Book Avis hire cars in Punta Arenas

Punta Arenas, Chile
Jun 27 — Jul 4
Punta Arenas, Chile
Sun 27/6
Noon
Sun 4/7
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Punta Arenas

Overall rating6,9 GoodBased on 18 reviews
Cleanliness
7,3
Comfort
7,1
Overall
6,5
Pick-up/Drop-off
6,8
Value for money
6,8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
6
6
3
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Pros:Quick and easy delivery and great customer serviceCons:It’s all greatReviewed Feb 6 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Helpful Staff in Pinta ArenasPros:The staff was great and let us pick up our car early and drop it off a little late. In return for taking a car with a chipped and cracked windshield he waived any additional windshield damage which is very likely on the dirt roads.Reviewed Jan 28 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:We had to wait almost an hour for the agent to arrive to rest us the car. We realize that we thought we would arrive a bit later to the counter.Reviewed Dec 19 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Muy buena atencionReviewed Oct 15 2018
review fromkayak
6.8
Cons:We did not get the quoted price for our rental and paid moreReviewed Jan 10 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:AVIS was the only company offering cars for rent at Punta Arenas airport via the internet. Easy booking. Price on a high side, but still relatively acceptable.Cons:Despite the reservation and confirmation email no one was present at the AVIS desk at the airport at the time of our arrival. We landed at 12:15, the car was reserved since 12:00). We called the company and the agent arrived over an hour later. We used the opportunity to rent a car from a competitor which saved us a long wait time and changing plans.Reviewed Sep 5 2018
review fromkayak
7.6
Poor informationPros:Staff did exceptional job in all respectsCons:I rented a car in Chile and planned to travel to Argentina. On line renting was as expected, however there was no information regarding the very high permit and insurance costs for taking a rental car into Argentina. I only found this in a random search for other travel information. Seems a link to this information if a car is rented in Argentina or Chile would be very useful. This permitting process can not be done at the counter as it requires several working days.Reviewed Jan 27 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very friendly service. All good.Reviewed Feb 15 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
service from Avis was good; but car was too smallPros:service friendly and helpfulCons:car too small and fragile for gravel roads in areaReviewed Nov 6 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
Excellent Pick up/Very Poor returnPros:The counter agent thoroughly explained everything about the car, rates, services...everything. He (Felipe) was very friendly and efficient.Cons:Although the process for returning the car was explained upon pick up, once we parked the car, the rental counter was unmanned when we arrived at 8:00 am. We waited for about 15 minutes before another customer (a Chileno) came up. We chatted and he learned the counter was unmanned. He called the "24 hour" phone numbers displayed: none of them worked. He tried again after another 5 minutes and finally contacted someone at Avis or EMSA: they said they would contact someone to help us. By then after waiting 35 minutes another group of customers showed up. Finally about an hour after we arrived counter agents arrived: I thought I understood one of the agents say they were supposed to work at 9:00, though there were no hours posted anywhere about counter service. I wonder how Avis/EMSA is supposed to service customers with flights BEFORE 9:00 AM?Reviewed Dec 9 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Not recently serviced and over-chargingPros:Reliable car, available on time for collection. Very friendly and curteous staff.Cons:Car had not been serviced for some time, and had a number of scratches / markings. Significant overcharging on fuel top up on return.Reviewed Nov 2 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Excellent value but limited number availablePros:It was great that a car was available and it was a very Good car for the price.Cons:Of course they couldn’t find our reservation and a normal pickup took an extra 2 hours than necessary but a least it was straightened out. And honestly what car rental place doesn’t have a map of the city it’s in? We spent another couple of hours just trying to find a map just to get out of town..Reviewed Nov 12 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Punta Arenas?

Ohiggins 808, Avis car hires

Address

Ohiggins 808

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:30
Tuesday09:00 - 17:30
Wednesday09:00 - 17:30
Thursday09:00 - 17:30
Friday09:00 - 17:30
Saturday10:00 - 16:00

Phone

+56 61 261 4381

Address

KM 20 Route 9 North

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:30
Tuesday09:00 - 17:30
Wednesday09:00 - 17:30
Thursday09:00 - 17:30
Friday09:00 - 17:30
Saturday09:00 - 17:30
Sunday09:00 - 17:30

Phone

+56 61 261 4381

Good to know

Most popular location

KM 20 Route 9 North

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Punta Arenas

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Punta Arenas. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes