Book Avis hire cars in Oranjestad

Oranjestad, Aruba
Sep 27 — Oct 4
Oranjestad, Aruba
Mon 27/9
Noon
Mon 4/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Oranjestad

Overall rating4.7 OkayBased on 73 reviews
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Overall
4.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.8
Value for money
4.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
0
1
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:No car was available. I paid for a taxi to and from and had no car. Very disappointing experience. Will not use Kayak next time.Reviewed Dec 31 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing.Cons:I had to wait 2 hours for my car when I arrived. And when I dropped off there was no one there to take the car and I had to wait there as well. Just not helpful at all. Honestly all the other car agencies I’ve used on the island are fantastic. Use thrifty or even hertz. I’ll never use Avis again. Just because it’s a well known name does not make it the better rental place. The staff was unpleasant and nasty, which is unheard of in Aruba in general. I’ll never rent from them again.Reviewed Dec 31 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Left me and my family without a vehicle on ChristmPros:Nothing!Cons:I made this reservation in early September for a pickup at the airport in December 25th. I called in and verified the reservation two weeks in advance. When we arrived at the airport, with reservation in hand, they said that they didn't have a car for us!! They didn't offer any help, just left me and my wife and three children standing there, on Christmas day! They didn't seem to even care! I had been planning this trip since March! Words cannot express how upset I am with this company! I am looking into perusing this even further!!Reviewed Jan 1 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The price was in line for the type of car and it performed as expected.Cons:For a 2017 vehicle with only 550 miles, the car was in terrible condition. It has many notations on the sketch that it looked like bulbs on a Christmas tree. The inside of the car was stained on the seats and floor in the front and back. Wow, probably the worse I have ever rented. I was having problems with the rating, or the highest mark would have only been a two star. The counter experience was not stellar to borderline rude and non responsive. Two of them were on their phones for at least three minutes before the waited on us.Reviewed Dec 23 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Avis Rental in ArubaPros:Convenience of having a car. We always rent one when we are in Aruba.Cons:The car had a lot of dings in it and I worried it would continue running. Guess that's to be expected on an island such as Aruba, although I saw man other rental cars that were in good shape. Largest complaint, and we travel a good amount, is that they put a $1000 hold on our credit card which we have NEVER had in all the places we have visited or Aruba the last time we visited. Ridiculous. We had purchased insurance through Allianz but they didn't care. We always get full insurance when traveling outside the United States.Reviewed Dec 14 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Overbooked and did not honor my reservationCons:When I went to pick up my rental, I was told “oh we overbooked. We do not have this car for you.” This happened even though I had called the day before to confirm my reservation. I asked why they would take reservations when they didn’t have enough cars, and was told “we just leave the online system open. It does not mean we have cars available.” This same conversation happened with another customer who was online in front of me. We both ended up getting cars from Thrifty next door, who let us know that they hear of this situation from Avis all the time. Incredibly frustrating experience, and was made worse when I called Avis customer service. They would only give a canned response and did nothing to remedy the situation. Avis has lost me as a customer permanently.Reviewed Nov 28 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The price was good on a 3 week rental. Inside cleanliness was ok. Drop off was ok at 6am with no other customers waiting.Cons:Most noticeably the people running the office at the airport are not very professional. 3 people in the office and only 1 person is there to help everyone waiting in line (it was very frustrating for all the customers), but they did not seem to care. Just looks bad for the Avis name. When I returned the car, one of the people who were idol, checked me out, so they are capable to help. Tiny car, but its the norm in Aruba. Missing the top of the steering column, many scratches/dents/rust when I picked up the car. After driving away, we noticed a noise on front passenger side and noticed the tire was low. We had to add air in the tire ourselves to fix that.Reviewed Oct 31 2017
review fromkayak
8.4
Good experience with Avis!Pros:Staff was friendly and efficient. Pick up and drop off fairly easy.Cons:Had to find our own car by license plate number. Not really directed to it well. Supposed to have a code to get out of the parking lot but didn’t know what it was so had to get out and find someone to ask. We rented a van and it need some repairs. It swelled all the time and the locks didn’t work right. But it did get us where we were going so that’s a plus!!Reviewed Jan 21 2018
review fromkayak
6.0
Avis Aruba RentalPros:Convenience of pick up and drop off.Cons:Avis required a $1000 hold on a credit card at time of rental if their insurance is not accepted (& paid for...in which case it would have been a $500 hold).Reviewed Dec 24 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:The service was condiscending and poor. We felt like we were a burden to the staff. If they had he option of sitting there vs making sales they would gladly turn the closed over and sit around. We returned the car to a poorly marked airport parking lot and they refused to take the car. Instead I had to pay 10 ISD to get my car out to return it to them. It was literally 10 steps away from where they keep their own cars. It was such a bad experience I will never rent from Avis againReviewed Mar 31 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Different experiences with different agentsPros:Some of the staff were quite helpful and accommodating. Dropoff was a piece of cake. The Nissan Versa was pretty new and in great shape.Cons:Our original rental ended up being a Kia Picante without standard power steering (they make cars without power steering?), something I didn't see noted anywhere when I booked it. I went back to get a different car & the staff weren't very helpful, stating that they didn't have ANY cars with power steering available until the next day. While outside discussing the situation with my wife another agent asked what was happening and said we could upgrade. The cost of the upgrade was minimal, and after that it was a great car (a new Nissan Versa) and great experience.Reviewed Mar 5 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
FURIOUS!!!!!Cons:Arrived at Avis, waited on line for 30 minutes only to be told that they did not have a mini van available for my family of 8. I asked why I did not receive an email notifying me, all I was told was sorry & online agencies overbook ??? I asked to rent 2 cars and they told me that there were no vehicles at all! Spent the next 1& 1/2 hrs waiting on line at every car rental agency at airport as my family sat outside with our luggage to be told they did not have a mini van or SUV for us. Horrible experience! I was solicited by an off-site private person & rented 2 compact cars at high price. I have been traveling to Aruba for 15 years and never had this occur, will only book directly through agency now! NOT ACCEPTABLE TO BE STRANDED IN AIRPORT WITH CHILDREN & ELDERLY IN HEAT IN FOREIGN COUNTRY!!!Reviewed Aug 15 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Oranjestad?

Wayaca Z/N, Avis car hires

Address

Wayaca Z/N

Hours

Monday08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday08:00 - 20:00
Thursday08:00 - 20:00
Friday08:00 - 20:00
Saturday08:00 - 20:00
Sunday08:00 - 20:00

Phone

+297 582 5496

Address

J E Irausquin Blvd 250

Hours

Monday08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday08:00 - 20:00
Thursday08:00 - 20:00
Friday08:00 - 20:00
Saturday08:00 - 20:00
Sunday08:00 - 20:00

Phone

+297 520 1258

Good to know

Most popular location

Wayaca Z/N

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Oranjestad

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Oranjestad are around 53% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Oranjestad

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Oranjestad.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Oranjestad. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes