Book Avis hire cars in Montreal

Montreal, QC, Canada
Sep 29 — Oct 6
Montreal, QC, Canada
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Montreal

Overall rating7.5 GoodBased on 80 reviews
Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
7.9
Overall
7.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.9
Value for money
7.3

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
7
4
5
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
9.6
Overall Excellent, just watch out for that bump.Pros:I was running late for my reservation and called in. The man who answered (and was at the front counter) was polite and accommodating ensuring I would be able to still rent the vehicle before the place closed for the day. The pick up was thorough and swift. The car itself over-delivered with more bells and whistles than I could have asked. Reversing camera and water sensing windshield wipers were impressive. It was convenient that there is a gas station on the opposite side of the street and the car itself did not use too much gas for the distance we travelled.Cons:The drop off was a bit more difficult as the way to get up onto the parking platform was confusing to me since it was raised from the main street. The general area is also fairly difficult to maneuver and the time of day made it worse with traffic.Reviewed Sep 9 2018
review fromkayak
4.0
misleadingPros:the price was reasonableCons:the car I asked for was not available so I had to wait while they found another one. I spent 45 minutes at the counter going through all the details - AFTER MAKING AN ONLINE RESERVATION 2 days before. After finally finding a car and completing all the paperwork I was told I needed a 350 security deposit BY CREDIT CARD ONLY ! Why was this not mentioned in the reservation ? Why did the person at Avis not tell me this when I called the day before to ask about details ? Why is the security deposit THE LAST thing that gets asked ? It would have saved everyone an hour of time if it had been clear in the online reservation that there was a credit card only deposit and that it was 350$.Reviewed Jun 7 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Overbooked, understaffed, ill-preparedCons:I arrived to pickup my car at the pickup time on my reservation, but there was a huge line. I waited in the line for an hour before I was finally helped. Once I signed the contract and completed the process, they told me that the car was not yet ready and I would need to wait. I looked around and realized about 6 other groups were ahead of me, waiting for a car. The employee said the cars were there, but not ready yet, and she could not say when they would be. I waited another 45 minutes, and only one person in front of me was given a car. I asked again if they had an ETA, and they had none. By this point, I had missed my window to leave, and had to cancel my entire day and reservation.Reviewed Aug 15 2018
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Friendly, efficient staff! Always helpful! Key drop off available outside of business hours- very convenient!Cons:I reserved a compact car and was given an SUV. I wasn't charged extra which I appreciate but an SUV is significantly more $ for gas which was disappointing.Reviewed Nov 6 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
People here clearly don't like their jobs.Cons:0 customer service. At the pickup the lady did the bare minimum....No Hi, how are you, no eye contact - nothing to make the experience feel helpful or human at all. Just a , "your name"...."license and credit card"....."sign here"....."here are your keys". I kid you not this was my interaction. Upon return, it wasn't any better. I walked up to the attendant to tell them I had brought back a rental, and was given a look as if I was stupid for not knowing the procedure of pulling the car up to his booth instead of parking it beside it. Decent customer service would have asked where the car was and moved it the whole 10m themselves...not rocket science really. Overall extremely unfriendly staff, I rent on a monthly basis and I won't be renting here again.Reviewed Oct 10 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:It was quite fast di pickup the car, hower the personnel was not that kind.Cons:The personnel did not transmit much trust in explaining the insurance details, our responsabilities and the Montreal rental area does not have much space to stop and put baggages in the car. The car was not entirely full of fuel.Reviewed Jul 26 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Cons:Booked a better deal online than customer service counter could offerReviewed Jun 7 2019
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Staff was very courteus even though they had some stress issue happening. But the lady chatted and managed two employees customers while helping me. BRAVO! They did not have midsize car that I had reserved so they put me in small SUV.Cons:Small SUV was a less fuel efficient. So ended up filling more gas before returning. Return was quick even though it was a Sunday night 9 pm.Reviewed Aug 26 2019
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Super easy pickup. Staff were cheerful and efficient. They had already listed all the scratches and stains on the car before I picked it up, explaining that since it was a a one-way rental that was very important. I'd never had any rental company staff so attentive to that in my life!Cons:When it got rainy or dark I found out that the inside of the windscreen needed a good cleaning and the wiper blades needed replacing. Really affected vision - a safety problem. Auto door lock never worked.Reviewed Jul 14 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Easy pick up and drop off Clean vehicle.Cons:Wasn't able to get the GPS workingReviewed Jun 28 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
They didn't know I wanted to return in USAPros:They only had a van so they upgraded us.Cons:They were completely surprised that I was returning the car in the Boston. If they didn't happen to have a car with US plates, they would not have been able to help me.Reviewed Jun 30 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Didn't get the right car.Pros:The car was very clean and the airport drop off was fast and easy.Cons:There was confusion at the pick up point as to where a car was. When it came it was smaller than we'd booked. I think the reason was that it was plated in the province we were dropping the car off in.Reviewed May 3 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Montreal?

1225 Metcalfe Street, Avis car hires

Address

1225 Metcalfe Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 514 866 2847

Address

7200 Sherbrooke Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 259 2847

Address

5185 Avenue Papineau

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 789 2847

Address

1740 Bl Rene Levesque Ouest

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 788 3700

Address

2112 Blvd St Laurent

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 798 7317

Address

5210 Rue Jean Talon Ouest

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 387 2847

Address

10830 Rue Lajeunesse

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 385 3115

Address

7794 Boulevard Newman

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 368 2847

Address

8960 Boulevard Langelier

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 789 1751

Address

6220 Boulevard Decarie

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 482 4040

Address

1145 Rue Van Horne

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 277 1133

Address

7735 Boulevard Saint Laurent

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 787 0853

Address

895 De La Gauchetiere Ouest

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 866 7675

Address

5 Complexe Desjardins Cp 459

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 842 9931

Address

3410 Rue Peel Lvl 1b

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 514 842 5181

Good to know

Most popular location

1225 Metcalfe Street

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Montreal

  • Intermediate car hires from Avis in Montreal are around 8% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Montreal

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Montreal.

  • Avis has 15 car hire locations in Montreal. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes

  • No (according to our data)

  • No (according to our data)