Book Avis hire cars in Shannon

Shannon, Ireland
Sep 24 — Oct 1
Shannon, Ireland
Fri 24/9
Noon
Fri 1/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Shannon

Overall rating7.1 GoodBased on 28 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.1
Value for money
6.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
1
0
1
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
8.4
Picked up in Shannon returned in DublinPros:I liked the seamlessness of picking up at one airport and returning to another. I liked that the car was diesel, had good fuel economy, good power, and good space inside. I actually liked that the car was already banged up on every side because it made me less worried about someone opening their door into mine in a parking lot or other minor dings.Cons:I didn't like that the car did not have an integral GPS and the desk person wanted to rent me a GPS unit for what I felt was an exorbitant amount. I just used my phone for directions instead. I didn't like that the desk person tried to trick me into paying for a very expensive upgrade! "Oh we could actually offer you the Kia Sportage today!" with no mention of an additional charge and made to seem as if it was just my lucky day. I'm not sure how she thought I wasn't going to notice the additional 240 Euros added onto my bill??Reviewed Jul 6 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
AVIS does not honor its quoted pricesPros:Drop-off process went smoothly at the Shannon Airport.Cons:The documents emailed to us, showed a total cost would be $182.75 USA, plus 18.75 EUR per day for Super SCDW, Class D which we wanted to purchase at check-in. Instead, the Super CDW cost over 47.00 EUR per day! Avis did NOT honor the documents stating the cheaper quoted price. We ended up paying HUNDREDS of EUROS more. It was a classic bait and switch! Our total cost to rent a car for 10 days was over 650.00 EUROS, much higher than the price quoted and emailed to us! If you rent from AVIS - beware that they do no honor their quoted prices.Reviewed Nov 1 2017
review fromkayak
3.2
Avis and Ireland: don’t do it!Pros:Car itself was fine but given a lesser car than originally booked and for more money.Cons:Beware! Counter staff at Avis Ireland seem to work on commission. Our person would not look up our reservation by the reservation #, we were then told the only automoatic available was a lesser car than we had reserved, for more money! Talked to a 2nd person and told it was high season and that was the rate + lots of add ons. If you want to use the insurance provided by your credit card (we have amex platinum - great coverage) they would put a hold on our account for $5000 euros OR we could pay 48 euros per day for their insurance!!!! Complete scam. Opted to have the hold put on our credit card. Other car companies may do this as well in Ireland. Added a huge amount of stress to an otherwise wonderful trip. Advice: do your homework ahead of time with lots of research on car company policies there.Reviewed Jul 30 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Horrible and misleading serviceCons:The total bill was twice what we were quoted. When we dropped the car off in Dublin it was in an empty parking lot and left a key at a desk. Then two days later received a bill for a price we were not quoted for. Over all the car cost over $100 a day for a size basic car. I called customer service to let them know we were charged an amount we didn't agree to and they told me to dispute it to my credit card company.Reviewed Sep 20 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Limited range of cars on offer at Shannon, staff nPros:Bus shuttle frequent Easy to upgrade though to a not so great car, SkodaCons:I spent over one hour wrestling with installing car seats for children and no staff member offered to help. Maybe it's a policy thing with them but I expected more in Ireland, I am Irish.Reviewed Oct 31 2015
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Easy pick up at Shannon and drop off in Dublin. Car was great on fuel. Drove all around Ireland for 5 days and only had to fill up once.Cons:It sounds silly, but the car didnt have a center console to rest my elbow on which ended up giving me a sore neck/back.Reviewed Jun 9 2016
review fromkayak
9.2
Excellent car, great service, misleading costPros:The car was in excellent condition and was ready for us when we arrived in the airport. Drop off was a breeze and we easily extend our rental by a day.Cons:The cost of renting the car was much greater than the cost advertised when reserved. The reservation price did not include any of the taxes, fees, etc. that we were responsible for when picking up the car. In effect, the actual cost of rental was three times higher than what was shown when reserved. Still not a terrible price for a week long rental, but I'm greatly disappointed by the lack of up front transparency in cost.Reviewed Oct 10 2016
review fromkayak
7.2
pick-up drop offPros:pleasant staff waving insurance on the car was made very challenging by the check-in personCons:Drop off was very busy, many people waiting for the shuttleReviewed Jul 7 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Shannon RentalPros:When the car broke down the Kerry Airport staff were wonderful.Cons:That when I went to pick up two cars that were supposed to seat 7 people and hold 4 suticases I realized even for 10 people between cars that was impossible. The car had no storage. So I had to take a much larger 9 person van and was charged an extra $500. It was really highway robbery that their ad quoted the space and the actual car was something entirely different. The one of the cars broke down because the clutch went. it was a new car and a few miles from the airport it kept popping at low speeds. It seemed to be okay on the highway and I made it to Killarney. The next day when I went to road test it to make sure with my husband it totally broke down. It took a few hours to wait for car and tow to reach us and entire group delayed for the morning.Reviewed Apr 8 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Quick drop and great airport in shannon!Pros:It was quick and easy- literally 10 mins from pulling up to being on our shuttle to the airport!Cons:It's hard to let the experience at the counter in Dublin out of my mind. I hate when I feel taken advantaged of- and that is what Avis did!Reviewed Jun 21 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great customer service.Reviewed Oct 16 2015
review fromkayak
10.0
Smooth All The Way Through!Pros:All good. Efficient & friendly personnel at Shannon Airport. Car was ready when we arrived and was perfect for our needs.Reviewed Oct 8 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Shannon?

Arrivals Hall, Avis car hires

Address

Arrivals Hall

Hours

Monday08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday08:00 - 22:00
Thursday08:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 17:00

Good to know

Most popular location

Arrivals Hall

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Shannon

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Shannon are around 43% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Shannon

  • Economy (Volkswagen Polo or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Shannon.

  • Avis has 1 car hire location in Shannon. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes