Book Avis hire cars in San Jose

San Jose, CA, United States
Dec 16 — Dec 23
Same drop-off
San Jose, CA, United States
Thu 16/12
Noon
Thu 23/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Jose

Overall rating7.4 GoodBased on 54 reviews
Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
7.5
Overall
7.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.2
Value for money
7.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
13
6
3
5
0
Find reviews that mention:
8.4
Cons:The reservation was messed up on line so Avis had me picking up and returning in San Jose even though my on line request showed return to MRY ( Monterey). When I tried to correct by phone I was disconnected or hung up on 4 times, ultimately reached some foreign person and was told there was nothing to be done except pay an unreasonable fee to rent at SJC airport. The office I went to on Tully Road in South San Jose by bus, light rail and another bus was excellent. The Avis employee was good. Avis and their out of country phone support is a typical big corporate looser. JAEReviewed Oct 19 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Lowest price is not always the lowestPros:price was very cheap, but location was so far from airport it cost more than taking an UberCons:location, readiness of car, customer supportReviewed May 5 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Rented from San Jose airport but actually was recorded as one mile away at a hotel pickupReviewed Mar 12 2020
review fromkayak
7.2
A one-hour pickup is just too longCons:The line was about 5 deep with two agents and it still took an hour to get the car.Reviewed Jul 5 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very friendly and niceReviewed Jul 30 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:Had to pick up the car at a remote locationReviewed Jun 9 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Rude staff and charges one way feePros:Did not like anythingCons:The associate was rude and acted like it was my fault that I was being charges one way fee. Despite of the fact that I made a call before I went to return the car and that I was provided a case number, he refused to acknowledge it. He LITERELLY threw the car key and the papers with all the information at me saying that he will not close up the contract until I pay the amount I was required. I was promised a refund in 2 days. That was on 12th of May, no refund, blocked international bank account, daily overdraft fees and terrible customer service since then. Rented the car with Avis now, and never again. If I don't see my refund soon, lawsuit is the last option.Reviewed May 22 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Not as crowded as rental car services at San Jose Airport.Cons:Not much selection to choose from.Reviewed Dec 28 2016
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Staff was great, price was goodReviewed Jul 8 2019
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Car had less than 1000 miles on it and has lots of exterior damage. Interior STUNK of cigarettes!!Reviewed Jan 21 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Don't make reservations if you don't have carsReviewed Sep 13 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Terrible Avis experiencePros:NothingCons:Price ended up being more than double the quoted rate, was given a hatchback after specifically requesting a car with a trunk, then when I came back to the office to get the car I actually wanted, the computer system crashed. I left without renting a vehicle.Reviewed Mar 7 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San Jose?

1659 Airport Boulevard Ste 2, Avis car hires

Address

1659 Airport Boulevard Ste 2

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:59
Tuesday06:00 - 23:59
Wednesday06:00 - 23:59
Thursday06:00 - 23:59
Friday06:00 - 23:59
Saturday06:00 - 23:59
Sunday06:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 408 993 2224

Address

3680 Stevens Creek Blvd, Ste B

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 669 223 0424

Address

2180 Tully Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 408 809 0502

Address

1350 N 1st Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 669 223 1570

Address

2200 Eastridge Loop Ste 1104

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 669 255 4088

Good to know

Most popular location

1659 Airport Boulevard Ste 2

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San Jose

  • Mini car hires from Avis in San Jose are around -34% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San Jose