Book Avis hire cars in Guatemala City

Guatemala City, Guatemala
Sep 27 — Oct 4
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Mon 27/9
Noon
Mon 4/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Guatemala City

Overall rating4.4 OkayBased on 48 reviews
Cleanliness
5.5
Comfort
5.0
Overall
4.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
3.9
Value for money
3.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
1
1
2
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.0
This is not an airport pick up.Cons:I selected picking up the car at the GUA airport but the rental ended up being somewhere else entirely. I got to the counter at the airport and they told me that I had to pay an extra $5 a day or I had to go somewhere else to pick it up. Not knowing addresses in Guatemala, I had to get an uber just to get to the pick up place. And then I had to carry around 5 suitcases through the streets because the address was wrong. If I select the pick up at the airport, why is Kayak even showing this option?Reviewed Dec 29 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Horrible servicePros:The car was okCons:35 minutes to check the car and all the scratches it had. But never the tires. $1000 deposit. Had to put premium gas. Then when I returned the car they found what they say was a tiny bump on the right rear tire and charged me $108 USD for it. They didn't release my deposit until I call them directly 3 days later. A call that cost me $36. Also was told the tire would be inspected by a professional the next day and then it would be determined if I pay or not. But I was still at the airport that evening when I got the receipt for the tire. So it was never inspected. Like I said I had to call directly because it is a franchise and they just gave me the round around. I will never rent with AVIS again.Reviewed Nov 8 2018
review fromkayak
5.2
Loads of hidden chargesPros:The car was clean and drove well.Cons:The car was advertised at $10 dollars a day through kayak so we booked it. When we arrived they told us it was $60 dollars a day. Kayak apparently just give a guide price. We also had insurance through insurance for car hire, they told us they didn't accept this so we had to buy their insurance. There was also a $50 'miscellaneous charge' which when we queried it they immediately removed. We were forced to go with them as there was no other option for us at the time but would not us kayak or Avis again.Reviewed Feb 13 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:The car was ok. tires a little run down. the staff checked in ok.Cons:We purchased full collision damage waiver. When actual damage occurred on the car, we drove to avis the same day. told them about the issue and returned the car actually a day early. We were told that the insurance was not going to cover the damage with some week excuse (in fact that we had to immediately inform avis of the accident). There is no good cellular in Guatemala, so we could not call and instead drove to avis immediately. The accident did not involve any other car. ( in fact the roads are narrow and there was no possibility to hang out where we damaged the car (rocks at the side of the road). The car's functionality was not impaired at all. We were told to come back the next day (where we actually took off to return to the US), after the local manager had spoken to his supervisor. We returned the next morning, ready to take the flight. At that point the manager called his supervisor and customer service representative and then told us that the CDW would not cover because we had not immediately called (which was impossible). Needless to say, we will fight line of argumentation. It is just very frustrating to have purchased this kind of "peace of mind" insurance only to find out that the contract seems to be illusory. Will definitely not rent from avis again and very upset about their gamble.Reviewed May 13 2021
review fromkayak
3.2
Got charged an 286 dollars extraPros:The checkout process was fast but the return wasn't.Cons:The price I was quoted was not what I ended up paying. They had a few hidden charges and I ended paying more than double for the car. When I returned it I got charged almost 300 dollars for what they are claiming were a few scratches. They told me the car needed to be fully polished. I will never rent from this company again.Reviewed Jan 7 2017
review fromkayak
5.6
Poor choice of cars provided for rental in the couPros:the Car was the size offeredCons:very limited choice of vehicles, when I picked up my vehicle the one issued to me was the only one of it's size. the vehicle is provided with low profile tires and the country roads are in very bad shape, there is no way to avoid damaging tires and rims other than not to use the car. the car is also issued with body damage and when returned you have to rely in the memory of the rental clerk to decide if the damage matched his inspection. my rental doubled in cost due to a damaged tire, which was only superficial damage caused by a pothole.Reviewed Jun 20 2016
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:The best experience renting a car in Latin America I have ever had.Reviewed Oct 19 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:You charged me $150 for an insurance policy that didn't work in the country of question. Also didn't mention that I would have to pay a $1000 deposit for the vehicle. These things combined sunk the possibility of renting a car so I never picked it up and refunded my insurance purchase. What a shitty experience.Reviewed Feb 12 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:One of the only car rental agencies at the GUA AirportCons:Not charge you for insurance when you already have a third party insurer.Reviewed Jul 11 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:I have to pay the insurance when my CC have full coverage, they said that they do not trust the CC insurance because they dont pay...Reviewed Jul 12 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Truck was in very poor and dangerous mechanical condition. Engine kept going dead in heavy downtown traffic. Almost had several accidents. The attendants were very nice. I don’t think they knew the condition of the truck! The truck needs to be taken out of service immediately unto it is repaired!!!Reviewed Mar 14 2020
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:Friendly staffCons:Variety of trucksReviewed Aug 31 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Guatemala City?

Aeropuerto Intl Zona 13, Avis car hires

Address

Aeropuerto Intl Zona 13

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:59
Thursday05:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:59
Saturday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - Invalid date
Sunday05:00 - 23:59

Phone

+502 2324 9000

Address

7 Avenida A 3-44, Zona 9

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 18:00
Sunday07:00 - 18:00

Phone

+502 2324 9000

Address

1 Avenida 12-77 - Zona 10

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+502 2331 5619

Good to know

Most popular location

Aeropuerto Intl Zona 13

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Guatemala City

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Guatemala City are around 54% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Guatemala City

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Guatemala City.

  • Avis has 3 car hire locations in Guatemala City. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes