Book Avis hire cars in Chicago

Chicago, IL, United States
Sep 26 — Oct 3
Chicago, IL, United States
Sun 26/9
Noon
Sun 3/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Chicago

Overall rating6.0 GoodBased on 101 reviews
Cleanliness
6.6
Comfort
6.7
Overall
5.6
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.6
Value for money
5.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
12
8
7
11
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Pros:I’m probably never going to use another service except for you guys because of how smooth everything was!Cons:N/A, I’m thoroughly impressedReviewed Dec 12 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Very poor “preferred” collectionPros:Good transfers to airport, avios pointsCons:Paperwork was just thrown at me. No customer service. GPS was set to avoid all highways and tolls So 1.5 hour journey ended up taking 3.5 hours Car was filthy inside and out.Reviewed Jan 21 2018
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Very dirty car on pick-up, sticky dirt on windshield and insideReviewed Jul 3 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:There was a used mask in the center console. During a nationwide pandemic. Unacceptable.Reviewed Jul 18 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Desk manager at pickup was good.Cons:Dropoff clerk tried to slide in $15.99 fuel charge when the tank was full.Reviewed Jul 22 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy, clean, friendly, efficient. Thanks!!!!Cons:I thought a bit expensive but you may not be able to help that.Reviewed Aug 16 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Staff was helpful. Pickup/drop off was easyCons:Car was dirty and smelled like cigarettesReviewed Dec 28 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Drop off location was wrong on my paperwork from avis. After driving around looking for a place that didn't exist I called avis and directed me to drop the car at another location, and then bring keys to another location. Was going to be late after this as we had to walk to the key drop off. Asked them to wait as we'd be 10 minutes late. They said no problem. No one there to accept keys. Called the national number and was told I have to now walk back to the car and take it to another location. Couldn't do that, already late for a flight. Avis pretty much said tough luck. I asked if I could lock the keys in the glove box because I had to get going. Avis said no and that I would be charged additional fees. Whatever. It's just money, but avis customer service is an abomination.Reviewed Oct 2 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:No the staff was rude the lady tried to get me to down grade for the same price and when I told her I chose one of the most expensive categories she got upset and said we’ll wait 45 mins till a car is readyCons:They charged hidden fees that weren’t really put out there.Reviewed Feb 17 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Pickup was confusing as avis had no one at the desks, ghost town. Drop off was simple.Cons:Vehicle had broken glass under the seats and on floor mats at pickup, must've had broken windows previously?? 6 hour drive sounded like driving with the windows open, very loud and interior was not clean even though avis put a sticker on the dash starting vehicle was. Clean/sanitize from top to bottom....Reviewed Feb 22 2021
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:Car was ok.Cons:Pickup was a disaster! There were too many cars in the garage so we could not get to our car. The garage staff sent me back upstairs to tell the clerks but one clerk rudely sent me back downstairs. The upstairs clerk & garage staff were arguing and we had to wait a long time to get the car out and had to take a different car than what we reserved. The garage staff were trying to be helpful but the upstairs clerks were clueless. They had cameras so could clearly see there was no way to get the cars out but ignored the situation. So even though we allowed extra time we were late for our sons college tour & interview which is unacceptable in this highly selective college process. Will never use Avis again and expect a refund for this unacceptable treatment & inefficiencyReviewed Apr 18 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Car was great, Rental office great.Cons:As I was leaving the check oil and check tire light was on I ask the gentleman as I was leaving about it he said they just probably forgot to reset. It was late so I trusted and left. The next morning heading to my daughters hockey game, the car will not start. Could not detect key. I finally called Uber and continued to try to start actually got started before he got there so we drive to game. I had an hour before it started so I called Avis. The First Lady told me I could either go to wal mart to fix or drive 60 miles both ways to get a new car.... I said not an option. She put me on hold for forever I finally hung up and called back a nicer gentleman found one closer 20 minutes. I drove over they didn’t have cars available. By this time my head is about to spin off. So I drove back to game left my car running watched game and then proceeded to call again which I had to then drove to airport another 20 minutes away and get a new car. They were nice and helped me out so the service is lost somewhere in between. I will never use Avis again.Reviewed Jul 21 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Chicago?

10255 West Zemke Blvd, Avis car hires

Address

10255 West Zemke Blvd

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 773 825 4600

Address

5150 West 55th Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 773 948 7001

Address

214 North Clark Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 15:30
Tuesday08:00 - 15:30
Wednesday08:00 - 15:30
Thursday08:00 - 15:30
Friday08:00 - 15:30
Saturday08:00 - 15:30
Sunday08:00 - 15:30

Phone

+1 312 782 6825

Address

8181 South Cicero Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 15:30
Tuesday08:00 - 15:30
Wednesday08:00 - 15:30
Thursday08:00 - 15:30
Friday08:00 - 15:30
Saturday08:00 - 15:30
Sunday08:00 - 15:30

Phone

+1 708 424 1285

Address

1830 S Wabash Ave

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 312 225 0788

Address

335a South Franklin St

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 708 392 6979

Address

933 W North Avenue, Suite 933

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:30
Tuesday07:30 - 17:30
Wednesday07:30 - 17:30
Thursday07:30 - 17:30
Friday07:30 - 17:30
Saturday08:00 - 15:30
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 312 219 6151

Address

Patton Drive Building 825

Address

3721 North Broadway Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:30
Tuesday07:30 - 17:30
Wednesday07:30 - 17:30
Thursday07:30 - 17:30
Friday07:30 - 17:30
Saturday08:00 - 15:30
Sunday08:00 - 15:30

Phone

+1 773 528 6400

Address

3255 West Fullerton Avenue

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:30
Tuesday07:30 - 17:30
Wednesday07:30 - 17:30
Thursday07:30 - 17:30
Friday07:30 - 17:30
Saturday08:00 - 15:30
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 773 252 4325

Address

455 North Park Drive

Hours

Monday09:00 - 13:00
Tuesday09:00 - 13:00
Wednesday09:00 - 13:00
Thursday09:00 - 13:00
Friday09:00 - 13:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 312 782 6825

Good to know

Most popular location

10255 West Zemke Blvd

Most popular car type

Supplier choice

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Chicago

  • Supplier choice car hires from Avis in Chicago are around 68% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Chicago

  • Supplier choice (Class Special Car or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Chicago.

  • Avis has 11 car hire locations in Chicago. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes