Book Avis hire cars in Lima

Lima, Peru
Sep 29 — Oct 6
Lima, Peru
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Lima

Overall rating5.4 OkayBased on 14 reviews
Cleanliness
6.7
Comfort
6.8
Overall
4.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.4
Value for money
4.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
1
3
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
3.2
BAD BUSINESS PRACTICES -AVIS RENT CAR IN LIMA PERPros:The reservation was on the system , people were courteous and polity.Cons:This happened in AVIS at Lima, Peru Airport . They pushed you to get their insurance that has a $1000 copay , otherwise they put a hold of $2500 on your credit card. So I paid the insurance. The pick up was fast, a very nice guy showed with very dimmed lamp, he went over exterior scratches and nicks very quickly. But the real surprise was at the drop off, a rude guy showed up with a super bright huge lamp and literally scanned the car , but what my major surprise was the guy included the undercarriage and found a most likely existing bump, he acted all rude and aggressive. I explained that bump was probably there and besides nobody show me the undercarriage at time of pick up. Long history short. I ended up paying out the pocket a damage that was not covered by their insurance. Bad Avis-Peru , not cool.Reviewed Jan 4 2016
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:the lack of communication with the avis office at the airport, well the office is not at the airport, is located at front of it, was a long walk and i was with my mother, she's 70 years old, the other big issue that i had was the i got the car insurance with you ( kayak and priceline ) and because of that they had to put a hold on my credit card of $5,000 because for them i didn't have insurance cause i was doing the insurance with you guys a third party. overall you shouldn't sell them like they are locate at the airport cause they don't and do something about the car insurance policy, really disappointed.Reviewed Feb 7 2020
review fromkayak
8.8
Good company. Good value.Pros:The staff was friendly and courteous. The car performed well with no problems.Cons:Pick up took an Hour! Although this was due to their not being able to process American Express that day - not really their fault - it was their banks's. At least the representative provided options. The car was advertised on kayak as a manual transmission but I received an automatic ... which was a little disappointing as a was looking forward to driving a stick shift ... but probably it was more practical in the end. If you are thinking of driving in Lima ... the guidebooks are Right! DON'T DO IT! Craziest drivers Ever!... at least get the insurance. Thankfully nothing happened to us.Reviewed Oct 22 2016
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:I had to wait a long time for the only guy at the counter to show up. Once he showed up it took ages to do something on the computer, print docs, etc. Incredibly frustrating experience. Then he tells me the Allianz insurance I purchased was invalid (lost $81)Cons:I purchased insurance and they still pout an US$1,800 hold on my card. I asked why and he says it is to cover any issues to which I told him that is why I bought insurance. No logic, no common sense,. Will never rent from Avis in Peru again. Takes for ever to get the car and return the car.Reviewed Mar 12 2019
review fromkayak
4.4
Paid twice the quoted price.Pros:Cleanliness and quick drop off.Cons:Last time with Avis. I had been quoted $44.50 USD for the rental. When I arrived at the airport for the pickup, they told me I'd have to pay $85.76 USD. I wasted about an hour trying to tell them that was unacceptable and had to pay almost double what I was quoted in the end.Reviewed May 22 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Good car and economicPros:Economy and maneuverability. Car handled well for driving in LimaReviewed Sep 2 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Is the worsePros:They want 3000 dollars deposit!! That's just crazy I would never use them ever againReviewed Aug 31 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Worth the moneyPros:The car was comfortable, was relatively new and was somewhat economical.Cons:It takes the rep too long to do the paper work upon arrival to check in. Upon check out it takes them even longer to get to the car to receive it and then you have to go to the terminal to finish the whole process. It's too much of running around just for the process.Reviewed Sep 25 2016
review fromkayak
9.2
Overall great expiriencePros:The car was in almost perfect condition. With one small downside.Cons:We've booked the cheapest car but for it you should leave 5000$ frozen if you're not 26. We did not find that info on the web site. So we end up on more expensive rental. The car that we rented was very sensitive to noise. If the noise was really loud the alarm enabled. Otherwise car was perfect.Reviewed Sep 27 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
Always trying to charge you more.Pros:Convenient location right on the airport.Cons:Every time I rent from this location they seem to come up with a new reason to charge me more than the quote.Reviewed Dec 4 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Car was quite good & comfortable.Cons:Over 3 hours lost during renting a car - nobody waiting at the airport, very slow service &... Booked car was not at the airport but 1 hour away :( They didn't give me miles for rental as promissed.Reviewed Dec 23 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Didn’t have our car, and did nothing to fix it.Pros:Liked absolutely nothing. Avis customer service was no help. They said that it’s not really Avis in Peru, so they can’t do anything about it. So, nothing really good about it.Cons:When we arrived they took a few minutes, and told us that they didn’t have our car. Then they would do nothing about it. To top it off, they haven’t refunded our reservation, even though we had to go to another agency to get the SUV we needed. I ALWAYS rent through Enterprise, and I guess there is a reason. Avis was awful and absolutely no help. It was a bit more insulting since I had reserved the car seven months in advance. Don’t rent from Avis.Reviewed Jun 1 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Lima?

Calle Las Begonias 385, Avis car hires

Address

Calle Las Begonias 385

Hours

Monday07:30 - 16:00
Tuesday07:30 - 16:00
Wednesday07:30 - 16:00
Thursday07:30 - 16:00
Friday07:30 - 16:00
Saturday08:30 - 13:00

Phone

+51 1 2076000 Anexo 6103

Good to know

Most popular location

Calle Las Begonias 385

Most popular car type

Luxury

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Lima

  • Luxury (BMW X3 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Lima.

  • Avis has 1 car hire location in Lima. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes