Book Avis hire cars in Portland

Portland, ME, United States
Oct 3 — Oct 10
Same drop-off
Portland, ME, United States
Mon 3/10
Noon
Mon 10/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Portland

Overall rating8.1 ExcellentBased on 50 reviews
Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
8.3
Overall
8.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.9
Value for money
7.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
19
1
2
4
1
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Wait time at the airport was an hour. However, the people behind the desk were friendly and courteousReviewed Aug 17 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
You shouldn’t need a credit card to hire out a car. The website was misleading and a false advertisement as it did not make it aware this was necessary. In other countries a debit card would sufficeReviewed Aug 5 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Service was excellent. Car was mislabeled and had to go in to clarify the black Escape I was supposed to get turned out to be a white Explorer. Service representative was great. Very professional and personable. Service man in the garage was great was helpful too when trying to figure the car variances. Car had Fla plates and was scratched on the rear bumper. Had remnants of dog hair, anf food especially behind the drivers seat. I had the seat all the way forward so it was very visible in the back seat. Steering wheel was sticky. Car ran great though.Reviewed Nov 12 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
The staff person who handled the rental in Portland was truly friendly and efficient and made the whole process a delight, really. And the free upgrade was also profoundly appreciated. I wish I could have said so in person.Reviewed Oct 26 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
We were told, and I even called the day before to double check what the procedure for dropping the car off after hours and was told " just drop the key in the box at the counter and we will take care of everything". We after we rented another car in another city we found out we had to fill out this form and put that around the key and then drop it in the box. When we got the bill for the first car they added $129 fuel cost to our bill. At the time we dropped off the car we didn't know about the form to fill out so we were changed for an entire tank of gas(it was full). After a phone call and some 15 minutes on the phone it was resolved but this all could have been avoided if the rep on the phone gave us the correct procedure for dropping off the car.Reviewed Oct 24 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
I will use the Kayak site again since it locked me in to a sure deal!Reviewed Oct 18 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Avis rental pick up and drop off is at the terminal with a very easy process. The staff is courteous, friendly and very professional. The Avis desk serves both Avis and Budget. My car was clean and easy to get in and out. I recommend Avis car rental at Portland Jetport in Maine. ThanksReviewed Oct 7 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Nice car! Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Good price ( I reserved early) and easy drop-offReviewed Sep 29 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pricing is outragous. I didn't see a 'shortage' that should have resulted in the spike. The car also smelled like pot. But the process of retrieving and dropping off was very easy and the staff was courteous.Reviewed Aug 7 2021
review fromkayak
7.9
The vehicle wasn’t cleaned. You could tell it was quickly vacuumed but wasn’t washed on the inside or outside at all. Therefore there wasn’t any way they even wiped it down for COVID cleaning!! The check-in agent was friendly and professional and fast and the drop-off process was quick as well.Reviewed Jul 27 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
We waited over 10 mins before being asked if we were in line for budget or avis. The agent was very kind and informative. Unfortunately there was an old PPE facemask that someone left in the visor. It fell into my wife’s lap while we were driving. Not sure how this happens in the middle of a pandemic. It was disgusting.Reviewed Jul 20 2021
review fromkayak
1.9
Avis in Portland Maine was way too expensive, understaffed -leading to a 2-hr wait at check-in and then did not have the vehicle type I had reserved. I cancelled and went with another agency at the same location.Reviewed Jul 14 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Portland?

1001 Westbrook Street, Avis car hires

Address

1001 Westbrook Street

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:59
Wednesday06:00 - 23:59
Sunday06:00 - 23:59
Thursday06:00 - 23:59
Tuesday06:00 - 23:59
Saturday06:00 - 23:59
Friday06:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 207 874 7500

Good to know

Most popular location

1001 Westbrook Street

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Portland