.Reviewed Aug 20 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
The car got great mileage and had no mechanical problems. There was a dog smell in the back but bought some enzyme odor remover and treated it several times to eliminate the smell. Thank you for making the drive a great one.Reviewed Aug 5 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:The woman at the counter was very sweet, especially when I was extremely irritated. I feel bad that she has to deal with the ridiculous “policies”. She really was kind, thank you!Cons:Couldn’t pick up my rental because my license has my middle name and my card doesn’t. Clerk wouldn’t accept payment that didn’t EXACTLY match the card, and of course debit cards are not an option. I don’t care how much the “hold” is especially when I have thousands in checking Thanks Avis for leaving me strandedReviewed Jul 5 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The service was good. I really liked the car, clean and nearly new. Good experience and better rates than other rental companies.Cons:Tried to call the rental location several times and never got someone to answer. Customer service these days is the way to stay ahead of the rest.Reviewed Apr 26 2021
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:Very friendly staff and made the experience interesting.Cons:System issues meant a longer wait timeReviewed Aug 26 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
WonderfulPros:Great price, nice big car, great customer serviceCons:NY plates which made me stand out when I was driving. Prefer to have local plates next time.Reviewed Nov 2 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Customer service was excellent!Pros:I received a new vehicle and the service provided was excellent. My flight was delayed and I arrived to the airport four hours later than pickup selected time, but had no problem.Reviewed Jun 25 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Bad customer serviceCons:Our pickup lady decided to add $45 to our rental fee by adding on some optional insurance that she did not ask if we would like to add. She never asked up if we would like to add those options. She failed to get any initials from us on the lines that asked for my initials when agreeing to add those insurance optionsReviewed Mar 28 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The pick up and drop off was easy and fast.Reviewed Nov 11 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
totally unsatisfiedCons:mechanical issues...3rd rental in a row.... customer srvc also denied backdating my wizard points to my preferred membership and was rude on the phone and hung up on my face!!!Reviewed Oct 29 2015
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Des Moines?

5800 Fleur Drive, Avis car hires

Address

5800 Fleur Drive

Hours

Tuesday08:00 - 23:30
Saturday08:00 - 23:30
Friday08:00 - 23:30
Thursday08:00 - 23:30
Monday08:00 - 23:30
Wednesday08:00 - 23:30
Sunday08:00 - 23:30

Phone

+1 515 256 5623

Good to know

Most popular location

5800 Fleur Drive

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Des Moines

  • Compact car hire from Avis in Des Moines are around 13% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Des Moines