Book Avis hire cars in Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa
Oct 2 — Oct 9
Johannesburg, South Africa
Sat 2/10
Noon
Sat 9/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in Johannesburg

R270/dayEconomy
R288/dayIntermediate
R429/dayPeople carrier
R740/dayFull-size SUV
R228/dayMini
R735/dayPremium
R784/dayPassenger van
R360/daySupplier choice
R532/dayIntermediate SUV
R1 216/dayStandard SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Johannesburg

Overall rating7.8 GoodBased on 41 reviews
Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
8.1
Overall
7.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.1
Value for money
7.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
1
0
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.4
Make sure u know what u are getting!!Pros:Friendly service but slow as it’s africa! Didn’t get the car I was expecting so had to upgrade half way through rental.Reviewed Jan 14 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast , eficient and friendly service.Pros:Good value for money.Cons:NothingReviewed Feb 27 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
Consistent excellent sevicePros:Great reception with well trained staff. Everything was ready on time.Cons:Leaving the amazing city....Reviewed May 9 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Drop off was OK, but no closing invoice was issued when I dropped off. I was promised this would be emailed, but this did not materialiseCons:Issue closing invoice on drop-offReviewed Jan 24 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Bad car with two flat tiresCons:Avis has charged me 1000ZAR for tire damage despite the fact that: a) I'm a preferred member and rent so much from them in the US, b) the car they gave me apparently was not checked properly and likely already had two tires with low pressure that led to flat tires eventually. On top of that they charged me for their own mistake. I also had to pay $ on my own when I had to get one of the flat tires replaced by the spare one on my own when I was on road. Terrible. Worst part they charged me without even notifying me that they were going to do soReviewed Aug 14 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:The customer service representatives were very friendly.Cons:They gave me a broken GPS that resulted in my being lost in Jo-burg for three hours. Even after returning the airport to explain the problem, the representative insisted that I simply had the GPS on the wrong setting. After returning to the road, it was obvious that they had no idea what they were talking about. Luckily I saw another Avis location off the highway and turned in there. Even though I believe this was a vehicle service center instead of a rental location, the two young women working that day worked tirelessly to find me a GPS system that actually received satellite information.Reviewed Jul 12 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy AvisPros:Good clean basic carCons:NothingReviewed Oct 21 2016
review fromkayak
4.4
Long lines and staff with serious attitudeCons:Lengthy wait. Staff too busy chatting with each other to assist. No air conditioning in the premises.Reviewed Dec 12 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great serviceCons:NothingReviewed Dec 8 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast and essyPros:Simple in simple out. It's connected to the airport. No shuttle!!!Cons:NothingReviewed Jun 17 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
went smoothPros:Easy people to deal with at avis they were very niceReviewed Aug 28 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The service was very professional.Reviewed Nov 21 2016
review fromkayak

Other suppliers in Johannesburg scored

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Johannesburg?

Or Tambo Int Apt, Avis car hires

Address

Or Tambo Int Apt

Hours

Monday06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday06:00 - 22:00
Thursday06:00 - 22:00
Friday06:00 - 22:00
Saturday06:00 - 22:00
Sunday06:00 - 22:00

Phone

+27 11 573 5000

Address

46 Alwen Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 11 496 1235

Good to know

Most popular location

Or Tambo Int Apt

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

R360/day

Good deal

R279/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in Johannesburg for R279 or less
  • Book your car hire from Johannesburg in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy car hires from Avis in Johannesburg are around -1% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • On average a car hire from Avis in Johannesburg costs R360 per day.

  • Economy (Volkswagen Polo or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Johannesburg.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Johannesburg. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes