Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Johannesburg

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 25/7
Thu 1/8
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Johannesburg

EconomyR262/day
CompactR630/day
IntermediateR301/day
People carrierR413/day
Full-size SUVR751/day
MiniR226/day
Passenger vanR777/day
LuxuryR1 855/day
Intermediate SUVR420/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Johannesburg

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.0 OkayBased on 1 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
4.0
Overall
4.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
8.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
6.0
Pros:Drop off was OK, but no closing invoice was issued when I dropped off. I was promised this would be emailed, but this did not materialiseCons:Issue closing invoice on drop-offReviewed Jan 24 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Make sure u know what u are getting!!Pros:Friendly service but slow as it’s africa! Didn’t get the car I was expecting so had to upgrade half way through rental.Reviewed Jan 14 2018
review fromkayak
6.8
Cons:After we told them no insurance they put it on the paper work then when we pointed it out he had to start the paperwork over again. Originally issued a car with no gas and smelled like cigarettes badly. Had to unpack our backs and go all the way back to the rental center. No apology. Just a silent reissue of keys. Drop off was chaotic. No return recipet was issued.Reviewed Jun 3 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Watch Your Bank/Credit StatementPros:The car was clean.Cons:You will get charged unexplained fees that will double the quoted Kayak rate, including a "fuel service fee" that no one will disclose to you until it shows up on your receipt and credit card statement. I will not be renting with Avis again.Reviewed Apr 7 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast , eficient and friendly service.Pros:Good value for money.Cons:NothingReviewed Feb 27 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:It was a good car for the category I have selected.Cons:The car had some noise in the wheels during the whole renting days, which I could not identify. I believe that if the car has gone through some check before being delivered, this slight problem could be fixed.Reviewed Feb 2 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Another great experience at Avis-OR TamboPros:Prompt, efficient pick-up and drop-off, kind service, well-maintained, clean vehicle.Cons:It was hard to find the fuel station at OR Tambo Airport to refuel, and since I was running against the clock, I couldn't. But the Avis staff assured me that they'd handle it.Reviewed Jan 4 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience at Avis JNB AirportPros:Fantastic pick up experience.Cons:Everything was fine - no complaints at all.Reviewed Dec 26 2016
review fromkayak
4.4
Long lines and staff with serious attitudeCons:Lengthy wait. Staff too busy chatting with each other to assist. No air conditioning in the premises.Reviewed Dec 12 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Professional-looking but service can be improvedPros:The car was clean. When we rented the car, the ladies at the counter took time to explain where we were not insured (we only got PAI and CAD), which we appreciated, since we would probably spend more if we didn't have the extra insurance they promoted at the counter.Cons:We weren't too happy with the car selection. We reserved a Hyundai Accent (or similar), and the car we ended up with had really slow acceleration (VW Vito), which I don't think is at part with the Accent's. When we returned the car, the guys who received it said we would get our invoice within 5 working days, despite us insisting for our invoice. We had to wait for it from the man at the counter.Reviewed Nov 4 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy AvisPros:Good clean basic carCons:NothingReviewed Oct 21 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Efficient Car RentalPros:The staff were friendly and efficient. Total no-hassle car rental. I'd rent from them again in a heartbeat.Cons:Nothing against Avis, but the Chevy Spark compact option is tiny and drives like it is being powered by three stressed-out sprinting hamsters. Overall though, a very good experience. Just size up on the car if you want any power on the highways.Reviewed Oct 15 2016
review fromkayak

Other suppliers in Johannesburg scored

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Johannesburg?

Address

Or Tambo Int Apt

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+27 11 573 5000

Address

204 Columbine Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 11 496 1235

Good to know

Most popular location

Or Tambo Int Apt

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

R654/day

Good deal

R423/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • 25% of our users found car hire from Avis in Johannesburg for R423 or less.
  • Book your car hire from Avis in Johannesburg at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in Johannesburg are around 48% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • How much does it cost to hire a car from Avis in Johannesburg?

    On average a car hire from Avis in Johannesburg costs R654 per day.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Johannesburg?

    Economy (Volkswagen Polo or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Johannesburg.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Johannesburg?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Johannesburg. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: OR Tambo airport (JNB)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from OR Tambo airport (JNB)?

    Yes