Book Avis hire cars in Cartagena

Cartagena, Colombia
Jun 30 — Jul 7
Cartagena, Colombia
Wed 30/6
Noon
Wed 7/7
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Cartagena

Overall rating4.3 OkayBased on 19 reviews
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.3
Overall
4.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.3
Value for money
4.3

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
4
6
8
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Poor servicePros:They stayed open we arrive late (8.58pm when they close at 9pm) due to flight delay.Cons:The car was a wreck with big scratches all over and it was lacking features which are now common on most cars even the cheapest. Tank wasn't full either. We thought about returning it several times but since it still took us from point A to point B, we preferred spending our time discovering the country instead. However, the drop-off was a nightmare. The employee at Santa Marta came up with new (tiny) scratches in the most random places and made us call the Cartagena office to explain it wasn't our fault. They said they will review all pictures of the car to determine whether it was caused by us with no apologies for the inconvenience. This whole thing took close to an hour, making us rush for our plane. We had substantially better service with Localiza for our rental between Bogota and Medellin, even though they are not international players. Avoid Avis.Reviewed Aug 2 2017
review fromkayak
5.6
Avis CartagenaPros:The rep was very helpful and explained everything we needed to know. Including where the traffic cameras were located.Cons:The vehicle was provided with no wind shield wiper fluid. There is also a restriction on vehicle usage in Colombia biased on you tag number. So there was one day that we were not able to use the rental so in essence we paid for a day that we were not able to us the car. Returning the car was a very slow process almost as long as picking it up. They inspected the car with a fine tooth comb, over kill if you ask me.Reviewed Apr 3 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:No drop-off at airport but nobody told us in advance. Had to call the AVIS number and first nobody picked up. Had to wait over half an hour for somebody to drive to airport and pick up keys! Online booking did not allow to select suitable coverage ending in many additional costs at pick-upReviewed Sep 12 2016
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:Excellent staff service, very honest and dedicated to costumersCons:inflated insurance rip offReviewed Dec 16 2015
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:The car was different segment, the total pick up was more than 1 hourReviewed Feb 16 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The pic of the car should be the same that we r going to getReviewed Feb 16 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:I waited three hours before getting my rental, and when I did get it, it was the wrong vehicle. I was told that another vehicle was to be delivered to the Hotel in Barranquilla. Upon arrival to hotel, a different vehicle was delivered, later to find out that that vehicle was for someone else, this vehicle also had damages and very uncomfortable. I had reservations for a Captiva and was given a sportage.Reviewed Apr 21 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:I did not like anything. I could not rent the car, and you took 40 dollars from my card, and you have not returned it yet, even though the company sent a message that there were not available cars. Therefore, I want my money back.Cons:Do not book a car where there is not available one.Reviewed Dec 20 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:There was not reservation the hire company did not even have my booking even though I had reference numberReviewed Feb 23 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Reservation was not available despite confirationPros:N/ACons:I arrived to collect my rental car but the agency had received different dates than the ones I booked on Kayak. We both looked and confirmed that my booking with Kayak was correct, but the rental company had been given different information and did not have the availability described on Kayak. I had taken a taxi with my bags to collect a car but they had nothing available. I had to drag all my bags around to find another agency which had a vehicle available.Reviewed Nov 18 2016
review fromkayak
6.8
Drop-off NightmareCons:No one at the Cartagena office informed me that there was no office or personnel at the specified drop-off location at the Santa Marta airport.Reviewed Jul 28 2017
review fromkayak
7.2
Great way to see the northern coast --- but lots oPros:I thought value for money was excellent --- the car was small, cheap and effective.Cons:But, the Cartagena agency took out a 10,000,000 COP ($3,300 USD) hold on my credit card that they still haven't cleared up to a week later. Check-in took almost an hour and a half after already having given all of my personal details over kayak. It was kind of frustrating. We showed up at 10:00 to pick up the car and didn't get moving until 11:30 (and there were no other customers).Reviewed Jun 6 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Cartagena?

Crespo Calle 70, National Arrivals, Avis car hires

Address

Crespo Calle 70, National Arrivals

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+57 1 6291222

Address

Domestic flights, Local L01-09

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+57 1 6291722

Good to know

Most popular location

Crespo Calle 70, National Arrivals

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Cartagena

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Cartagena. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes