Book Avis hire cars in Bordeaux

Bordeaux, Gironde, France
Jun 27 — Jul 4
Bordeaux, Gironde, France
Sun 27/6
Noon
Sun 4/7
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Bordeaux

Overall rating6,8 GoodBased on 13 reviews
Cleanliness
7,5
Comfort
7,3
Overall
6,3
Pick-up/Drop-off
6,4
Value for money
6,7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
6
1
2
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
8.4
Pros:Swift pickup/dropoff.Cons:Extremly stingy re scratches. Tried to pin a pre-existing scratch on us for a second, but backed-off quickly.Reviewed Jul 11 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
They charged me more thqn what I had in the reservationPros:NothingCons:They were pushyReviewed Dec 18 2017
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Good quality car.Cons:Won't book with Avis again as their excess of 11,000 euro is criminal and pushes you into a corner forcing you to sign up to their insurance while our travel insurance should have covered it all the other car companies have a excess of about 2,000 euros smells a bit like a scam on Avis part to me.Reviewed Sep 18 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Your Average Rental Experince...Pros:Car was ready when we arrived, although we had to wait in a long line (they were very busy) they processed the people through quickly. Unfortunately there was no way that I could see to enter my Avis Preferred Number through K@yak, this would have saved a great deal of time checking in and maybe a free upgrade. I was unable to benefit program as they said it was too late in the process.Cons:Unable to use my Preferred Av1s card to get an upgrade or fast pickup. Car was newer but transmission and brakes were in bad shape.Reviewed Jul 10 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:It took less than 10 minutes to pick up the car, and drop off was really simple and quick, as well. The agent was friendly and helpful. The car was clean and as described.Reviewed May 11 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:In Bordeaux the 1st Lady with whom we discussed the deal seemed to be tricky and manipulative but the 2nd one who gave us the key and guided through a concrete car leease related details was excellent and very very helpful. In Bordeaux we received amazing service: quick, efficient and very courtous.Cons:When taking the car in Barcelona and discussing what is available things were not very clear in the beginning and seemed to be a bit tricky and overwhelming.Reviewed Jan 21 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:car was type we expectedCons:they tried to charge me a different rate from the contract. Took 20 minutes to get resolved.Then they charge a lot to add second drivers. Got a flat tire, no spare, no compressor. They sent a tow truck (2.5 hours later). We had to go by taxi to local Avis office the following day to pick up replacement.Reviewed Jul 21 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:We were threatened with a 1,000 Euro fee for returning the car two hours late. Each representative we spoke with gave a different story. Then no such fee was charged, again without explanation. Never again!Reviewed Aug 17 2017
review fromkayak
8.4
Globally goodPros:Very clean car, almost new. Staff were very polite and helpful.Cons:The excess in case of accident is up to €11,000 if you book from a US website. The rate is lower than if you book from an EU website but the risk is higher.Reviewed Jun 22 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Very helpful Staff in both Bordeaux and BarcelonaPros:I made a mistake in the date of pick up and had to rent for one day prior to my official pick up time and the staff did everything possible to help make the impact of that as minimal as possible and retain the integretily of my American reservation rate saving me what could have been a thousand dollars in added costs.Reviewed Sep 27 2016
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Agent said she would set GPS for our first destination, but it did not work. Got totally lost. So late for first appt that it was cancelledReviewed Aug 8 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:The staff was nice at the rental counter but could have been more helpful especially for car pick up.Cons:They did not have the car that we rented and confirmed - Mercedes class C. They gave us a Renault Megane. The line was very long waiting for. > 40 min to pick up the car. The rental counter was convenient in the train terminal but it was difficult to find where the car was parked in 2 sep buildingsReviewed Jun 2 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Bordeaux?

Merignac Airport, Avis car hires

Address

Merignac Airport

Hours

Monday07:30 - 23:00
Tuesday08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday08:00 - 23:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:00
Friday07:30 - 23:00
Saturday09:30 - 20:00
Sunday09:00 - 23:00

Phone

+33 820 61 16 73

Address

Gare SNCF Hall3 Sortie Belcier

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday08:00 - 23:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:00
Friday08:00 - 23:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:00
Sunday10:00 - 21:00

Phone

+33 820 61 16 74

Good to know

Most popular location

Merignac Airport

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Bordeaux

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Bordeaux are around 27% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Bordeaux

  • Mini (Fiat 500 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Bordeaux.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Bordeaux. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes