Book Avis hire cars in Cape Town

Cape Town, South Africa
Sep 29 — Oct 6
Cape Town, South Africa
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in Cape Town

R278/dayEconomy
R596/dayCompact
R284/dayIntermediate
R424/dayPeople carrier
R235/dayMini
R726/dayPremium
R804/dayPassenger van
R356/daySupplier choice
R421/dayCompact SUV
R526/dayIntermediate SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Cape Town

Overall rating7.1 GoodBased on 41 reviews
Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
1
1
0
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
7.2
Good car, long queue's, GPS didn't workPros:Good clean car for a good price. Drop off was a smooth and quick process.Cons:Queued for almost an hour to collect a pre booked car. I paid extra to rent a sat nav which didn't work and wouldn't pick up a GPS signal.Reviewed Dec 11 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Bad initial experience. The car was supposed to carry 5 people and carry 2 suitcases. It was 1.1 litre inderpowered (hyundai?) and barely suitable. The car battery was dead and car hsd benn previously jump started. Needed replacement vehicle. Lost 2days of holiday as a result but new car excllentCons:Avis Strand office at Somersetwest responded excellently in providing replacement car but CT airport should never have allowed the first substandard car to have been issued.Reviewed Mar 21 2019
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Efficient at Durbanville. Drop off simple. No charge for uprade.Cons:No upgrade available at Capetown. Sent to Durbanville where no car was available. Very helpful staff there who arranged an upgrade at airport. Very efficient thereafter.Reviewed Oct 28 2015
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Good pick up to take us by golf cart into the office from arrivals. Everything ready, good service,no complaintsReviewed Mar 10 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Avis Cape Town is too focused on very minor scratches--causes worryPros:I rented a minivan/people carrier. It was a low-end model that was small compared to the category rented, but was good value-for-money. I would rather save money than have a "luxury" model minivan with extra bells and whistles. The car fit 7 people (only with no luggage) or 5 people with luggage. Would have been better if the advertisement made that clear, because it said 7 passengers and 4 pieces of luggage, but in truth it's EITHER 5 passengers + 4 pieces of luggage OR 7 passengers and no luggage.Cons:When I picked up the car, Avis asked me to note every scratch on the car. This made me nervous, because I cannot control if someone parks next to me and opens their door into the car making a small scratch. Luckily, during our 12-day rental this did not happen. But when I returned the car, Avis was very, very focused on every little tiny scratch again, and they made me feel like they might charge me for scratches, even if I did not make them. They should allow for normal small scratches without making the customer feel threatened.Reviewed Apr 12 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Staff at avis was really friendly. Car they gave me has less milage on it.Cons:When car was handed over to me was not clean and had no floor mats inside.Reviewed May 28 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
very poor experience - rude employees, old and dirty carPros:location - close to my hotel in cape townCons:price was different than advertised employees were rude car was old, manual gear (automatic is extra charge), and dirty - and I didn't choose the lowest class of cars..Reviewed Jan 21 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Smooth sailingPros:I liked walking into a busy office with a long line and walking right up to the preferred customer desk. It was an amazing feeling. Checkin was quick and easy, our car ran smoothly on a long road trip. When we returned it we didn't have to even go inside. We were met outside right away. Great experience.Cons:Our car had an awkward luggage cover up that we were constantly battling. A quirk of the Toyota Avanza I suppose.Reviewed Mar 6 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Ease of reservation, cleanliness of car.Cons:I returned the car two days early, expecting a reduction in price. Instead, AFTER they had closed the contract, I was informed that the price would be MORE than what they had initially quoted, despite the fact that the car was returned early, The reason given was that the consultant "called International Sales and because you brought the car back earlier your rate defaulted as your rate was a minimum of 14 days" (per email response to my query). Sigh.Reviewed Aug 31 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Gas mileage; Airport location easy drop-offCons:Wait at car pick-up Dinky car felt like a toy car on the highwayReviewed Aug 26 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
The store was so poorly run, I left without a carPros:The person who was helping me was nice. But his company is dishonest and the computers in the offices didn't work.Reviewed Dec 23 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Service was great. Insurance a little hiReviewed Jan 27 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Cape Town?

Cape Town International Apt, Avis car hires

Address

Cape Town International Apt

Hours

Monday06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday06:00 - 22:00
Thursday06:00 - 22:00
Friday06:00 - 22:00
Saturday06:00 - 22:00
Sunday06:00 - 22:00

Phone

+27 21 927 8800

Address

46 Strand Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 424 1177

Address

367 Main Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 797 4581

Address

15 Tower Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 927 3001

Good to know

Most popular location

Cape Town International Apt

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

R337/day

Good deal

R234/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Cape Town

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in Cape Town for R234 or less
  • Book your car hire from Cape Town in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy car hires from Avis in Cape Town are around -9% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Cape Town

  • On average a car hire from Avis in Cape Town costs R337 per day.

  • Economy (Volkswagen Polo or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Cape Town.

  • Avis has 4 car hire locations in Cape Town. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes