Book Avis hire cars in Paris

Paris, France
Sep 29 — Oct 6
Paris, France
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Paris

Overall rating5.7 OkayBased on 77 reviews
Cleanliness
6.3
Comfort
6.2
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.0
Value for money
5.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
1
6
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.4
Extra fees and options overloadPros:ExpediencyCons:The category of the car I reserved was not available. Disappointed I was offered a lower category car, without refund, to only be convinced to upgrade to a "premium" category car (50e/day) "because they had just received a new fleet and needed to get them on the road." This cost in addition to insurance that is not included on reservations made on American sites pushed my rental into larger than expected sums. Worse when I went to pick up my "premium" car the car didn't meet my needs. I had reserved a family car and they were offering me a small coupe. I was then forced to settle for a car for which I did not reserve or was not in the "premium" category. Very disappointing and frustrating. Just give me the car I reserved and let me get on with it please.Reviewed Jun 28 2016
review fromkayak
6.8
Pick up hours not clear had to wait for 1 hour andCons:On the confirmation email you sent us it said the store hoursfor pick up-dropoff where from 8am-12pm night non-stop. Not true. We arrived at 12:30pm to pick up the car at Blvd Davout (Paris) and a very rude guy, who wasn't even in charge of the office but was there for moving cars told us in a very harsh way that we had to come back at 2pm because they were closed. This is a fail from Kayak and from Avis. Store hours NEED to be clear. Wehad to wait outside in the cold until the guy in charge showed up and was willing to do his job.Reviewed Dec 29 2015
review fromkayak
4.4
Undisclosed charges and ridiculous pre-approvals.Pros:The agency was conveniently located to our hotel and easy to find.Cons:We refused the car insurance because we use a credit card that provides primary car rental insurance. We were charged for it anyway even though I vigorously denied it. How's that for an extra $120+ paid? Maybe you shouldn't be stating "the price you pay at pick-up", eh Kayak? Furthermore, even after paying for insurance, etc, Avis took a further nearly $500 pre-approval on my card. Since they charged the card under some other name, "Atlas" and I didn't recognize the charge, it stressed me out for the first few days of rental. Just awful. Extra charges without explanation and unauthorized authorizations. Thanks for the stress and the extra expense, "Atlas".Reviewed Jul 2 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
paris Avis Car RentalPros:Car with GPS installed! ExcellentCons:VERY Poor pick up and drop off locations instructions. I decided to check the location the day before I was to pick up the car. I spent 4 hrs. trying to find it as the US representative had given me the wrong address and pick-up point information. I found two streets with the same name. I called Avis USA for info. Was given the wrong location Avis also needs to say when the pick up point is inside a parking garage and where the entrance is. Even when Uber delivered me to the correct address we couldn't find the entrance to the office. I had to leave luggage and young teenager at top of ramp walk 3 levels down the exit ramp for cars hoping to find where Avis was located as that was the only place we could find an Avis sign.Reviewed Jun 21 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Even could not get a carPros:Of course, nothing. We even could not get a car and a decent attitude.Cons:Dear Sir/Madam, Even though I have a confirmation number, she did not provide me a car. I have tried to call her, but instead of answering me, she did not make any explanation and put me on hold. I have tried to call several times and she put me on hold every time. It was very rude. I had a trip with my little brother which is planned weeks ago. At the end of the day, she ruined his dream. It is not acceptable. If I do not get a decent apology, I am going to mention about this issue in other platforms as well. No one has a such right that ruin a kid's dream and its company's reputation. Kind regards, Kenan KayaReviewed Oct 18 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
AVIS Paris - crooked, rude, horrible service!Cons:We rented a car from the AVIS in Paris located at 31 Rue Du Commandant Mouchotte. I was charged more than TRIPLE the $99US rate I booked online with KAYAK. Our rep in Paris was a conniving, cheating, lying snake. We contacted KAYAK, AVIS Paris, AVIS customer service, and Allianz insurance during this ordeal. Nobody seemed to be able to help – not when we got a flat tire, not when we found out we were overcharged, not when I returned home and tried to straighten this out. I will never ever use AVIS again and I will tell everyone I know about my horrible experience. I’m not surprised by the lying rude French Avis rep and I’m mad and embarrassed that I got taken for a ride, but I’m definitely surprised that I couldn’t find someone in the USA to help us. NEVER AGAIN.Reviewed Jul 10 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Drop off on side street in unmarked underground garagePros:Everything fine until drop offCons:I drove all around the Gare du Nord in Paris for about two hours trying to find the drop location. My GPS did not work. Nobody spoke English and could help. Finally I used Google maps from the Avis and found the location, circled twice to explore an unmarked underground unattended garage. Finally saw some tiny signs on the ceiling. The search ate up all my time so I didn't get to top off the tank and got dinged for 1/2 tank of gas. Very exhausting and distraught when it was over. Ruined what until then was a great rental experience. The nature of the garage was not even mentioned on my rental agreement.Reviewed Apr 9 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Dont rent child seatsPros:Clean new car Fast drip offCons:Dirty and unavailable child carseats, they had to borrow one from another agency !!! Although it was reserved ! Pick-up lengthy and slow service, had to sign up to avis preferred service as they advertised to skip the line, agent tried to hassle with me but showed her their ads to skip their long lengthy slow service line which is so annoying after a 16 hours flightReviewed Aug 21 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
HORRIBLEPros:NOTHING!Cons:I went to pick up the car only to found the location is permanently closed. I went to the location listed on the notice attached to the door only to find that location was also closed. What year is this? Why did I have to call customer service repeatedly to find a solution. We wasted half a day running around Paris trying to find an Avis location that was open. A large corporation doesn't get in touch with a customer to keep them updated. ABSOLUTELY NO CONTACT FROM AVIS!!!!! HoORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!Reviewed Jul 15 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Damage claims were trumped upCons:They switched cars promising a FIAT and giving me an underpowered Citroen. When I dropped it off they noted four points of scratched paint that I did not incur....and didn't even notice upon pick up. I just feel as though Avis has used and abused me.Reviewed Aug 30 2016
review fromkayak
4.4
Very Bad ServicePros:NothingCons:My booking was for 7 persons car with an acceptable rate. When arriving by taxi which I paid for it €95 they could not believe that my booking was for a 7 persons car even after showing them the confirmation email. At the end, they told me we only have a 5 persons car for the same rate and it's up to me to accept it or leave it! That was ridiculous and unprofessional. VERY BAD SERVICE INDEED.Reviewed Jul 23 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Cons:When as asking for a SIMPLE EXTENSION. (AFTER telling where Avis call center where i was!) He sent me 2 hours from my location! Lucky for me i checked & found a Avis location 51minutes away from my location!?? Because was rental car was via "Kayak" no Avis location nor call center would help me! TReviewed Jun 15 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Paris?

Gare Du Nord, Avis car hires

Address

Gare Du Nord

Hours

Monday07:00 - 21:30
Tuesday07:00 - 21:30
Wednesday07:00 - 21:30
Thursday07:00 - 21:30
Friday07:00 - 21:30
Saturday07:00 - 21:30
Sunday08:00 - 22:30

Phone

+33 820 61 16 24

Address

Hall 2 Pasteur

Hours

Monday07:00 - 21:30
Tuesday07:00 - 21:30
Wednesday07:00 - 21:30
Thursday07:00 - 21:30
Friday07:00 - 21:30
Saturday07:00 - 21:30
Sunday08:00 - 22:30

Phone

+33 820 00 61 00

Address

34 Ave De Villiers 17th

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:30
Tuesday08:00 - 22:30
Wednesday08:00 - 22:30
Thursday08:00 - 22:30
Friday08:00 - 22:30
Saturday08:00 - 22:30

Phone

+33 1 47 66 55 80

Address

8 Bld Davout 20th

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:3014:00 - 18:30
Tuesday08:30 - 12:0014:00 - 18:30
Wednesday08:30 - 12:0014:00 - 18:30
Thursday08:30 - 12:0014:00 - 18:30
Friday08:30 - 12:0014:00 - 18:30
Saturday08:30 - 12:0016:00 - 18:30

Phone

+33 1 40 24 10 20

Address

83 Rue De Tolbiac

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:3014:00 - 18:30
Tuesday08:00 - 22:3014:00 - 18:30
Wednesday08:00 - 22:3014:00 - 18:30
Thursday08:00 - 22:3014:00 - 18:30
Friday08:00 - 22:3014:00 - 18:30
Saturday16:30 - 18:3008:30 - 12:00

Phone

+33 1 45 83 21 93

Address

105 Rue De Lourmel 15th

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:3013:00 - 18:00
Tuesday13:00 - 18:0008:30 - 12:00
Wednesday13:00 - 18:0008:30 - 12:00
Thursday13:00 - 18:0008:30 - 12:00
Friday13:00 - 18:0008:30 - 12:00
Saturday08:30 - 12:00

Phone

+33 1 45 57 53 57

Address

184 Rue du Faubourg-St Martin

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:30
Tuesday08:00 - 22:30
Wednesday08:00 - 22:30
Thursday08:00 - 22:30
Friday08:00 - 22:30

Phone

+33 820 61 16 25

Address

241 Bld Voltaire 11th

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:30
Tuesday08:00 - 22:30
Wednesday08:00 - 22:30
Thursday08:00 - 22:30
Friday08:00 - 22:30
Saturday08:00 - 22:30

Phone

+33 1 43 48 29 26

Address

21 Place De La Madeleine

Hours

Monday09:00 - 13:0014:00 - 18:30
Tuesday09:00 - 13:0014:00 - 18:30
Wednesday09:00 - 13:0014:00 - 18:30
Thursday09:00 - 13:0014:00 - 18:30
Friday09:00 - 13:0014:00 - 18:30
Saturday08:00 - 22:30

Phone

+33 1 83 18 00 58

Address

Parking Centre Grande Arche

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:30
Tuesday08:00 - 22:30
Wednesday08:00 - 22:30
Thursday08:00 - 22:30
Friday08:00 - 22:30

Phone

+33 1 49 06 93 37

Address

Gare De Lest, Effia P2 Niv -1

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:3012:30 - 14:00
Tuesday08:00 - 22:3012:30 - 14:00
Wednesday08:00 - 22:3012:30 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 22:3012:30 - 14:00
Friday08:00 - 22:3012:30 - 14:00

Phone

+33 820 61 16 26

Address

Hall 3 Gare De Lyon

Hours

Monday07:00 - 21:30
Tuesday07:00 - 21:30
Wednesday07:00 - 21:30
Thursday07:00 - 21:30
Friday07:00 - 21:30
Saturday07:00 - 21:30
Sunday08:00 - 22:30

Phone

+33 820 61 16 27

Good to know

Most popular location

83 Rue De Tolbiac

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Paris

  • Compact car hires from Avis in Paris are around 20% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Paris

  • Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Paris.

  • Avis has 12 car hire locations in Paris. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes