Book Avis hire cars in Port Au Prince

Port Au Prince, Haiti
Sep 26 — Oct 3
Port Au Prince, Haiti
Sun 26/9
Noon
Sun 3/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Port Au Prince

Overall rating4.4 OkayBased on 57 reviews
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Overall
4.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.0
Value for money
4.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
2
1
4
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:I made it too Haiti port -au prince airport when i reserve my car I payed for damage insurance 9 us Dollar it covers = $35000 when i walked in to the Avis office to pick my car up they told me i need more insurance $ 24 per day i refused to buy another insurance since i already have one then they told me i have to give them credit card with 3500 dollar limit as of deposit i told them here is my credit card but you can't take 3500 deposit we went back and fort they pushed me to buy more coverage i dint need it i refused to buy more without either deposit or more Coverage bottom line i did not get the car it was pure hassle i don't recommend at all i'm gonna call my credit card company and dispute the charges.Reviewed Jan 13 2018
review fromcheapflights
2.0
MediocrityPros:It was a horrible mistake. First at all they hadn't had the truck I requested and sent me to another company for a small truck for the same price. The truck was dirty , damaged all over and wasn't washed and empty of gas. Over all it was a very bad bad adventureCons:The service was a big zero I consider losing my money and so disrespectful. I took my time to call them 3 days before my trip to assure myself everything will be setting up and the Guy I spoke too guaranty me every thing will be okay. As a result it was a catastrophic for my security. I had to have a car at the end I didn't have a choice I pick the small truck for the same price and they said I must pick they own assurance and the one I had from global alliances wasn't accepted. That was my storyReviewed May 1 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:I made a reservation online but I went to pick up and the guy tells me that there’s no cars and really didn’t care whether or not he solve my problem told me to come back the next day when he did have a car the car was not clean he just gave it to me as it is I paid for insurance online which the website instructed me too but the guy made me re-pay for insurance again because he said that that was not part of his policy the only thing that was easy was dropping the car off because I think the guy realize how upset I was and did not want me to give him a bad review.Reviewed Jan 2 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing. 3rd world service at its worst form.Cons:Hire professional staff to service clients at the rental agency’AVIS PAP.’Reviewed Jan 9 2021
review fromkayak
6.4
Port-au-Prince RentalPros:The Terios works well all over Haïti The price was reasonable, least among the rental companiesCons:1. The agent at the airport was very pushy and intimidating about his local insurance 2. We did not get a good car the first time (wrong type, poor tires), we had to return it and get another the following day 3. The price was for limited mileage that was very pricey after the limit was reached 4. They put a $3,000 hold on credit card if don't get their insurance, though it may not be the best 5. It takes forever for them to clear these holds and show real charges on the credit card, at least 2 weeksReviewed Feb 22 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:They didn’t give me the car, and I have to rent another car from them more expensive... they ask me 2500 us depositCons:They should have their own officeReviewed Feb 28 2021
review fromkayak
3.6
Cons:This is the worst rental experience yet, the car was unsafe to drive, it’s shaky as it reach speed of 40mph, front bumper hold up by screws, The Agent was polite and helpful a bit. Avis should reevaluate that service. I used Avis in the past, in other countries that office in Haiti is a CRYING SHAME FOR AVIS. Service should be upgraded, it took (2)two hours 17 minutes from start to finished the transaction at the pick up location; which I already booked on line, All paper work was done manually this is sick and SAD.Reviewed Dec 31 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing they are ridiculous hereCons:First acknowledge people when they walk in the door instead of having side conversations. Second, there’s no way in hell I would let these thieves hold 3,000 on my credit card! They don’t even do that in miamiReviewed Jun 21 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Large amount of money required at the day of pickupReviewed Jun 22 2021
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Make the car Better clean and nice and works about the priceReviewed Feb 11 2019
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Pickup was right a the Airport. The service was good.Cons:-I wish the Avis employees were a bit more professional. After I signed all papers, I had to stay for over half hour because the worker was nowhere to be found. -Until I reached to counter, I was not aware that I had to pay for another insurance. -The car was not a new car.Reviewed Dec 27 2015
review fromkayak
4.0
Different experience every time I rent.Pros:I liked their customer service representative very much for the way the handled customers and the car was very clean.Cons:Since then, I never had a good experience with them. They lied about the time the vehicle was going to be ready. I had a group of missionary with me and I was so embarrassed to keep telling them those lies. Earlier this month, I had what maybe consider my last and poorest experience with Avis. Their worker called me after I came back to US to let me know that I owed them money because my payment was short, even though I had my receipt saying I paid for the rental. Then one of their employees kept sending me messages that are very inapropriate and have nothing to do with the rental. I don't think I will rent with them anymore not recommend them to anyone else.Reviewed Jan 20 2017
review fromkayak

Other suppliers in Port Au Prince scored

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Port Au Prince?

Toussaint Louverture Intl, Avis car hires

Address

Toussaint Louverture Intl

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+509 29 42 7777

Address

20, Rue Mais Gate

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+509 37 45 4545

Good to know

Most popular location

Toussaint Louverture Intl

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Port Au Prince

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Port Au Prince are around 31% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Port Au Prince

  • Economy (Jeep Wrangler or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Port Au Prince.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Port Au Prince. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes