Book Avis hire cars in Hoboken

Hoboken, NJ, United States
Sep 23 — Sep 30
Hoboken, NJ, United States
Thu 23/9
Noon
Thu 30/9
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Hoboken

Overall rating6.8 GoodBased on 33 reviews
Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
7.2
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.5
Value for money
6.3

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
3
0
0
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.8
Make sure to return it before they close.Pros:I'm used to renting from airports with more flexible return times. I returned my car 15 minutes after closing while several Avis employees still milling around. They wouldn't accept the drop off so I had to pay for another day, and pay to park the car in Hoboken for a night, and then come back the next day to drop it off. I called to see if I could drop it off at Newark, and the car could only be returned to that actual location. I take responsibility for not knowing when the location closes, but a little customer service would have been helpful in this situation so I wouldn't have had to come out of pocket another $100 and the inconvenience of coming back to Hoboken from Manhattan before work the next day to return a car. Nice car, decent rate, but I've always rated Avis customer service below some other providers.Cons:I'm used to renting from airports with more flexible return times. I returned my car 15 minutes after closing while several Avis employees still milling around. They wouldn't accept the drop off so I had to pay for another day, and pay to park the car in Hoboken for a night, and then come back the next day to drop it off. I called to see if I could drop it off at Newark, and the car could only be returned to that actual location. I take responsibility for not knowing when the location closes, but a little customer service would have been helpful in this situation so I wouldn't have had to come out of pocket another $100 and the inconvenience of coming back to Hoboken from Manhattan before work the next day to return a car.Reviewed Dec 1 2015
review fromkayak
4.0
Terrible customer service and no overnight dropPros:The car was fine and clean, no problems there.Cons:The customer service was awful all around. The staff was unnecessary cheeky and curt during very interaction. We would have returned the car half a day early, but the staff at the Hoboken location gruffly told us that they didn't have an overnight drop. We had to pay to park the car in a different garage overnight and make an extra trip to return it. This return was delayed because I got sick. I tried to call the Hoboken location to inform them of the situation, but they consistently put me on hold and then would hang up on me after ten minutes. This was the absolute worst customer service and car rental experience I have ever had, and I will not be returning.Reviewed Jun 1 2016
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:The vehicle was perfect for my needs and completed 2000 miles in 10 days faultlessly.Cons:Difficulty in ensuring I received model I had requested.Reviewed Oct 18 2015
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Good service, upgraded my car for no cost, didn't charge extra for BS, conveniently locatedCons:Only a 40 minute grace period before they charge you an extra day but it's cheap enough so that it's not a huge deal to do 2 days instead of 1Reviewed Apr 26 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Will never rent from Avis Hoboken again.Pros:Convenience - locationCons:Dirty car Low on fuel Scratches on body When I mentioned the above things - the agent told me that he was doing me a favor to upgrade me. I asked WTH! and then he looked up the reservation to realize he wasn't doing anyone any favor. Anyway, he wasn't helpful and the car was well 'a rental' at best. I had hoped better from an Avis location.Reviewed Oct 2 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy quick servicce.Pros:Quick service. Clean car.Reviewed Feb 14 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Will be renting again!Pros:New clean comfortable car! Still had new car smell! Drove very nicely. Staff was lovely and helpful on both ends of the trip! The process seemed fast and efficient. Will be renting again!Reviewed May 27 2016
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Easy pickup in the garageCons:Return lot was full unsure where to drop offReviewed Oct 24 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Could not reach anyone helpful at corporatePros:The franchise owner himself called me back and made sure everything would go well with the actual return.Cons:I called the rental office to report a minor collision, they transferred me to someone (I later learned) from Fleet Management who was disgustingly rude, obnoxious and unprofessional. The registration on the car was not updated and the registration papers were not in the vehicle. I had a very difficult time with the police officer who took the police report of the collision because they could not verify a valid registration - all of these are Fleet Management problems, but the person from Fleet Management would not even give me his name! I then tried calling corporate and was bounced around 10 times before an Avis Security officer finally got on the phone and VERBALLY confirmed the validity of the registration - by then the police officers involved decided to be reasonable (they believed that I was not willfully driving an out of date registered vehicle that I had rented around). If the police had decided to be unreasonable (which was their right) they could have towed the vehicle and left me standing out on the street. Avis service was abysmal on this rental - I strongly urge anyone renting an Avis vehicle to personally make sure the registration papers are present and in order before taking the vehicle (I have rented thousands of cars in my life and have never done this before).Reviewed Feb 23 2016
review fromkayak
4.8
Terrible locationCons:There were no cars and I waited 1.5 hours to get one. About a dozen people were also waiting.Reviewed Oct 19 2015
review fromkayak
2.0
Worst service I've ever experiencedPros:Hoboken is a good location for pickup/dropoff, price was good.Cons:The service was the most awful service I've ever experienced in my life. The representative on duty was extremely rude and lacked compassion. The other passengers who were going to drive the car (the license holders) were running 10 minutes late (would have arrived 10 minutes after 7pm closing). He refused to wait for them to arrive to rent the car, which I can respect if that was a hard policy, but he was extremely rude about the situation and was pointing to his watch and abrasively closed the window on my face. I will never rent from Avis again.Reviewed Aug 7 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Gahh pricey insurance but I think that's sort of standard. The car was clean, customer service is fantastic, very easy check in/out.Reviewed Dec 27 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Hoboken?

1450 Bloomfield Street, Avis car hires

Address

1450 Bloomfield Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 19:00
Tuesday07:30 - 19:00
Wednesday07:30 - 19:00
Thursday07:30 - 19:00
Friday07:30 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 201 876 2871

Good to know

Most popular location

1450 Bloomfield Street

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Hoboken

  • Compact car hires from Avis in Hoboken are around 67% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Hoboken

  • Compact (Nissan Versa or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Hoboken.

  • Avis has 1 car hire location in Hoboken. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes